Are we ready for a 3-5-2 formation?

oyek
Are we ready for a 3-5-2 formation?

Post by oyek »

******************************Carl Ikeme************

************Omeruo************Balogun**************Troost Ekong

*****Victor Moses**********Mikel******Onazi********Etebo******Success

******************Iheanacho**************Iwobi**************
Last edited by oyek on Tue Mar 21, 2017 3:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
If not for Jesus, where will i be?
oyek
Re: Are we ready for a 3-5-2 formation?

Post by oyek »

What do you guys think? Is it something Mr. Rohr might envisage going forward? I mean looking at the personnel we have

I have long believed that 3-5-2 is our deadliest formation. How can you not play 3-5-2 when you have quality like Victor Moses on the wing? This formation strengthens our defence greatly while giving us numbers in midfield so that we can dominate midfield, keep the ball and create many chances for our clinical forwards (well Iheanacho at least :mrgreen: ).

Ndidi can't get in?

FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

Quick, quick...replace Onazi with Ndidi...

Ndidi is better at ball distribution...And he brings greater physical presence...
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly
oyek

Post by oyek »

Scipio Africanus wrote:I have long believed that 3-5-2 is our deadliest formation. How can you not play 3-5-2 when you have quality like Victor Moses on the wing? This formation strengthens our defence greatly while giving us numbers in midfield so that we can dominate midfield, keep the ball and create many chances for our clinical forwards (well Iheanacho at least :mrgreen: ).
i agree, ball retention is mainly in the midfield.
oyek

Post by oyek »

FATHER TIKO wrote:Quick, quick...replace Onazi with Ndidi...

Ndidi is better at ball distribution...And he brings greater physical presence...
It shows the depth of the midfield going forward.

Uncle Ayo where are you? :D

So success is now a lwb? Abi you're assuming he can play the position?

YemiBrazil wrote:Uncle Ayo where are you? :D
He's only had to wait for about 20yrs but we've finally come around :agree: :taunt:

Also Iwobi as striker?

oyek

Post by oyek »

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:So success is now a lwb? Abi you're assuming he can play the position?
He's getting better defensively at the left midfield tracking back at Watford.
oyek

Post by oyek »

balo wrote:Also Iwobi as striker?
You may swap him with Success if you like
icee

Post by icee »

oyek wrote:******************************Carl Ikeme************

I'd love Omerou to be a bit faster but Moses can cover if he sustains his Chelsea discipline. I think this can be really good for us and compensate for our weak defense

oyek wrote:
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:So success is now a lwb? Abi you're assuming he can play the position?
He's getting better defensively at the left midfield tracking back at Watford.

He will commit 2 pks a game easy if he lasts 90min

Ball retention in midfield has never moved the goalposts from their position. Overwhelm, overload, should be the mantra, aggressive pressure to recover the ball and overloading of targeted areas once recovered. The 3-5-2 doesnt provide enough width beyond the wingbacks, who, if pushed back, effectively sabotage the system. There's a big difference between 3-5-2 and 3-4-3, with Pedro making a nuisance of himself, the opposing fullback is often drawn in-field, affording Moses more space to move into. In a 3-5-2, the fullback stands their ground. An opposing winger may double-up and tag-team. A back three would certainly offer greater tactical variety with the remaining outfield players, but a 3-5-2, mba. Not just mba, but Monday to Sunday mba.
DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

oyek wrote:What do you guys think? Is it something Mr. Rohr might envisage going forward? I mean looking at the personnel we have
I believe yes, especially considering that Iheanacho is a special player, but despite playing lone striker for Man City, actually had his best games for Nigeria (U-17 and SE) as a support striker.
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti

Naija 4 life!

Isaac Success is not a wingback and would be a defensive liability. Better to play Etebo out wide where he's a very good two way player and has the lungs to run all day. This also enables Ndidi to come into the middle.

Iwobi is not a striker. Better to partner Iheanacho with Success. And where is the depth to support the starters? Apart from midfield and strikers there are no suitable backups behind the starters looking at our current personnel.

Sure, Nigeria can play this way for a game or two; or as a change up to counter the oppositions' strategy. But as our normal base formation no way.

YemiBrazil wrote:Uncle Ayo where are you? :D
He's only had to wait for about 20yrs but we've finally come around :agree: :taunt:

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

oyek wrote:******************************Carl Ikeme************

Success? lmao

the joke that is success aside.....
this is not such a bad idea . You cant fit both Etebo and Iwobi into such a formation though

...Omeruo....Ekong....Oboabona
VicMo....Mikel...Ndidi............Amuzie
.................Etebo/Iwobi...........................
.......Nacho.......Ideye/Sadiq Umar
sholaJay

Post by sholaJay »

I think 3-4-3 gives us better cover in the wide areas, therefore id go with

Ikeme

Omerou-Balogun-Ekong

Moses-Mikel-Ndidi-etebor/elderson/Amuzie

Iheancho -Success/ideye-Iwobi

oyek wrote:What do you guys think? Is it something Mr. Rohr might envisage going forward? I mean looking at the personnel we have
Why always follow follow?

When will Naija come up with their own original formation?