Bayern 5 - 1 Arsenal (FT)

17Iwobi

on FS1

Bayern vs Arsenal

Bayern Munich XI: Neuer, Lahm, Hummels, Martínez, Alaba, Xabi Alonso, Vidal, Robben, Thiago, Costa, Lewandowski.

Arsenal XI: Ospina, Bellerin, Mustafi, Koscielny, Gibbs, Xhaka, Coquelin, Iwobi, Ozil, Oxlade-Chamberlain, Sanchez.
Re: Bayern vs Arsenal

Team news - Ozil starts

Bayern Munich v Arsenal (19:45 GMT)

Posted at
13:48

Bayern make two changes to the side that beat Ingolstadt 2-0 on Saturday. Thomas Muller and Joshua Kimmich drop out with Douglas Costa and Arjen Robben coming in to the starting XI. Midfielder Xabi Alonso missed training on Monday with a knee injury but is fit to start.

As expected, Davis Ospina is in net for Arsenal in place of Petr Cech. Mesut Ozil starts despite talk he would be dropped. The only change from the XI that started the 2-0 home win over Hull sees Granit Xhaka come in for Theo Walcott.

If Arsenal are to win this game or, at the very least, ensure they are still in the tie for the return leg, they are going to have to keep Robert Lewandowski quiet

One piece of good news for Arsenal is that Thomas Muller is bang out of form at the moment.

The Germany forward scored an incredible 37 goals for club and country last season but he has got just five in the current campaign. In the Bundesliga he's scored once and he's on the bench tonight.

Apparently Manchester United bid £85m for him. Lucky escape?

kajifu wrote:One piece of good news for Arsenal is that Thomas Muller is bang out of form at the moment.

The Germany forward scored an incredible 37 goals for club and country last season but he has got just five in the current campaign. In the Bundesliga he's scored once and he's on the bench tonight.

there is no way you wrote the above statement kajifu..I know your english

I don't like the line up but the boys must come out firing and play a high pressing game.Khaka should be able to shut down Alonso he has more rest than any player playing today.so he should be able to be full of energy.

kajifu wrote:I don't like the line up but the boys must come out firing and play a high pressing game.Khaka should be able to shut down Alonso he has more rest than any player playing today.so he should be able to be full of energy.
now this statement, nah you wey write am

kajifu wrote:One piece of good news for Arsenal is that Thomas Muller is bang out of form at the moment.

there is no way you wrote the above statement kajifu..I know your english
U don come again, :rotf: most few post na from you I copy so no worry brother bigpokey .My English ago start with "We or Us not Arsenal.
By the way when is Chelsea playing in CL or Europa ?

Ex- Arsenal goalkeeper Jens Lehmann has been speaking to BBC World Service about his former manager Arsene Wenger.

"I cross my fingers that he will win the champions league this year," said Lehmann. "I think that would be a fantastic farewell for him.

"I think a farewell not reaching the top four in the premier league is not appropriate for him."
Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

Douglas Costa and Alaba are the dangermen for me.....and they play on the same flank!

Still optimistic about our chances here, because the Bayern press I have seen in recent weeks is not as good as it was under Pep...Vidal is the one guy who will press relentlessy, surely we have the quality to play around one man.

The teams are well matched, Coq needs to be good in possesion today so that Xhaka and Ozil can play..if those 2 can get on the ball and get Sanchez involved things can happen for us.
To God be the glory

OMG players coming out,God help the boys come out strong in this game ooooh.

Skylolo wrote:Douglas Costa and Alaba are the dangermen for me.....and they play on the same flank!

Still optimistic about our chances here, because the Bayern press I have seen in recent weeks is not as good as it was under Pep...Vidal is the one guy who will press relentlessy, surely we have the quality to play around one man.

The teams are well matched, Coq needs to be good in possesion today so that Xhaka and Ozil can play..if those 2 can get on the ball and get Sanchez involved things can happen for us.
:agree: if we play like the Chelsea game in September we walk out 2-1 easy.
We must not give them early goal and tied at the back then get an away goal.
Bayern is not strong as we last beat them,MF must press press them and Gibbs must not panic,little surprise he start

Wow game on,i don start shake na wa for me oooh.
Ambazonia

Post by Ambazonia »

Just hoping for Arsenal not to concede in the first 30 mins!

only positive here , is Iwobi getting match experience

Gibbs go need help in that left hand ooooh.Robben cutting inside with Lahm

chei...Bayern get players o!

Tunisian Gooner

Post by Tunisian Gooner »

Coq gotta do better the that mate.
Detective Bunk Moreland

'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'

kajifu wrote:Gibbs go need help in that left hand ooooh.Robben cutting inside with Lahm
Just like you said! Goal Bayern! Robben!!!!

Skylolo wrote:Douglas Costa and Alaba are the dangermen for me.....and they play on the same flank!

:agree: if we play like the Chelsea game in September we walk out 2-1 easy.
We must not give them early goal and tied at the back then get an away goal.
Bayern is not strong as we last beat them,MF must press press them and Gibbs must not panic,little surprise he start
Easy?

But really Robben had 2 hours to line up his shot there. Where is the intensity from Arsenal?

yes the former Chelsea boy scores, along with the former Chelsea manager... wonder goaloazoooo