JUST 1,400 COULD WATCH NIGERIA vs SENEGAL?

Re: JUST 1,400 COULD WATCH NIGERIA vs SENEGAL?

Tbite wrote:Nostalgia.

It has been a while since we had this US CEs vs UK CEs debate lol.
No mind them why won't they rush to the games when they are starved of quality football

Why is everyone blaming NFF? What about the Senegal FA? Are they also clueless?

Do we have Aussie CE?

Apart from you...
Ikemba Nacho is an aussie CE as well.

There might be others, but I cannot think of them right now.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
Eagle Winged

Post by Eagle Winged »

How many British-Nigerians even knew this match was happening? I had no idea we were playing today, let alone in London, until yesterday. Had i known earlier i'd be going.

Admittedly i don't follow football as much as i used to, but i bet a lot of people are in the same position. We didn't even know about the match, it's not about being 'cash stingy'.

Eagle Winged wrote:How many British-Nigerians even knew this match was happening? I had no idea we were playing today, let alone in London, until yesterday. Had i known earlier i'd be going.

Admittedly i don't follow football as much as i used to, but i bet a lot of people are in the same position. We didn't even know about the match, it's not about being 'cash stingy'.
Mods...lame excuses is a banable offence! :mad:

Abbey

Post by Abbey »

Eagle Winged wrote:How many British-Nigerians even knew this match was happening? I had no idea we were playing today, let alone in London, until yesterday. Had i known earlier i'd be going.

Mods...lame excuses is a banable offence! :mad:
A Person convinced against his will is of the same opinion still.

Wetin persin nor go hear for this place.....i am waiting for someone to tell us that the ticket they bought was mistakenly eaten up by bingo their mongrel dog who loves to eat tickets.

London people una yap as usual....make una just mechionu, not turning up is not as annoying as the excuses i am hearing here. Eagle Wing abi ki lo nje.....just mechionu there one time before i use my mods veto power to ban you for this kwe kwe excuse!

So you come to CE today wey be match day only to register this kain excuse :lol:

Long time! How you dey? :D

All these arguments claiming inadequate publicity appear weak. Are we saying that London based Naijans haven't logged on to any social media or been on the Internet in or month or they haven't had the privilege of watching any of the Naija-centric TV stations where the info is readily available. Seriously, why are Naija-based Nigerians more informed than their UK-based counterparts despite having less access to Internet services? Meanwhile, these same Nigerians have all the information about Trump and every irrelevant things on the face of the planet except a Super Eagles match in the UK that doesn't come often.

I make bold to say that if The Hive has a capacity of 6,000 and a total of 1,400 had purchased ticket at the time of opening thread; I have a feeling that there are more than that number of UK-based CEs who would have read that the match would be played.

Another question that this raises is if Nigerians in the UK claim ignorance of the game, is it that these Nigerians are so busy that they don't interact with the world?
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

Tbite wrote:

Do we have Aussie CE?

Apart from you...

Where's Winnerman? He used to be the first to greet Happy New Year from Down Under until you crashed the party.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

anointed wrote:All these arguments claiming inadequate publicity appear weak. Are we saying that London based Naijans haven't logged on to any social media or been on the Internet in or month or they haven't had the privilege of watching any of the Naija-centric TV stations where the info is readily available. Seriously, why are Naija-based Nigerians more informed than their UK-based counterparts despite having less access to Internet services? Meanwhile, these same Nigerians have all the information about Trump and every irrelevant things on the face of the planet except a Super Eagles match in the UK that doesn't come often.

I make bold to say that if The Hive has a capacity of 6,000 and a total of 1,400 had purchased ticket at the time of opening thread; I have a feeling that there are more than that number of UK-based CEs who would have read that the match would be played.

Another question that this raises is if Nigerians in the UK claim ignorance of the game, is it that these Nigerians are so busy that they don't interact with the world?
Nigerians in London are very very busy oh...ko easy rara!

Eagle Winged

Post by Eagle Winged »

oloye wrote:Wetin persin nor go hear for this place.....i am waiting for someone to tell us that the ticket they bought was mistakenly eaten up by bingo their mongrel dog who loves to eat tickets.

London people una yap as usual....make una just mechionu, not turning up is not as annoying as the excuses i am hearing here. Eagle Wing abi ki lo nje.....just mechionu there one time before i use my mods veto power to ban you for this kwe kwe excuse!

So you come to CE today wey be match day only to register this kain excuse :lol:
I'm not a Londoner, i'm 2 hours outside of London.

Eagle Winged wrote:
oloye wrote:Wetin persin nor go hear for this place.....i am waiting for someone to tell us that the ticket they bought was mistakenly eaten up by bingo their mongrel dog who loves to eat tickets.

Stop digging my good friend :lol:

Eagle Winged

Post by Eagle Winged »

Good, yourself?

Eagle Winged wrote:

Good, yourself?
Very well, thanks. Good to see a familiar face.

Eagle Winged

Post by Eagle Winged »

Eagle Winged wrote:

Stop digging my good friend :lol:
With the amount of time and money i spent to go to South Africa and watch Yakubu miss an open net, i think i should have a pass for life when it comes to excuses for missing SE games. Don't even get me started on all the games a lot of us went to, only for the SE to be represented by 'Hey You' and his 4th cousin.
lukemana

Post by lukemana »

anointed wrote:All these arguments claiming inadequate publicity appear weak. Are we saying that London based Naijans haven't logged on to any social media or been on the Internet in or month or they haven't had the privilege of watching any of the Naija-centric TV stations where the info is readily available. Seriously, why are Naija-based Nigerians more informed than their UK-based counterparts despite having less access to Internet services? Meanwhile, these same Nigerians have all the information about Trump and every irrelevant things on the face of the planet except a Super Eagles match in the UK that doesn't come often.

Many of our brothers in London may shun the game for several reasons. I read somewhere a couple of days ago that the Immigration in London is now doing what ICE has been doing in USA. That is, stop people at bus/train station and ask for documentation. That would force some folks to stay home.

The recent terrorist attack (yesterday) is a good reason for them to stay put. I would not go out either under those circumstances.

Less than 48 hours ago, a crazy white supremacist came to NY from Maryland and stabbed a black man to death for no apparent reason. He claimed he just wanted to make a point. :shock: :shock: :shock: That makes me think twice before going out alone at night!

Cheers!!!
lumide01

Post by lumide01 »

lukemana wrote:

Many of our brothers in London may shun the game for several reasons. I read somewhere a couple of days ago that the Immigration in London is now doing what ICE has been doing in USA. That is, stop people at bus/train station and ask for documentation. That would force some folks to stay home.

The recent terrorist attack (yesterday) is a good reason for them to stay put. I would not go out either under those circumstances.

Less than 48 hours ago, a crazy white supremacist came to NY from Maryland and stabbed a black man to death for no apparent reason. He claimed he just wanted to make a point. :shock: :shock: :shock: That makes me think twice before going out alone at night!

Cheers!!!

lol another case of man bites dog, your almost 9 times as likely to be killed by a black man but that doesnt stop you from going anywhere, but what do i know?? :sleep: :sleep: :sleep: :sleep:

anointed wrote:
Tbite wrote:

Do we have Aussie CE?

Apart from you...

Where's Winnerman? He used to be the first to greet Happy New Year from Down Under until you crashed the party.
Oh yeah Winnerman..he gave me his number once, I can't remember if I called.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

I didn't see any ads for the game on BEN TV. Most people I know did not know we were playing.

That stadium was full last night with 9ja football fans in full voice supporting the Eagles now maybe USA 9ja CE's can shut up. I. Look forward to the day Eagles play in either Boston or NY in the freezing cold and see how many of you turn up!!!
amoky

Post by amoky »

Correction please there were 2013 in attendance. i got the official attendance in the media stand

amoky wrote:Correction please there were 2013 in attendance. i got the official attendance in the media stand
Amoky we have boost our figures because of our loud mouthed American cousins. :taunt: Those Senegalese look like bouncers, I enjoyed the game took the kids, first time they will watch naija. We played well we have to be patient with boys