AFCON to Follow as CONMEBOL Bows to UEFA....

Re: AFCON to Follow as CONMEBOL Bows to UEFA....

danfo driver wrote:This is what happens when people dont have self pride and retain low self-esteem. If European clubs have a problem, then UEFA should be the one making changes, NOT Conmebol. Inferiority complex.

Wrong! The reason is all the MONEY is in UEFA. If we develop our league and have other continents flooding in, then we will get to dictate the terms.

Molue Conductor wrote:
danfo driver wrote:This is what happens when people dont have self pride and retain low self-esteem. If European clubs have a problem, then UEFA should be the one making changes, NOT Conmebol. Inferiority complex.

Wrong! The reason is all the MONEY is in UEFA. If we develop our league and have other continents flooding in, then we will get to dictate the terms.
Keep telling yourself that. We didnt develop our continent or have money before we demanded independence! Apartheid ended without black south africans having money or developing their communities. The truth is Africans and south americans have low self-esteem and their leaders are greedy and have no problem selling their country and their own people. Thus, the Europeans exploit it. Thats how slavery was successful, and the Europeans are still using that playbook. Get a couple of the natives and give them shinny shinny thing and they'll be dancing to the master's tune.

But dont worry, keep comforting yourself.

dd, We can deny verifiable facts and come up with alternative facts instead as to how much popularity the African game has over the European games but fact will always be fact: African matches are less popular to watch compared to the European game, either staged on the same day, different days/weeks/months/years. What we can do is find a way to get African games some form of publicity when the European games are on. This might mean putting the African matches in between European matches, preferably on the same network or different network but by rule European matches must not cross with African matches. We have a bit of leverage to get that done so it shouldn't be an issue. Since national teams will have 2 uninterrupted months to play their matches it shouldn't be a problem working out the schedule. This way advertisers will not be forced to pick one over the other but select both.

Oh, good luck trying to get Afcon to be more successful in attracting viewership than the Euros. We don't have the machinery in place to match those of the Europeans when it comes to marketing so how do you expect to host a more successful tournament than them?

As for your water logged pitch issue, such issues are few and far between. It is only stadia with poor facilities that experience such. Will you prefer watching a match in a warm weather when it is raining or sit in a cold freezing stadium with the snow falling on you making your ears feel like falling off and fingers too cold you will be wondering why you were subjecting yourself into such punishment? Rainy season in Africa is often characterized with drizzling rain that could last for days but never bad enough to hold activities from taking place.

Kofi, I am at a loss as to what your point is. National teams are obviously scouted by agents for talents they have not been made aware of and such talents can be spotted either during the league season or international seasons that could be up to 2 months.

The more I think of this the more I am liking it. During the regular season players who have dual nationality can be wooed during that period. Such players will know that they have essentially 10 months to make up their mind who they want to play for and national team coaches will have enough time to determine which players will be good enough for them during those 2 month period rather than having to chop and change their team ever so often.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

When Caf give us the details of this change we should revisit this post but at present 26 March 17 nothing has changed and the qualifiers for the next tournament are yet to start so it's only CONMEBOL for now!

txj wrote:Its a global game, hence one game, one unified calendar...

2ndly, Europe remains the nexus of the global game, where the best players, some of the best coaches and ideas, finance, TV, innovation, etc all come together.

Rather than this be this terrible scourge that is being suggested, I see it as just another manifestation of the dynamics of globalization.

Just as in other spheres of the global economy, some see this as an evil that needs to be stopped, others embrace it, and use it to drive innovation.
That's how I see it too, some of these mopes crying are the same people who shamelessly want to recruit European born players into their national teams. If you don't like the Europeans that much then develop your own leagues and players and when you become a nexus of the global game you can start making demands.

Molue Conductor wrote:

Keep telling yourself that. We didnt develop our continent or have money before we demanded independence! Apartheid ended without black south africans having money or developing their communities. The truth is Africans and south americans have low self-esteem and their leaders are greedy and have no problem selling their country and their own people. Thus, the Europeans exploit it. Thats how slavery was successful, and the Europeans are still using that playbook. Get a couple of the natives and give them shinny shinny thing and they'll be dancing to the master's tune.

But dont worry, keep comforting yourself.
I don't want to veer too much off topic but independence was given to Africans in spite of our demands, not because of it. Same with apartheid. Those systems became unsustainable over time.

The problem with you afro-centric social justice crusaders is that you'd rather put everyone at a disadvantage as long as white people are at the other end of the argument instead of thoroughly looking out for your long term interests.

Mr. Piffington wrote:
txj wrote:Its a global game, hence one game, one unified calendar...

2ndly, Europe remains the nexus of the global game, where the best players, some of the best coaches and ideas, finance, TV, innovation, etc all come together.

Rather than this be this terrible scourge that is being suggested, I see it as just another manifestation of the dynamics of globalization.

Just as in other spheres of the global economy, some see this as an evil that needs to be stopped, others embrace it, and use it to drive innovation.
That's how I see it too, some of these mopes crying are the same people who shamelessly want to recruit European born players into their national teams. If you don't like the Europeans that much then develop your own leagues and players and when you become a nexus of the global game you can start making demands.
They don't believe in their own system or even have the innovation to improve it but yet they complain about the wrong things!

I never understand why the Europeans make such a big deal about the timing of AFCON. This year, about 5% of EPL players were released to play at the AFCON. Meaning that the AFCON has absolutely no effect on 95% of EPL players. Is it really worth rescheduling the AFCON just because an average EPL team (with 20-50 players on their books) has to release 1-2 of them for international duty for a couple of weeks?
folem

Post by folem »

AFCON changes to June.

... thanks a lot - bros! I hope CAF doesn't bow to the crap. No self pride at all. Like you said, UEFA should have been the one changing its schedule(s) or conform with others, not the opposite.
folem

Post by folem »

... thanks a lot - bros! I hope CAF doesn't bow to the crap. No self pride at all. Like you said, UEFA should have been the one changing its schedule(s) or conform with others, not the opposite.
Follow the money. He who pays the piper dictates the tune. :mrgreen: