NIGERIA 1 - 1 SENEGAL (FT) Intl. Friendly

Re: NIGERIA 1 - 1 SENEGAL (FT) Intl. Friendly

I wonder why a question on 3-5-2 formation didn't come especially as a certain CE was in attendance :D?
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

truetalk wrote:
Its a Goal wrote:Rohr was pleased with the performance of the lads especially as it had been 4 months they last played together while Senegal was only returning from a great Afcon outing.

Rohr also indicated he is going to be using young players a lot more and mentioned a player in Chelsea who is also been sort after by England. I am not sure he mentioned Lukeman or Lookman as he wears on his jersey with Everton.
He said players that have dual nationality & are eligible for other countries are always welcome in the Eagles. The question was about Ola Aina.

I don't think we need him though. We need reliable options/backups for Elderson on the left.
Elderson is a terrible terrible football player. and if we are only looking for "options/backups" rather than outright replacement, then we need prayers. Like someone said on CE this week, everyone keeps harping about our right back problem, but we have a bigger and more urgent serious problem at left back! smh

truetalk wrote:He said players that have dual nationality & are eligible for other countries are always welcome in the Eagles. The question was about Ola Aina.

I don't think we need him though. We need reliable options/backups for Elderson on the left.
Why? Who else do we have at RB?
At the very least, we need depth and competition there.

It appears that Success has moved up the pecking order of our wing forward position after this game. No? We have Moses,Simon,success,Iwobi,Musa,kayode and Bazee all fighting for 2 positions. Moses undoubtedly has his spot on lockdown so far. Who will be the other starter?

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:It appears that Success has moved up the pecking order of our wing forward position after this game. No? We have Moses,Simon,success,Iwobi,Musa,kayode and Bazee all fighting for 2 positions. Moses undoubtedly has his spot on lockdown so far. Who will be the other starter?
Success added bite to the game.

Imagine Success***Nacho***Moses attack line going against any defense. Explosive.
Chimex101

Post by Chimex101 »

I would fancy an attack of Nacho, Banzee (if he comes good on Monday), Kayode, Success, and Victor...for the love of christ Rohr never play Musa and Simon Moses in any high profile game again, those type of players are not what we need right now for a budding team...Musa can be brought in the dying minutes of a game to kill of the tempo with his pace...nothing more nothing less.

Its a Goal wrote: Not holding fort for CE members but going by Shoggy's explanation, anyone streaming the match live would have been violating the rights of the match

Most of the CEs in the UK are there illegally and are already violating the laws of the land so I don't see what difference one more violation would have made.

Nigeria 1-1 Senegal: Sadio Mane makes late appearance on drab and dreary night as spoils are shared in Barnet

Liverpool's Sadio Mane started on the bench for Senegal on Thursday
Arsenal's Alex Iwobi started for Nigeria as the sides clashed at The Hive
Kelechi Iheanacho missed a chance from four yards out before half-time
Moussa Sow opened the scoring for Senegal before Kelechi Iheanacho equalised

By Jonny Singer for MailOnline

Published: 22:17 GMT, 23 March 2017 | Updated: 22:40 GMT, 23 March 2017

View comments

As play began in the second half at Barnet's Hive stadium, Sadio Mane was walking along the touchline, having emerged late, smiling for the young supporters who seemed to have come mainly to see him play.

He stopped short of actually posing for selfies – as he had done ahead of kick-off, and Ahmed Musa did when he was subbed late on - but he looked as nonplussed as anyone at the prospect of international football being played here.

By that time three of the four stands were more than half full, with 2,013 fans deciding that the first game of this magnitude at the Hive was a worthwhile way to spend a Thursday evening.
Nigeria's stars line up ahead of the friendly match against Senegal on Thursday night

The Senegal players pose for their team photograph before the international friendly.

The Senegal players pose for their team photograph before the international friendly
Both teams observed a minute's silence to remember those who died in London on Wednesday

The attendance wasn't as poor as some at the club feared earlier in the week, with most fans turning up on the night and queuing to get in until well after kick-off, but it was still less than half as many as came here to watch Barnet play Portsmouth earlier in the season.

Those who did brave a freezing night in north west London – and it was an odd collection, with a large group of Nigerian supporters on one side of the stadium, and mostly younger fans screaming for Mane's introduction on the other – were rewarded with football that would scarcely have looked out of place in League Two, though a second-half goal apiece did give them something to shout about.

Senegal bossed the midfield, Idrissa Gueye, as ever, presiding over it all with calm and quality, but Moussa Sow up front is far less mobile than Mane, and looked very ordinary until Daniel Akpeyi dropped a 53rd-minute corner into his path for the opener.

Nigeria: Akpeyi; Omeruo, Ekong, Balogun, Echiejile; Musa (Kayode 75), ONazi (Ogu 24), Ndidi, Moses (Success 60); Iwobi (Oghenekaro 60); Iheanacho

Subs: Kayode, Abdullahi, Ogu, Awaziem, Ebuehi, Ezenwa

Booked: Echiejile, Balogun

Goal: Iheanacho (pen)

Senegal: Ndiaye; Wague, Kouyate, Koulibaly, A Mbengue (C Mbengue 74); Sane; Diouf, Ndoye, Gueye, Nguette (Mane 64); Sow (Diedhiou 68)

Subs: Diallo, C Mbengue, Ndiaye, Toure, Ciss, Gassama, Saivet,

Goal: Sow

Ref: Anthony Taylor

Nigeria, who didn't qualify for AFCON 2017, have a theoretically exciting attacking core, but neither Leicester's Ahmed Musa nor Arsenal's Alex Iwobi are in form – as for Kelechi Iheanacho, he can barely get a game for Manchester City. Of the Premier League contingent only Wilfred Ndidi showed himself in a good light.

Iwobi was particularly poor, hooked on the hour after a performance notable far more for its errors than any incision in the No 10 role.

Iheanacho did get two glorious chances to score, scuffing a shot across the goal from 18 yards, and then somehow prodding wide from point-blank range. If Pep Guardiola was watching, this would not have impressed him.

The City starlet managed to redeem himself with 10 minutes to go, gliding onto a through-ball and brought down by Pape Ndiaye, before getting up to convert the penalty and equalise. It was probably deserved, if only for Iheanacho's persistent running.

He might even have won it with a snapshot wide in stoppage time, but neither side really did enough to win the game, or to entertain the sparse crowd. When Mane came on, replacing debutant Opa Nguette, it earned the largest cheer of the night, bringing more excitement than either goal. While he may not have actually contributed much on the pitch, it was the Liverpool man alone who provided any buzz around the Hive.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/footba ... negal.html

truetalk wrote:He said players that have dual nationality & are eligible for other countries are always welcome in the Eagles. The question was about Ola Aina.

Why? Who else do we have at RB?
At the very least, we need depth and competition there.
Too many of them. Odubajo, Iorfa, Ebuehi, Shehu, Musa Mohammed.

We've even had Omeruo & Balogun with cameos in the spot.

On the left, we have kids playing in youth leagues as some of our most viable options.

Stanley Amuzie (Youth league) & Kingley Madu (back on the bench in Belgium after enjoying a run in the team in January and February) are the only options I can think of for Elderson at the moment.

Chimex101 wrote:I would fancy an attack of Nacho, Banzee (if he comes good on Monday), Kayode, Success, and Victor...for the love of christ Rohr never play Musa and Simon Moses in any high profile game again, those type of players are not what we need right now for a budding team...Musa can be brought in the dying minutes of a game to kill of the tempo with his pace...nothing more nothing less.
Look at dumbness of the highest level. You have never seen a player play, yet you are fancying an attack with him included. Kai! Dumbness of the highest order.

chief nfachairman wrote:
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:It appears that Success has moved up the pecking order of our wing forward position after this game. No? We have Moses,Simon,success,Iwobi,Musa,kayode and Bazee all fighting for 2 positions. Moses undoubtedly has his spot on lockdown so far. Who will be the other starter?
Success added bite to the game.

Imagine Success***Nacho***Moses attack line going against any defense. Explosive.
Iheanacho has a lot to do to be Nigeria's starting striker, frankly.

Wetin be all this talk about future? Abi nah future ball una dey watch...yall need to get a hold of una sef and focus on now..rubbish moral talk about future

Chimex101 wrote:I would fancy an attack of Nacho, Banzee (if he comes good on Monday), Kayode, Success, and Victor...for the love of christ Rohr never play Musa and Simon Moses in any high profile game again, those type of players are not what we need right now for a budding team...Musa can be brought in the dying minutes of a game to kill of the tempo with his pace...nothing more nothing less.
Look at dumbness of the highest level. You have never seen a player play, yet you are fancying an attack with him included. Kai! Dumbness of the highest order.
Easy , the bobo gets too excited

Problem is Chimex has always been a stupid child. no be today e start.

Dammy wrote:Nigeria 1-1 Senegal: Sadio Mane makes late appearance on drab and dreary night as spoils are shared in Barnet

View comments

As play began in the second half at Barnet's Hive stadium, Sadio Mane was walking along the touchline, having emerged late, smiling for the young supporters who seemed to have come mainly to see him play.

He stopped short of actually posing for selfies – as he had done ahead of kick-off, and Ahmed Musa did when he was subbed late on - but he looked as nonplussed as anyone at the prospect of international football being played here.

By that time three of the four stands were more than half full, with 2,013 fans deciding that the first game of this magnitude at the Hive was a worthwhile way to spend a Thursday evening.

The Senegal players pose for their team photograph before the international friendly.

The Senegal players pose for their team photograph before the international friendly

The attendance wasn't as poor as some at the club feared earlier in the week, with most fans turning up on the night and queuing to get in until well after kick-off, but it was still less than half as many as came here to watch Barnet play Portsmouth earlier in the season.

Those who did brave a freezing night in north west London – and it was an odd collection, with a large group of Nigerian supporters on one side of the stadium, and mostly younger fans screaming for Mane's introduction on the other – were rewarded with football that would scarcely have looked out of place in League Two, though a second-half goal apiece did give them something to shout about.

Senegal bossed the midfield, Idrissa Gueye, as ever, presiding over it all with calm and quality, but Moussa Sow up front is far less mobile than Mane, and looked very ordinary until Daniel Akpeyi dropped a 53rd-minute corner into his path for the opener.

Nigeria: Akpeyi; Omeruo, Ekong, Balogun, Echiejile; Musa (Kayode 75), ONazi (Ogu 24), Ndidi, Moses (Success 60); Iwobi (Oghenekaro 60); Iheanacho

Senegal: Ndiaye; Wague, Kouyate, Koulibaly, A Mbengue (C Mbengue 74); Sane; Diouf, Ndoye, Gueye, Nguette (Mane 64); Sow (Diedhiou 68)

Nigeria, who didn't qualify for AFCON 2017, have a theoretically exciting attacking core, but neither Leicester's Ahmed Musa nor Arsenal's Alex Iwobi are in form – as for Kelechi Iheanacho, he can barely get a game for Manchester City. Of the Premier League contingent only Wilfred Ndidi showed himself in a good light.

Iwobi was particularly poor, hooked on the hour after a performance notable far more for its errors than any incision in the No 10 role.

Iheanacho did get two glorious chances to score, scuffing a shot across the goal from 18 yards, and then somehow prodding wide from point-blank range. If Pep Guardiola was watching, this would not have impressed him.

The City starlet managed to redeem himself with 10 minutes to go, gliding onto a through-ball and brought down by Pape Ndiaye, before getting up to convert the penalty and equalise. It was probably deserved, if only for Iheanacho's persistent running.

He might even have won it with a snapshot wide in stoppage time, but neither side really did enough to win the game, or to entertain the sparse crowd. When Mane came on, replacing debutant Opa Nguette, it earned the largest cheer of the night, bringing more excitement than either goal. While he may not have actually contributed much on the pitch, it was the Liverpool man alone who provided any buzz around the Hive.

If we qualify, Vince may come back.

Looking at the NPFL & the options seem poor.

Femi Thomas is now backup to an ancient Rotim Sunday at River's United. Afelokhai (left Kano) & Okiemute Odah are not as hot as they once were.

Hopfully, there is some 17 or 18 year old maturing into our DeGea or Casillas as I type & who will manifest beforw Russia.
Chimex101

Post by Chimex101 »

Problem is Chimex has always been a stupid child. no be today e start.
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: this recalcitrant nitwit has been trailing every damn post of mine, dem send you? your predictability isn't only amusing but damn right creepy, I bet you stalk young boys in your hood yeah? Gotta alert the neighborhood police department to slap a restraining order on you before your matter enter breaking news.

truetalk wrote:
Dammy wrote:Nigeria 1-1 Senegal: Sadio Mane makes late appearance on drab and dreary night as spoils are shared in Barnet

View comments

If we qualify, Vince may come back.

Looking at the NPFL & the options seem poor.

Femi Thomas is now backup to an ancient Rotim Sunday at River's United. Afelokhai (left Kano) & Okiemute Odah are not as hot as they once were.

Hopfully, there is some 17 or 18 year old maturing into our DeGea or Casillas as I type & who will manifest beforw Russia.

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

in 2017, our keepers are still dropping balls :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

I remember when we were young in Nigeria and we were playing "choosing". The two unfortunate souls who ended up being goalkeepers are the most useless players that no team chose to be part of their teams.

Honestly, I think what i sad above is the reason Nigeria has suffered in terms of goalkeeping. I do not think any young kid in Nigeria goes into football because he wants to be a goalkeeper. All we have are a bunch of failed players who ended up being goalkeepers and since they werent goalies as kids, they didnt get the required training, neither were they even talented enough to be goalies.

In 2017, look at this nonsense!

Its a Goal wrote: Not holding fort for CE members but going by Shoggy's explanation, anyone streaming the match live would have been violating the rights of the match

Most of the CEs in the UK are there illegally and are already violating the laws of the land so I don't see what difference one more violation would have made.
1d10t :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
sholaJay

Post by sholaJay »

I watched the game live and We actually completed our first cross at the 78th minute. A minute after musa was subbed off. Musa and Moses are done. We played much better when they were off. Heck, the only time we looked on top of things is when they came off.

sholaJay wrote:I watched the game live and We actually completed our first cross at the 78th minute. A minute after musa was subbed off. Musa and Moses are done. We played much better when they were off. Heck, the only time we looked on top of things is when they came off.
Musa's confidence is shot to pieces at the moment

Moses is definitely not done. We shouldn't over hype a friendly game.

sholaJay wrote:I watched the game live and We actually completed our first cross at the 78th minute. A minute after musa was subbed off. Musa and Moses are done. We played much better when they were off. Heck, the only time we looked on top of things is when they came off.
Please, comment here:
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=270441&start=46

Musa's confidence is shot to pieces at the moment
Oh! Thats the excuse now? abi? So what has been the excuse all these years when the brain-dead moron couldnt cross to save his life and will pass to his opponent rather than his teammate? please....