Claudio Ranieri fired

Re: Claudio Ranieri fired

Apparently the 'senior' players complained to the club's owners after the game in Seville and that was the last straw.

platinum wrote:Apparently the 'senior' players complained to the club's owners after the game in Seville and that was the last straw.
I dont know why that phrase always aggravates me. Maybe I am suffering from "big boys" syndrome. Those of us Nigerians between the age of 30 and 50 know what we suffered due to the "big boys" in SE.

platinum wrote:Apparently the 'senior' players complained to the club's owners after the game in Seville and that was the last straw.
I dont know why that phrase always aggravates me. Maybe I am suffering from "big boys" syndrome. Those of us Nigerians between the age of 30 and 50 know what we suffered due to the "big boys" in SE.
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Yup.
bepanda

Post by bepanda »

Remember when Jamie Vardy was scoring goals in 11 (or was it 13) consecutive matches last season?
Didn't Arsenal make a run at him and he turned us down in the last minute? Arsenal needed a "pacy striker" :) :) :)

I think Vardy has let Ranieri down.
Weren't Mayrez and Slimani at the Cup of Nation in Gabon? Maybe they have an excuse, since Algeria has been struggling seriously this year at the World Cup qualification and Cup of Nations.

Bepanda

My stance on Jose is well documented on this forum, but respect to him for his support of Ranieri

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Yup.

To sack him only months after winning the EPL (and while they are still in the CL) is reprehensible. Winning the EPL seems to be a poisoned chalice:

2016 winner: Ranieri (sacked a few months later)
2015 winner: Mourinho (sacked a few months later)
2014 winner: Pellegrini (sacked)
2013 winner: Ferguson (retired a few days later)
2012 winner: Mancini (sacked)
2011 winner: Ferguson
2010 winner: Ancelotti (sacked a few months later)

The most bizarre thing about all of this is that had Ranieri NOT won the EPL last season, he would still be Leicester manager - based on their current position.

wiseone wrote:To sack him only months after winning the EPL (and while they are still in the CL) is reprehensible. Winning the EPL seems to be a poisoned chalice:

The most bizarre thing about all of this is that had Ranieri NOT won the EPL last season, he would still be Leicester manager - based on their current position.
COnte is next :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

wiseone wrote:To sack him only months after winning the EPL (and while they are still in the CL) is reprehensible. Winning the EPL seems to be a poisoned chalice:

LOL @ reprehensible! Someone bought a business and hires you to run their business. last year, you made a profit and this year you are about to run them into bankruptcy, so the person should keep fantasizing about the profit you made last year and watch their business go under abi???

Football fans need to get their thumb out of their asssssss. you guys aways put emotion into football. It is not big business and if you dont like it, buy your own club and hire ranieri on a 10 year contract. NONSENSE!
amafolas

Post by amafolas »

LOL @ reprehensible! Someone bought a business and hires you to run their business. last year, you made a profit and this year you are about to run them into bankruptcy, so the person should keep fantasizing about the profit you made last year and watch their business go under abi???

Football fans need to get their thumb out of their asssssss. you guys aways put emotion into football. It is not big business and if you dont like it, buy your own club and hire ranieri on a 10 year contract. NONSENSE!
i disagree. The ceiling for Leicester this season was always going to be mid-table around positions 11 to 13. They are championship level club that had one magical season. A successful season for them is one they don't get relegated. A great season is one they finish mid table. An amazing one is if they finish top half. They are not structured to play in multiple competitions and simply can't. Is Raneiri underperforming? Yes but not by much.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.

Exactly, a successful season for them (barring last season's miracle) is where they finish one place above the relegation zone (AKA exactly where they are right now). This is a club that was playing in the second tier 3 seasons ago. To now fire a manager for not maintaining championship winning form is pure fantasy for a club like Leicester.

amafolas wrote: i disagree. The ceiling for Leicester this season was always going to be mid-table around positions 11 to 13. They are championship level club that had one magical season. A successful season for them is one they don't get relegated. A great season is one they finish mid table. An amazing one is if they finish top half. They are not structured to play in multiple competitions and simply can't. Is Raneiri underperforming? Yes but not by much.

metalalloy wrote:My stance on Jose is well documented on this forum, but respect to him for his support of Ranieri

"Probably the season started with a typical selfishness of others -- people thinking of new contracts, leaving, more money, forgetting who helped them reach a certain level.
You can tell the bitterness in his words...that's experience talking. It's also why sometimes even though I'd like Wenger gone from Arsenal, his work needs to be respected and put in perspective. It's not easy managing men.

http://www.espnfc.us/english-premier-le ... ms-sacking

amafolas wrote:

i disagree. The ceiling for Leicester this season was always going to be mid-table around positions 11 to 13. They are championship level club that had one magical season. A successful season for them is one they don't get relegated. A great season is one they finish mid table. An amazing one is if they finish top half. They are not structured to play in multiple competitions and simply can't. Is Raneiri underperforming? Yes but not by much.
You can disagree all you like. Leicester is a business and the owner of that business as told Ranieri to fook offf! If you disagree, go and buy your own business and hire Ranieri t run it into bankruptcy! O pa ri o!

wiseone wrote:Exactly, a successful season for them (barring last season's miracle) is where they finish one place above the relegation zone (AKA exactly where they are right now). This is a club that was playing in the second tier 3 seasons ago. To now fire a manager for not maintaining championship winning form is pure fantasy for a club like Leicester.

amafolas wrote: i disagree. The ceiling for Leicester this season was always going to be mid-table around positions 11 to 13. They are championship level club that had one magical season. A successful season for them is one they don't get relegated. A great season is one they finish mid table. An amazing one is if they finish top half. They are not structured to play in multiple competitions and simply can't. Is Raneiri underperforming? Yes but not by much.

Once again, you are not a wise man. Do you know how much the guy spent last summer? And you are saying a successful season for all that money spent is to avoid relegation.

@Plats, putting Wenger's work into perspective lends accelerant to the bonfire. Loyalty knows no name beyond the currency of the land. T'is easy to find loyalty, showTring praise and admiration, when Denilsons and Bendtners can be priced out of departures by phenomenal salaries. Ask yourself, who in world football would've laid either like so and then look again at the praise and admiration.

http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/gossip

The Foxes players who met Leicester chairman Vichai Srivaddhanaprabha on Wednesday included 30-year-old keeper Kasper Schmeichel, defender Wes Morgan, 33, midfielder Marc Albrighton, 27, and 30-year-old striker Jamie Vardy

Cristao II wrote:http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/gossip

The Foxes players who met Leicester chairman Vichai Srivaddhanaprabha on Wednesday included 30-year-old keeper Kasper Schmeichel, defender Wes Morgan, 33, midfielder Marc Albrighton, 27, and 30-year-old striker Jamie Vardy
It's clear some things happened very fast. He was sacked so fast at an airport hotel after their return from Sevilla...so fast that they didn't have a plan B for the managerial job. If the move was premeditated, I'm sure they would have had options waiting to take over, considering they were in the middle of a UCL clash. And who would sack a manager after losing 2-1 away at Seville?

I guess that's why I think only this legendary dude would have put it this way:

◾No Leicester players' revolt against Ranieri - Shakespeare
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

Are any of these 'senior' players taking any responsibility for the team's poor performance at all? :mad:

^The gift and the curse. Ranieri should've focused a little more on the league the moment the slope became slippery. That said, his investments failed miserable, everyone of them. Yes, the players are culpable but the epitome of that collective is the manager and between those eyes is where the bullet implants.
Showboy

Post by Showboy »

Are any of these 'senior' players taking any responsibility for the team's poor performance at all? :mad:
Why should they after all the effort they put in winning the title last year. That should suffice till they end their careers. :roll:
"We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope" (Martin Luther King, Jr)

hmmm

not one of the 'senior players' I guess

Yes o!