Ross Barclay : Police investigate racist 'SUN' article

soothsayer
Ross Barclay : Police investigate racist 'SUN' article

Post by soothsayer »

Merseyside Police are investigating allegations that a newspaper article about Everton midfielder Ross Barkley constitutes a "racial hate crime".

Barkley, 23, was punched in a Liverpool bar last weekend in what his lawyer described as an "unprovoked attack".

In an article on Friday, Sun columnist Kelvin MacKenzie compared Barkley - who has a grandfather born in Nigeria - to a "gorilla at the zoo".

Police confirmed they were investigating the "full circumstances".

MacKenzie targeted both England international Barkley and the city of Liverpool in the article - which has since been taken off The Sun website - saying:

Barkley is "one of our dimmest footballers", also calling him "thick".
His eyes make him "certain not only are the lights not on, there is definitely nobody at home", adding: "I get a similar feeling when seeing a gorilla at the zoo."
Men with similar "pay packets" in Liverpool are "drug dealers" and in prison.

Liverpool Mayor Joe Anderson told BBC Sport he reported the article to the police for a "racial slur".

Speaking to BBC Sport, Anderson said: "Not only is it racist in a sense that he is of mixed-race descent, equally it's a racial stereotype of Liverpool. It is racist and prehistoric."
This Kelvin MacKenzie fella is a piece of work.
Re: Ross Barclay : Police investigate racist 'SUN' article

Unreal. :evil:

Mackenzie has been suspended.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... ended.html

He's taking the fall for writing the article but numerous people likely read it before it went up. The Sun doing what they do best.

Only the columnist?
How did the article even get past the editor?

platinum wrote:Mackenzie has been suspended.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... ended.html

He's taking the fall for writing the article but numerous people likely read it before it went up. The Sun doing what they do best.
Exactly.

They can suspend him for all they want...but the article did not print itself...there are still more heads that should roll!

Everton player Ross Barkley, who has Nigerian roots, suffers ‘racist abuse

https://www.thecable.ng/everton-player- ... cist-abuse

Barkley's grandpa, Effanga, is from Calabar. One wonders when supposedly educated people will ever learn to rise above racial pettiness. Not only the columnist, the entire editorial staff certainly should be sanctioned.
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

Purity wrote:Everton player Ross Barkley, who has Nigerian roots, suffers ‘racist abuse

https://www.thecable.ng/everton-player- ... cist-abuse
This is after he was punched in the face in a pub. What is it about people attacking celebrities.

McKenzie is as Brexit as they come. He has form.

can04

Post by can04 »

This on the eve of the anniversary of Hillsborough. From the man who was editor at the time of the infamous newspaper. Yes, Mackenzie has form here.

Ross Barkley: Sun suspends Kelvin MacKenzie over Liverpool article

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/39603942

McKenzie actually said this? :shock: :shock:
Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

:???: .....can someone explain to me what this man said was racist?
this is another example of the PC liberal clap trap nonsense....
Ross is WHITE and Kelvin MacKenzie is WHITE
one calls the other a gorilla.......what's the problem?
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke
Akure4Life

Post by Akure4Life »

Gooner1 wrote::???: .....can someone explain to me what this man said was racist?
Are you for real? :ohmy:
Akure4Life

Ojota is my hood.

Gooner1 wrote::???: .....can someone explain to me what this man said was racist?
Oh boy :? :shock:

Have to agree with you on this one. The Sun are a useless newspaper, however one trying to make this article about Barkley's race is beyond reaching imho. The writer clearly has an agenda, but I don't detect anything racist from his piece or anything race related.
Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

Akure4Life wrote:
Yes I am for real......
If I call a fellow black person a yellow bellied coward and his grandfather was Chinese, but he looks 100% black......by your definition I am a racist :???:
Ross Barkley is a white man and another white man is insulting him, this does not warrant an arrest.....total BS
Kelvin has an agenda and it is a long running feud with the city Liverpool and the Sun newspaper based on the history behind Hillsborough
at most it's bigotry......let's keep black people out of this
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

i'm with G1 on this.

however, this 'suspension' get as e be.

He could be back any day now

Gooner1 wrote:
Akure4Life wrote:
Yes I am for real......
If I call a fellow black person a yellow bellied coward and his grandfather was Chinese, but he looks 100% black......by your definition I am a racist :???:
Ross Barkley is a white man and another white man is insulting him, this does not warrant an arrest.....total BS
Kelvin has an agenda and it is a long running feud with the city Liverpool and the Sun newspaper based on the history behind Hillsborough
at most it's bigotry......let's keep black people out of this
You're wrong on every level. For someone who has been with the newspaper for decades, he would have been familiar with Barkley's background. In any case how many other whites does he call gorilla?
He then went on to rubbish the people of Liverpool. This is a person who uses his medium for axe grinding. Freedom of speech is not free and those who called him out operate on a different morale scale than you're used to. It's an extraordinary attack on someone who was a victim of assault. The fact that we are talking about the victim and not the perpetrator shows what is important to this journalist

tfco wrote:i'm with G1 on this.

But you, G1 and Sunset see Ross a WHITE MAN, but perhaps, some white people don't see him as such?

Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

But you, G1 and Sunset see Ross a WHITE MAN, but perhaps, some white people don't see him as such?
Chief O, the first time you saw Ross Barkley, you saw a black man, abi?
come on son..... the man is as white as apple pie, I'm sorry but I don't subscribe to the one drop rule at all. Ross Barkley is as black as Rachel Dolezal.

The Sun writer is a mischievous so & so, that is a given.... he is insulting his grandfather indirectly like oyibos usually do.....but don't think for one minute Ross cares about that at all
Liberals have high jacked this spat and making a mountain out of a molehill....

Gooner1 wrote:

Chief O, the first time you saw Ross Barkley, you saw a black man, abi?
come on son..... the man is as white as apple pie, I'm sorry but I don't subscribe to the one drop rule at all. Ross Barkley is as black as Rachel Dolezal.

The Sun writer is a mischievous so & so, that is a given.... he is insulting his grandfather indirectly like oyibos usually do.....but don't think for one minute Ross cares about that at all
Liberals have high jacked this spat and making a mountain out of a molehill....
I say he knew exactly what he was doing and meant it as a racist abuse. Ross Barkley maybe white to you but perhaps some White people can spot his distant Black roots; I know I certainly did. Nevertheless, we all know what it means when a White man calls a Black-man (no matter how white looking he is) Monkey. Aragones knew what he was doing, Blokin knew what he was doing even Etoo knew what he was doing.