Rivers United crash out of CAF Champions League

Posted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 9:27 pm
by Purity
El Meikh 4, Rivers united 0..
Agg score: El Merick 4, Rivers United 3.

will drop to conferations cup.

Re: El Merick hammers rivers united 4 nil in Caf champ leagu

Posted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 9:33 pm
by truetalk
How does this happen. I just don't get.

Anything short of 2 red cards and 2 penalties is beyond me.

You beat them in PH 3-0 just last weekend. Are we that weak Psychologically?

This happens too many times to Nigerian teams (I know it also happened to PSG)

Posted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 9:34 pm
by Robotnik
Another one bites the dust. Who open that Rivers thread again

See what I say about NPFL

Posted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 9:51 pm
by truetalk
Robotnik wrote:Another one bites the dust. Who open that Rivers thread again

See what I say about NPFL
I've seen some good talent in the NPFL this season & Rivers United was actually built for this competition.

They have a solid team (apart from their 63 year old keeper) & they reinforced the team with a coupe of foreign players. They also went on that Spanish tour pre-season.

I really want to know what happened here. Was it a case of shoddy travel planes & they were jet-lagged? What is bad officiating? It just does not make sense!!

Re: Rivers United crash out of CAF Champions League

Posted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 9:52 pm
by Purity
Rivers United subjected to a hostile reception in Omdurman, Sudan

Posted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 11:17 pm
by Cellular
Purity wrote:Rivers United subjected to a hostile reception in Omdurman, Sudan
Story.

I bet you the players will tok say they were afraid of their lives and had to lose by that margin to escape with their lives.

Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 8:35 am
by jette1
Purity wrote:Rivers United subjected to a hostile reception in Omdurman, Sudan
Story.

I bet you the players will tok say they were afraid of their lives and had to lose by that margin to escape with their lives.
either that or rivers goal keeper would say he was seeing 3 balls at the same time

Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 1:04 pm
by nemi2002
This is not the first time the sudanese are pulling this stunt

Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 1:24 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
nemi2002 wrote:This is not the first time the sudanese are pulling this stunt

what stunt? scoring 4 goals while conceding none?

Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 4:15 pm
by oloye
We have fallen way behind in africa at club level. Sudan beating us like we used to beat teams from Togo...

Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 4:20 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
oloye wrote:We have fallen way behind in africa at club level. Sudan beating us like we used to beat teams from Togo...

didn't you hear that we lost 0-4 because of their "stunts"?

Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 4:43 pm
by anointed
Haranguing?

Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 4:57 pm
by anointed
Breaking: Rivers United players suffer fans’ attack in Sudan

March 17, 2017 / 23:11 PM /

Breaking: Rivers United players suffer fans’ attack in Sudan

Players and officials of Rivers United FC were on Friday attacked by fans of Sudanese club, Al Merrikh just before their training session in Omdurman on Friday.

One official of the Nigerian club, Bright Ogude was injured as a result of the attack.

Meanwhile, United have announced that they will send a strongly-worded protest to the Confederation of African Football (CAF) over the ‘unwarranted’ attack on players and officials of the club in Omdurman on Friday by fans of Sudanese club, Al-Merrikh.

The United contingent were pelted with various objects as they made their way to training at the Al-Merrikh Stadium, Omdurman.

“This is unacceptable,” Rivers State Sports Commissioner, Honourable Boma Iyaye, who led the Rivers United contingent to Sudan fumed when discussing the sad turn of events with the club’s official.

“We treated them very well when they came to Nigeria for the first leg and there were no complaints.

“We are bitterly disappointed at the attacks directed towards us (on Friday) and the cub will write a formal protest letter to Caf over this unwarranted treatment meted out to us.

“Hopefully, Caf will take action,” Hon Iyaye concluded.

Rivers United and Al Merreikh will meet on Sunday in a second leg, first round clash of the 2017 Caf Champions League at the Al-Merrik Stadium, Omdurman.

The Nigerian club won the first leg 3-0 in Port Harcourt last Sunday
https://www.sportlineng.com/2017/03/17/ ... ack-sudan/

Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 5:16 pm
by nemi2002
nemi2002 wrote:This is not the first time the sudanese are pulling this stunt

what stunt? scoring 4 goals while conceding none?
Beating a team from Rivers state by 4 goals after conceding 3 in the first leg

Rivers United loss has troubled me to no end ...

Posted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:38 am
by General Trousers
Rivers United loss has troubled me to no end ...
The loss of Rivers United has further driven home the point of the lack of technical dearth and polish that our local sides have.
Rivers United fell to Al-Merreikh, and I know first hand that the Sudanese have been very consistent in their local football. Our Nigerian clubs have done poorly at the continental level. This reflects a lack of technical polish ... Many of our players are just very raw, and in the old days, pure grit, skill, athleticism might rescue us, I have to say that the higher acumen of polished sides makes such efforts an exercise in futility.

To lose 4-0 only exposes us. Also one must wonder HOW a team can lose 4-0 ...

Sudanese champions Al-Merreikh on Saturday pulled off one of the biggest comebacks in the Caf Champions League in recent years to see off Nigerian side Rivers United 4-3 on aggregate.

Bakri Al Madina netted a first-half hat-trick and Mohamed Abdulrahman came off the bench to score the fourth as The Red Devils clawed their way back from a three-goal deficit in the first leg in Nigeria about a week ago to dispatch Rivers United.

Rivers United head coach Stanley Eguma opted for a defensive approach to protect their three-goal advantage with a five-man backline of Markson Ojobo, Zoumana Doumbia, Ayobami Asekunowo, Festus Austine and Joseph Douhadji

The Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) side could only hold on for 20 minutes before Bakri breached their backline with the first of his three goals.

Source: http://www.supersport.com/football/caf- ... Rivers_Utd
<

Re: Rivers United loss has troubled me to no end ...

Posted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 9:34 am
by green4life
General Trousers wrote:The loss of Rivers United has further driven home the point of the lack of technical dearth and polish that our local sides have.
Rivers United fell to Al-Merreikh, and I know first hand that the Sudanese have been very consistent in their local football. Our Nigerian clubs have done poorly at the continental level. This reflects a lack of technical polish ... Many of our players are just very raw, and in the old days, pure grit, skill, athleticism might rescue us, I have to say that the higher acumen of polished sides makes such efforts an exercise in futility.

To lose 4-0 only exposes us. Also one must wonder HOW a team can lose 4-0 ...
PSG was a very well polished team when barca erased a 4-0 set by winning 6-1. Even if you lived under a rock, surely, the tremendous tremors from that ground shaking result must have alerted you to investigate the cause.

Re: Rivers United loss has troubled me to no end ...

Posted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 11:27 am
by nemi2002
The Sudanese beat steam from rivers State with the same scoreline a year or two ago. Same 4-3 scoreline

Posted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 3:26 pm
by oloye
Whether sharks disguises as Rivers united or obokun eko or tilapia..they will still be losing. They have carried their losing streak to pollute the winning streak of Dolphins....this is what you get with bad cross breeding in these fishes from Borokiri waterside...

Imagine being beaten silly by common Sudan...kai ofirima don shame Naija. :cry:

Posted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 4:30 pm
by bret- hart
Faacking shame. We cant even get into the group stages of the CAF CL. :boo: :boo: :boo: :boo:

Posted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:01 pm
by wiseone
Losing the second leg 0-4 after being 3-0 up from the first leg is absolutely criminal. Why do Nigerian clubs produce these unprofessional performances in the ACL? Enyimba also pulled a stunt like this last season (won first leg 3-0, lost second leg 0-3): viewtopic.php?f=1&t=271084&hilit=enyimba
Purity wrote:El Meikh 4, Rivers united 0..
Agg score: El Merick 4, Rivers United 3.

will drop to conferations cup.

Posted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 11:20 pm
by jette1
in this day and age of camera everywhere; where is the video of the attack because one pelt of water bottle wouldn't qualify as attack

Posted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 3:39 am
by YUJAM
El Merreikh is in the second tier of African club football hierarchy. They've made it to the CAF CL semis at least once in recent years. To maintain this type of success internationally, I assume they are well managed and financed. So they are no joke in the African arena

However, it is almost inconceivable to me that they were able to overturn a 3 zip deficit vs a team from Nigeria

Posted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 4:24 pm
by folem
https://www.worldfootball.net/teams/al- ... durman/11/
YUJAM wrote:El Merreikh is in the second tier of African club football hierarchy. They've made it to the CAF CL semis at least once in recent years. To maintain this type of success internationally, I assume they are well managed and financed. So they are no joke in the African arena

However, it is almost inconceivable to me that they were able to overturn a 3 zip deficit vs a team from Nigeria