Ivory Coast name Belgian Marc Wilmots as new coach

Re: ALGERIA SIGN EX-BELGIUM COACH MARC WILMOTS TODAY

1naija wrote:This is why many of you remain backwards. You are sitting at top of the group with 3 points going into a home game against a team that could not win a must win game at home, and you are more afraid than Zambia who is last in our group. Remind me not to go to battle with any of you. You will surrender before the first bullet is shot.

How many games will Wilmot have to impart his ideas into the Algerians before our game?

All we need to do is come correct. Change of managers can go either way. But let's home they will understanding of what he wants them to do

I'm not totally sold on Wilmots as a coach. I was unimpressed with the Belgian team at the last Euros. Expected them to improve from their world cup performance, but they regressed instead. They played well below their potential at the Euros with the talent in the squad. The coaching changes may give Nigeria a slight edge, but Algeria has the talent though to give Nigeria serious problems even with a new coach.

1naija wrote:This is why many of you remain backwards. You are sitting at top of the group with 3 points going into a home game against a team that could not win a must win game at home, and you are more afraid than Zambia who is last in our group. Remind me not to go to battle with any of you. You will surrender before the first bullet is shot.
you dey mind dem, we for kukuma just withdraw like Chad

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Wilmots is actually a good coach. These Algerians clearly mean business. They are not leaving anything to chance.
What metrics have led you to that conclusion?

Once Ayo declared him a good coach, tension leave my body.
:laugh:

The same Wilmots who squandered Belgium's so called Golden Generation. Far from a Leopold. A serious and sensible Nigeria, bury him quick fast.

Was it not Wilmots that led Belgium from nowhere to number two in the Fifa rankings? Did any team qualify for Euro 2016 more comprehensively than them?

Yes, the wheels eventually fell off but does that negate all the good he did? If he can get Algeria playing like Belgium, we will have an almighty fight on our hands.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Was it not Wilmots that led Belgium from nowhere to number two in the Fifa rankings? Did any team qualify for Euro 2016 more comprehensively than them?

Yes, the wheels eventually fell off but does that negate all the good he did? If he can get Algeria playing like Belgium, we will have an almighty fight on our hands.
Well, make Algeria come, we dey wate dem! Na world-war III e go be, kpatakpata. If we no fit win dem for our home, den na oursef we go blame
Abaua1
Ivory Coast name Belgian Marc Wilmots as new coach

Post by Abaua1 »

BBC

Ivory Coast have named former Belgium international Marc Wilmots as their new head coach to replace Michel Dussuyer.

The 48-year-old Wilmots was coach of Belgium between 2012 and 2016 and lead them to the World Cup in Brazil.

He was sacked in July 2016 after Belgium lost 3-1 to Wales in the quarter-finals of the European Championships.

Frenchman Dussuyer quit the Elephants after they exited the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations at the group stage.

Wilmots, who has signed a two-year contract with an option to renew, will get the chance to see his new charges in action almost immediately as Ivory Coast play two friendlies.

However he will not be in charge of the team for those matches, against Russia on Friday in Krasnador and then Senegal three days later in Franceas, as Ibrahim Kamara will be in temporary control.

The Belgian has been set the task of qualifying for the 2018 World Cup in Russia and the Africa Cup of Nations a year later.

Ivory Coast are top of their World Cup qualifying pool with four points from two matches, ahead of Gabon, Morocco and Mali, with only the group winners going to Russia.

When the Nations Cup campaign kicks off in June, the Elephants will battle it out with Guinea, Central African Republic and Rwanda for a place at the finals in Cameroon.

www.bbc.com/sport/football/39342275
Re: Ivory Coast name Belgian Marc Wilmots as new coach

He is kinda lucky. CIV was not as bad as their 1st round AFCON exit made them look, and they are fortunate to be in the weakest WC qualifying group with Mali's FIFA palaver. If they can beat Morocco at home, they are most likely through. Gabon have Aubameyang and not much else.

CIV. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Bad move..

Successfully squandered Belgium's golden generation, who better to rust the vestigial remains of Cote d'Ivoire's. Typical African appointment. Winterbottom criteria met. Hired.

Is this not the same guy that grossly underachieved with a very talented group of Belgian players? Come on CIV!!!. You can do better!
Last edited by Cito on Wed Mar 22, 2017 5:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Africans never ever learn,it's all about hoping for a quick fix and never working from the root upwards and that's why anybody that is washed up anywhere else gets a chance to screw them over as long as they are foreign, any way good luck to CIV maybe this shot in the dark will hit the target!

:thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: Now CIV are guaranteed to miss :thumbs: the next WC and the next 2 or 3 ANCs :thumbs: (depending on when those French worshippers at FIF wise up and cut him loose).

kai! Africans are deeply stupid! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

I don't rate Wilmots highly either but you never know.
Certain coaches perform well in certain environments.
I wouldn't rule out he can have success before he has even started.
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti

Naija 4 life!

Don't they have local coaches in IVC???

bret- hart wrote:Don't they have local coaches in IVC???
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

If Wilmots couldn't achieve with the array of talents at his disposal in Belgium, he is not gonna fare better with CIV.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

bret- hart wrote:Don't they have local coaches in IVC???
You're not Ivorien, wetin consign you?
Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

Another predictable waste of time and money. Tragic too
considering this was the nation Yeo Martial coached to its
first AFCON back in 1992.

A nation that boasted of players like Aka Kouame, Alain
Gouamene(sp), Joel Tiehi, Omar Ben Sallah, Guel Tchiresoa,
Abdoulaye "Ben Badi" Traore, Youssof Fofana and the like
have to look to foreigners to coach them? Sad.

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]