'Nigerian Federation Blasted By Players Following Sa Clash'

Polly
'Nigerian Federation Blasted By Players Following Sa Clash'

Post by Polly »

'Nigerian Federation Blasted By Players Following SA Clash'
https://tinyurl.com/ycm4w66d
[African Football]
by Phumzile Ngcatshe
Thursday Jun 15, 2017
Nigeria's 2-0 loss to South Africa seems to have left the country divided with some players lambasting the Nigerian Football Federation and blaming them for the defeat.

Media reports in the country reveal that an unnamed player said the NFF's failure to have official match balls was a national disgrace.

The BBC reports that the NFF did not have official match balls for the 2019 CAF Africa Cup of Nations qualifier in Uyo last Saturday, but had 2016 balls which were turned down by officials.

The move prompted the officials to use balls provided by their opponents, South Africa, and the loss seems to be credited to the official match ball.

Reports suggest that the Super Eagles turned up at the ground without balls approved by CAF because the entire consignment of 250 sent to the Nigeria Football Federation is still stuck at a port awaiting clearance.

Furthermore, the report reveals that the Super Eagles trained with balls provided by Nike, their kit sponsors and only got a feel of the 2017 CAF balls during the pre-match warm-up.

"It's not the reason we lost but we trained with different balls only to use another ball for the game," said a player to the BBC, who requested anonymity.

"To borrow match balls from your opponent is not only bizarre but embarrassing," said another one,

Meanwhile, CAF sent 250 footballs to Nigeria in January to use for the CAF Champions League, Confederation Cup and international matches.

However, the balls were reportedly dispatched to the wrong address and the NFF has promised to work on the matter.
Re: 'Nigerian Federation Blasted By Players Following Sa Cla

I N C O M P E T E N C E!!!!

What difference does the balls make? Are all the balls not of the same weight and size? Assuming the balls are different, is that why they (our players) played so poorly? Why was Iheanacho made the LONE STRIKER? Can he bulldoze his way through the defenders?
Last edited by Odas on Fri Jun 16, 2017 2:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

DIMKA76 wrote:I N C O M P E T E N C E!!!!
Yes, all round - for the players, the coach and the NFF
miky

Post by miky »

Nonsense! match ball responsible for failure? pitch I can understand, but match balls? not like we have a freekick specialist that needs to have a feel of the weight and curvature of the ball.. nonsense
A lion never dies it sleeps (Rip..Foe)

An Eagle never dies it soars Rip (Big Boss)

Maybe that explains why Awaziem was slicing his clearances.

Lets just say everything was just wrong for us that day and we weren't destined to win that game...I mean how else can you explain Etebo missing from literally 3 yards out on 2 occasions...the ball mechanics itself just seemed too look weird whenever Nigeria was in possession...I have Nigeria lose possesion on many occasions and games, but this one seemed so weird...and really out of control, bad day in the office or a ball that just seemed to hate Nigerian players?

E X C U S E S!!!!!!!!!

Polly wrote:Meanwhile, CAF sent 250 footballs to Nigeria in January to use for the CAF Champions League, Confederation Cup and international matches.
Wow, that was 6 months ago! Won't be surprised if somebody sold the balls and pocketed the money

E X C U S E S!!!!!!!!!
Whilst it might be an excuse, sometimes it simply is about getting the basics right otherwise they become an unnecessary distraction.

the eagles are the biggest joke of an African team since the zaire squad at the world cup. :lol:
Kuku Ngbendu Wa Za Banga

Pinnick should run for Governor of Delta State.

Generalissimo Ogolo wrote:the eagles are the biggest joke of an African team since the zaire squad at the world cup. :lol:

bazzwella

Post by bazzwella »

Mummar Ghaddafi was right " Nigerie is big for nothing"