AFCON dates moved to the summer?

Should AFCON be moved to the Summer?

Poll ended at Fri Apr 21, 2017 7:26 pm

Yes
25%
NO
75%

Total votes: 8

Re: AFCON dates moved to the summer?

Bigpokey24 wrote: my brother ask them oo, it is not like AFCON stadiums are full during the tourney sef.. let them build stadiums with good drainage etc we dey 2017

CAF signed a $1bn TV deal they should use the money to invest in better facilities
Like this one...

Abaua1

Post by Abaua1 »

I understand why CAF is pissed off.

1. In 1992, Europe pressured CAF to move the tournament from March to January.

2. CAF has said repeatedly that the current biennial system benefits them the most financially.

If these damn Europeans want everybody to be happy then they know what they gotta do. Dig deep into the pockets and release some damn euros for CAF :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

If it's raining building a stadium with a retractable roof.

kajifu wrote:Its aining season oooh in june,july and August period,so who are the big stars in Africa football currently playing that he will be talking to them?
How can he says its the big star that make this tournament?What about us fans?
abeg spare us the yeye story about raining season, haven't you heard of August break.. so why do we play AFCON /WCQs in June /August? Didn't south Africa houst the worldcup in June /July
lol
it's winter in the southern part of Africa around those dates..in the Northern part it is hot /cool, in the west it rains etc... but Nations should build stadiums with good drainage systems..I am tired of top African ballers trying to pull out of the AFCON .

It will even help show case the competition if held around this period, also the transfer windows are still open.. so it is a win win situation for the players.
Its winter in Southern Africa around those dates.

Ebyboy wrote:What about the rainy season in Africa prevents African countries
seeking to host AFCON from building stadiums equipped with
drainage systems that can drain the water and football pitches
that hold up well under those weather conditions?
my brother ask them oo, it is not like AFCON stadiums are full during the tourney sef.. let them build stadiums with good drainage etc we dey 2017

CAF signed a $1bn TV deal they should use the money to invest in better facilities
CAF does not build stadiums. Its the hosting countries that do and I doubt any African country today has funds to sinking into building new hightech stadiums or upgrading. Africa is currently in a recession.
folem

Post by folem »

chief nfachairman wrote:
my brother ask them oo, it is not like AFCON stadiums are full during the tourney sef.. let them build stadiums with good drainage etc we dey 2017

CAF does not build stadiums. Its the hosting countries that do and I doubt any African country today has funds to sinking into building new hightech stadiums or upgrading. Africa is currently in a recession.
The Chinese can build it as usual.

folem wrote:
chief nfachairman wrote:

“We have governors; they go to China and spend one month on a tour and what do they come back with, MoU (Memorandum of Understanding) on debts.
1. China will lend you $1.8bn to build light rail.
2. This light rail will be done by the rail workers from China.
3. The trains will come from China. The engines will come from China. The labour comes from China.
4. The driver is Chinese.
5. At the end of the day, what do you benefit from it?
6. Your citizen will ride on a train and when you ride on a train, in northern Nigeria, in a state like Kano or Katsina, where are you going to?
• You are not going to an industrial estate to work.
• You are not going to school?
• You are not going to the farm
You borrow money from China to invest in trains so that your citizens can ride on them and go for weddings and naming ceremonies.”

- Emir Sanusi Lamido

kajifu wrote:Its aining season oooh in june,july and August period,so who are the big stars in Africa football currently playing that he will be talking to them?
abeg spare us the yeye story about raining season, haven't you heard of August break.. so why do we play AFCON /WCQs in June /August? Didn't south Africa houst the worldcup in June /July
This Bigpokey has no sense at all. Left for me, I would have BANNED you from here since long ago. Do you really think deeply, as well as in different directions before using your arthritis fingers to type? How can the AFCON be held in RAINING SEASON? How?
awww Odas is sensitive.. so how many African Countries experience raining seasons in June? :) please list them ? Why must you speak without researching?

http://goafrica.about.com/od/Best-Time- ... Africa.htm
Rainy and Dry Seasons, West Africa

Generally, November to April is the dry season in West Africa. Although humidity is high throughout the year (especially towards the coast), there are less mosquitoes during the dry season and the majority of unpaved roads remain passable. The dry weather makes this the optimum time to visit for beachgoers; especially as cool ocean breezes help to keep temperatures bearable.

Ads
Africa
African Safari Tours
Travel to Africa
Weather
ПОГОДА
However, travellers should be aware of the harmattan, a dry and dusty trade wind that blows in from the Sahara Desert at this time of year.

The southern areas of West Africa have two rainy seasons, one lasting from the end of April to mid-July, and another, shorter one in September and October. In the north where there is less rainfall, there is only one rainy season, which lasts from July to September. Rains are typically brief and heavy, rarely lasting longer than a few hours. This is the best time to visit land-locked countries like Mali (where temperatures can soar as high as 120°F/ 49°C), as the rains help to make the heat more manageable.

More about: When to Visit Ghana l Ghana's Climate and Average Temperatures

Rainy and Dry Seasons, North Africa

Part of the northern hemisphere, North Africa's seasons are familiar for Western travellers. Although there's no rainy season as such, the time of year with the most rainfall coincides with the North African winter. Between November and March the coastal areas see the most rain, while many inland destinations remain dry due to their proximity to the Sahara Desert. This is a good time for those hoping to visit Egypt's otherwise scorching tombs and monuments, or for taking a camel safari in the Sahara.

The summer months (June to September) constitute North Africa's dry season, and are characterised by almost non-existent rainfall and sky-high temperatures. In the Moroccan capital of Marrakech, for example, temperatures frequently exceed 104°F/ 40°C. High altitudes or coastal breezes are required to make the heat bearable, so the beaches or mountains are the best option for summer visitors. A swimming pool or air-conditioning are a must when choosing accommodation.

More About: When to Visit Morocco l When to Visit Egypt

Rainy and Dry Seasons, East Africa

East Africa's dry season lasts from July to September, when the weather is defined by sunny, rain-free days. This is the best time to visit famous safari destinations like the Serengeti and the Maasai Mara, although optimum game-viewing opportunities make it the most expensive time, too. This is the southern hemisphere winter, and as such weather is cooler than at other times of the year, making for pleasant days and chilly nights.

Northern Tanzania and Kenya experience two rainy seasons: one major rainy season lasting from April to June, and a more sporadic rainy season lasting from October to December. Safari destinations are greener and less crowded during these periods, while the cost of travel decreases significantly. From April to June especially, visitors should avoid the coast (which is both wet and humid), and the rainforests of Rwanda and Uganda (which experience torrential rain and frequent flooding).

Different seasons provide opportunities for witnessing different aspects of East Africa's famous wildebeest migration.

More about: When to Visit Kenya l When to Visit Tanzania

Rainy and Dry Seasons, Southern Africa

For most of southern Africa, the dry season coincides with the southern hemisphere winter, which typically lasts from April to October. During this time, rainfall is limited, while the weather is typically sunny and cool. This is the best time to go on safari, however those considering a camping safari should be aware that nights can get cold. Conversely, in South Africa's Western Cape province, winter is actually the wettest season.

Elsewhere in the region, the rainy season runs from November to March, which is also the hottest and most humid time of year. The rains during this time of year will close down some of the more remote safari camps, however other areas (like Botswana's Okavango Delta) are transformed into a lush birder's paradise. Despite regular brief thunderstorms, November to March remains peak season in South Africa, where the beaches are best at this time of year.
From your argument in above, it means any African Country that experiences rain at that time will NEVER host the AFCON tournament. In that case, many countries will be FOREVER banned - indirectly - from hosting
No if a nation is rewarded the hosting rights early enough they can build roofed stadia or install decent drainage that will up grade their facilities and infrastructure (which they obviously need or how on earth where they playing football) and create a legacy thus improving the football experience in the continent and if any nation wants to host the tournament but is not in the possition to do so don't let them!
Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

This Bigpokey has no sense at all. Left for me, I would have BANNED you from here since long ago. Do you really think deeply, as well as in different directions before using your arthritis fingers to type? How can the AFCON be held in RAINING SEASON? How?
awww Odas is sensitive.. so how many African Countries experience raining seasons in June? :) please list them ? Why must you speak without researching?

Generally, November to April is the dry season in West Africa. Although humidity is high throughout the year (especially towards the coast), there are less mosquitoes during the dry season and the majority of unpaved roads remain passable. The dry weather makes this the optimum time to visit for beachgoers; especially as cool ocean breezes help to keep temperatures bearable.

Ads
Africa
African Safari Tours
Travel to Africa
Weather
ПОГОДА
However, travellers should be aware of the harmattan, a dry and dusty trade wind that blows in from the Sahara Desert at this time of year.

The southern areas of West Africa have two rainy seasons, one lasting from the end of April to mid-July, and another, shorter one in September and October. In the north where there is less rainfall, there is only one rainy season, which lasts from July to September. Rains are typically brief and heavy, rarely lasting longer than a few hours. This is the best time to visit land-locked countries like Mali (where temperatures can soar as high as 120°F/ 49°C), as the rains help to make the heat more manageable.

Part of the northern hemisphere, North Africa's seasons are familiar for Western travellers. Although there's no rainy season as such, the time of year with the most rainfall coincides with the North African winter. Between November and March the coastal areas see the most rain, while many inland destinations remain dry due to their proximity to the Sahara Desert. This is a good time for those hoping to visit Egypt's otherwise scorching tombs and monuments, or for taking a camel safari in the Sahara.

The summer months (June to September) constitute North Africa's dry season, and are characterised by almost non-existent rainfall and sky-high temperatures. In the Moroccan capital of Marrakech, for example, temperatures frequently exceed 104°F/ 40°C. High altitudes or coastal breezes are required to make the heat bearable, so the beaches or mountains are the best option for summer visitors. A swimming pool or air-conditioning are a must when choosing accommodation.

East Africa's dry season lasts from July to September, when the weather is defined by sunny, rain-free days. This is the best time to visit famous safari destinations like the Serengeti and the Maasai Mara, although optimum game-viewing opportunities make it the most expensive time, too. This is the southern hemisphere winter, and as such weather is cooler than at other times of the year, making for pleasant days and chilly nights.

Northern Tanzania and Kenya experience two rainy seasons: one major rainy season lasting from April to June, and a more sporadic rainy season lasting from October to December. Safari destinations are greener and less crowded during these periods, while the cost of travel decreases significantly. From April to June especially, visitors should avoid the coast (which is both wet and humid), and the rainforests of Rwanda and Uganda (which experience torrential rain and frequent flooding).

Different seasons provide opportunities for witnessing different aspects of East Africa's famous wildebeest migration.

For most of southern Africa, the dry season coincides with the southern hemisphere winter, which typically lasts from April to October. During this time, rainfall is limited, while the weather is typically sunny and cool. This is the best time to go on safari, however those considering a camping safari should be aware that nights can get cold. Conversely, in South Africa's Western Cape province, winter is actually the wettest season.

Elsewhere in the region, the rainy season runs from November to March, which is also the hottest and most humid time of year. The rains during this time of year will close down some of the more remote safari camps, however other areas (like Botswana's Okavango Delta) are transformed into a lush birder's paradise. Despite regular brief thunderstorms, November to March remains peak season in South Africa, where the beaches are best at this time of year.
From your argument in above, it means any African Country that experiences rain at that time will NEVER host the AFCON tournament. In that case, many countries will be FOREVER banned - indirectly - from hosting
No if a nation is rewarded the hosting rights early enough they can build roofed stadia or install decent drainage that will up grade their facilities and infrastructure (which they obviously need or how on earth where they playing football) and create a legacy thus improving the football experience in the continent and if any nation wants to host the tournament but is not in the possition to do so don't let them!
Abi oh. Any serious host nation can invest in two to four stadia and play all the games
there. The best bet would be to refurbish and weatherproof the two, three or four stadia
that are the most modern or suitable. No need to build from scratch or refurbish more
than four. The various teams can rotate usage of the stadia during the group stage. It
would even be more convenient for the participating teams as it would reduce travel
and logistical costs.

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]

Ebyboy wrote:

Ads
Africa
African Safari Tours
Travel to Africa
Weather
ПОГОДА

Abi oh. Any serious host nation can invest in two to four stadia and play all the games
there. The best bet would be to refurbish and weatherproof the two, three or four stadia
that are the most modern or suitable. No need to build from scratch or refurbish more
than four. The various teams can rotate usage of the stadia during the group stage. It
would even be more convenient for the participating teams as it would reduce travel
and logistical costs.
:thumbs:

I have included a poll to this topic, lets see how CE votes on this. I am for it to be moved

Benedict Iroha wrote:If it's raining building a stadium with a retractable roof.
Some of you guys make me laugh. Have you driven in a place like Port Harcourt on a day it rains? The place is locked up because all the traffic cops leave their posts to get out of the rain. Who will risk driving under such condition to go to a stadium with retractable roof? And will UEFA foot the bill to build such stadiums across Africa?

Benedict Iroha wrote:If it's raining building a stadium with a retractable roof.
Some of you guys make me laugh. Have you driven in a place like Port Harcourt on a day it rains? The place is locked up because all the traffic cops leave their posts to get out of the rain. Who will risk driving under such condition to go to a stadium with retractable roof? And will UEFA foot the bill to build such stadiums across Africa?
If a nation is not ready to build infrastructure (roads,transportation,drainage systems etc) to cope with its environment and expected natural occurrences (these things must have been happening for years) maybe they need not offer to host a major continental tournament,standards most be raised even if it means the same few nations host it for the next decade or two!

I guess it's you that defines what's acceptable infrastructure a nation must build. Nigeria has hosted many FIFA approved tournaments and games so the infrastructure we have is sufficient. Those who feel they are not acceptable are welcome to build theirs. How many retractable roof stadium do you have where you post from from? Abeg.
bepanda

Post by bepanda »

Africans only like to look for excuses. Please tell me if the Nigerian League stops play in June. I know the Cameroonian leagues doesn't stop play in "hot" months. South America, which has similar climate as Africa plays around the same time.
Africans need to be more creative and use technology better to get around their excuses. If it rains, build better stadiums. If it is too hot, find a freaking solution. Difficulties are an opportunity for innovation. Africans always want the easy way out ...
If you want your players to stay in Africa, pay them so they don't need to play at Chelsea or Arsenal... etc.
Bepanda

Purity wrote:still prefere Jan for the afcon..
I say leave the AFCON scheduled time of the year as it is.

1naija - please stop responding to these people. They seem to have no common sense of reasoning. They simply type whatever comes to their minds without asking themselves a question or two before typing their opinions.

I guess it's you that defines what's acceptable infrastructure a nation must build. Nigeria has hosted many FIFA approved tournaments and games so the infrastructure we have is sufficient. Those who feel they are not acceptable are welcome to build theirs. How many retractable roof stadium do you have where you post from from? Abeg.
A retractable roof would be even better but decent roofing would be enough ( for the fans at least) and drainage to stop water logged pitches,we are talking about the game in the 21st Century and a world wide audience with tv sheddules so if a nation is given more time to host a tournament at a certain time of year they should plan appropriately or why even ask to host a tournament?

So let me get this straight: When Nigeria bidded to host or co-host the 2010 WC with Ghana, the weather season would have dramatically changed to accommodate the world had we won the rights over SA? We have hosted many junior WC tournaments in the past, can someone please remind me when those tournaments took place? Oh, on top of that, we host beach football in the damn freaking summer time yet rain has never once forced the tournament not to hold despite it's impact on the sand surface. The feeling I get from those against pushing the tournament to summer period is that they just want to be contrarian and stick 2 fingers at UEFA. They prefer to cut their nose to spite their face.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

Leaving the tournament to continue taking place in January will continue to have a detrimental effect not only on the tournament itself but on the career of the players. The tournament should take place during periods when it can be show cased to the rest of the world when no other tournament is taking place thereby receiving maximum attention as opposed to the after thought it currently is experiencing. The few times it gets mentioned outside of Africa is when a critical player like Mane is missing or something spectacular happened, be it good or bad. Players come up with all sort of excuses not to go especially those who are fighting for their club career.

We will only be fooling ourselves hoping it will get better. We either move with the times or we get swept into the history books.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

folem

Post by folem »

Its a Goal wrote:So let me getWE his straight: When Nigeria bidded to host or co-host the 2010 WC with Ghana, the weather season would have dramatically changed to accommodate the world had we won the rights over SA? We have hosted many junior WC tournaments in the past, can someone please remind me when those tournaments took place? Oh, on top of that, we host beach football in the damn freaking summer time yet rain has never once forced the tournament not to hold despite it's impact on the sand surface. The feeling I get from those against pushing the tournament to summer period is that they just want to be contrarian and stick 2 fingers at UEFA. They prefer to cut their nose to spite their face.
Tell them.

During the 2009 U -17 WC (Oct-Nov) many incidents of waterlogged pitches occurred. 1999 U-20 was held in April just after the start of the rainy season in the South.

chief nfachairman wrote:
folem wrote:
chief nfachairman wrote:

“We have governors; they go to China and spend one month on a tour and what do they come back with, MoU (Memorandum of Understanding) on debts.
1. China will lend you $1.8bn to build light rail.
2. This light rail will be done by the rail workers from China.
3. The trains will come from China. The engines will come from China. The labour comes from China.
4. The driver is Chinese.
5. At the end of the day, what do you benefit from it?
6. Your citizen will ride on a train and when you ride on a train, in northern Nigeria, in a state like Kano or Katsina, where are you going to?
• You are not going to an industrial estate to work.
• You are not going to school?
• You are not going to the farm
You borrow money from China to invest in trains so that your citizens can ride on them and go for weddings and naming ceremonies.”

- Emir Sanusi Lamido
You know what that summarises everything!