Reading Meaning into Rohr's Player Invitations...

Ighalo out and Ideye out. Clearly, Rohr is looking for an advanced striker that he can live with. I am uncertain that Iheanacho is the guy but he is on the list and his previous games for Nigeria justify his call up but he has recently received little playing time at his club. As for his play for Nigeria, Iheanacho was not exactly impressive as an advanced striker against Algeria after impressing in a more secondary attacking role. Further, Rohr has called up two young and heralded strikers in Osimhen and Noah Sarenren Bazee. Clearly, this is a position that needs a new name and hopefully the international friendlies will help here.
Rohr has watched some local games and he had his assistants scout others. Yet, his only invitation to a locally-based player went to reserve goalkeeper Ezenwa who had been in Rohr's squad from the first day. What does this mean? Rohr is unimpressed. Last time, he claimed he would not invite locally-based players because the league was on break. The league has been in full tilt this time around but invitations did not go out to other local players. The answer should be clear on this issue.
For details, click below:

http://eaglecity.blogspot.com/2017/03/r ... ecent.html
[/quote]
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
papilo
Re: Reading Meaning into Rohr's Player Invitations...

Post by papilo »

We should not read too much into this. The league in China starts this month. Those guys need to focus on that. Rohr also mentioned in his interview with Toyin Ibitoye that he wants to look at some new players. Infact I am surprised more 'regulars' were not dropped for this game and more new players invited based on that interview. What could happen though is that some could play themselves into the team at the expense of some of the China lads. Especially in attack.
yes o
DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

papilo wrote:We should not read too much into this. The league in China starts this month. Those guys need to focus on that. Rohr also mentioned in his interview with Toyin Ibitoye that he wants to look at some new players. Infact I am surprised more 'regulars' were not dropped for this game and more new players invited based on that interview. What could happen though is that some could play themselves into the team at the expense of some of the China lads. Especially in attack.

Sararen-Bazee is not a striker.
He is a winger who can also play in a holding role behind the strikers.
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti

Naija 4 life!

papilo wrote:We should not read too much into this. The league in China starts this month. Those guys need to focus on that. Rohr also mentioned in his interview with Toyin Ibitoye that he wants to look at some new players. Infact I am surprised more 'regulars' were not dropped for this game and more new players invited based on that interview. What could happen though is that some could play themselves into the team at the expense of some of the China lads. Especially in attack.