Pep - In my case I had to ... change English football

http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/39498073

Guardiola took over at Manchester City last summer having won three successive Bundesliga titles and two German Cups with Bayern Munich between 2013 and 2016.

Before that he led Barcelona to three straight La Liga titles, two Copa del Reys and the Champions League twice.

However, the 46 year old says he was always realistic about what he could achieve with City during this campaign.

"In my case I had to win the treble and change English football," he said.

"Expectations were quite high, that's why I'm going to fall short definitely. I cannot have success this season.

"In Barcelona we won the three titles in a row, we played all the competitions, we played the Champions League every three days and we were able to play almost immediately. Sometimes you need more time."

Re: Pep - In my case I had to ... change English football

Puffy eyed, flat nosed, flaring nostrils gasping for air, Peperempe has an air of the Audley's about him. No less than expected, the ring has pushed him.abt it's enclosure, snappy rights tipping his head back, one-twos scoring on the inside. Credit to the Catalan, deep into it and still on his feet, many habe gone down before the bells he's heard. Bigger and better next season without doubt, as for this season, too many weight classes in one jump. #AlvarezKhan #GolovkinBrook.

Cristao II wrote:"Expectations were quite high, that's why I'm going to fall short definitely. I cannot have success this season.

Inheritance Merchant coming up with excuses for a failed season.

Mugu, how's that GK coming along...whatshisface, the one who could play the ball on the ground but kept doing Mannequin Challenge whenever he faced a shot

Meanwhile in Germany, Bayern with a 13 point cushion

Thought and still do think the Pellegrini ouster, just like the Heynckes ouster, was premature and ill-conceived. The idea that Pep could surpass the achievements of those guys was overly optimistic, and has done Pep no favors.

The most logical destination for Pep in the last couple of years was Chelsea & Man U. In the next couple of years, Arsenal would be open and create a unique opportunity too. He can't coach Madrid and wouldn't want to go back to Barca, so Spain pretty much closed up. French clubs are below his status to be honest.

Man City and Bayern were tall orders, and so far he is underperforming/underperformed his predecessors in both.

Cristao II wrote:"Expectations were quite high, that's why I'm going to fall short definitely. I cannot have success this season.

Inheritance Merchant coming up with excuses for a failed season.

Mugu, how's that GK coming along...whatshisface, the one who could play the ball on the ground but kept doing Mannequin Challenge whenever he faced a shot

Meanwhile in Germany, Bayern with a 13 point cushion

deanotito wrote:Thought and still do think the Pellegrini ouster, just like the Heynckes ouster, was premature and ill-conceived. The idea that Pep could surpass the achievements of those guys was overly optimistic, and has done Pep no favors.

The most logical destination for Pep in the last couple of years was Chelsea & Man U. In the next couple of years, Arsenal would be open and create a unique opportunity too. He can't coach Madrid and wouldn't want to go back to Barca, so Spain pretty much closed up. French clubs are below his status to be honest.

Man City and Bayern were tall orders, and so far he is underperforming/underperformed his predecessors in both.
Arsene Wenger has begun his customary charge towards no.4, when it comes to that one, he takes no prisoners, he can go on a serious winning run.

There could be lots of blushes if Pep takes City to Europa.

deanotito wrote:Thought and still do think the Pellegrini ouster, just like the Heynckes ouster, was premature and ill-conceived. The idea that Pep could surpass the achievements of those guys was overly optimistic, and has done Pep no favors.

Pellegrini wasn't ousted, he was there to do a job for 3 years and when his contract was up he left. Pep has only been in City for less than a season, next season will be a proper barometer to assess his Man City tenure properly, right now he has a bunch of aging players he'll have to get rid of. Footy fans are way to reactionary.

If he went to Chelsea or Man U he would have failed IMHO.

Mr. Piffington wrote:

Pellegrini wasn't ousted, he was there to do a job for 3 years and when his contract was up he left. Pep has only been in City for less than a season, next season will be a proper barometer to assess his Man City tenure properly, right now he has a bunch of aging players he'll have to get rid of. Footy fans are way to reactionary.

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Oh! I see. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: The City that finished above Chelsea and United last season, and clearly had better players than both teams abi? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Excuses galore! Shameless people! Your master, came, he saw and he has been conquered :rotf:

Mr. Piffington wrote:

This one is proper rewriting of history. Pep was with City by the start of the season. Man City has the best squad in the EPL only challenged by Utd and Chelsea wrt depth.

Cristao II wrote:
Mr. Piffington wrote:

This one is proper rewriting of history. Pep was with City by the start of the season. Man City has the best squad in the EPL only challenged by Utd and Chelsea wrt depth.

Soon, they will tell us that Pep didnt actually coach the team until February 2017, He came in August and has been observing since. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Cristao II wrote:
Mr. Piffington wrote:

He has an aging squad that can't play the way he wants to play.

Mr. Piffington wrote:
Cristao II wrote:
Mr. Piffington wrote:

Stan, you try too hard.

Mr. Piffington wrote:
Cristao II wrote:
Mr. Piffington wrote:

Stan, you try too hard.