Footballer jailed 5 years for Rape

toyin133
Footballer jailed 5 years for Rape

Post by toyin133 »

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2012 ... uilty-rape
Sheffield United striker Ched Evans found guilty of rape

• 23-year-old jailed for five years for raping a teenager
• Port Vale defender Clayton McDonald found not guilty

guardian.co.uk, Friday 20 April 2012 15.38 BST
Ched Evans of Sheffield United, who has been found guilty of rape

The Sheffield United and Wales striker Ched Evans was on Friday jailed for five years for raping a teenager who was "too drunk to consent" to sex as two of his friends watched and tried to film it on a mobile phone.

Evans, 23, was found guilty of raping the then 19-year-old at a hotel following a night out in Rhyl, north Wales, last May.

His co-defendant, the Port Vale defender Clayton McDonald, was found not guilty of the same charge.

Court proceedings were disrupted after McDonald was acquitted, prompting a brief adjournment.

The court heard that both men admitted they had sex with the woman, who cannot be named for legal reasons, but the prosecution said she was too drunk to consent to sexual intercourse.

In her evidence to police, the woman said she has no memory of the incident and believes her drink may have been spiked.

The jury first returned a not-guilty verdict on McDonald after four hours and 52 minutes of deliberations.

McDonald, of Marys Gate, Crewe, Cheshire, looked elated as the verdict was read out. His family and friends in the public gallery reacted by shouting "Yes, yes". One man left the courtroom and could be heard screaming.

Judge Merfyn Hughes QC then rose and everyone in the public gallery was ordered to leave the court.

McDonald remained in the dock with Evans, 23, of Ashtree Gardens, Millhouse Green, Penistone, South Yorkshire, who held his head in his hands and cried hysterically.

McDonald hugged Evans and the two footballers, who first met when they were both at the Manchester City youth academy, banged heads together.

When the judge returned to the court, the jury foreman gave the guilty verdict against Evans.

The Sheffield United centre forward threw the headphones he was using to follow the trial on the floor and then looked shocked.

Judge Hughes told McDonald he was free to leave the dock and after the footballer exited the court, shouts of "No, no" could be heard.

In a statement released via Sheffield United's website, Evans's lawyers said: "Ched Evans is shocked and extremely disappointed with the decision reached today by the jury at Caernarfon Crown Court to convict him of the charge brought against him.

"Mr Evans firmly maintains his innocence in this matter and is being advised regarding an appeal of the decision."

Sheffield United said the club recognised "the seriousness of these events and as such wishes to respond in a responsible way when it has taken sufficient time to consider the matter fully".
"I hear Glenn Hoddle has found God. That must have been one hell of a pass." Jasper Carrott
"Mind you, football is not really about winning, or goals, or saves or supporters. It's about glory. It's about doing things in style, doing them with a flourish. It's
about going out to beat the other lot, not waiting for them to die of boredom."
Danny Blanchflower
toyin133
Re: Footballer jailed 5 years for Rape

Post by toyin133 »

The court heard that both men admitted they had sex with the woman, who cannot be named for legal reasons, but the prosecution said she was too drunk to consent to sexual intercourse.

In her evidence to police, the woman said she has no memory of the incident and believes her drink may have been spiked.
Am I completely out of touch or since when has it become okay for someone to get tanked up, wake up naked next to someone else and then cry rape because she was too drunk to remember what she had done the previous night
"I hear Glenn Hoddle has found God. That must have been one hell of a pass." Jasper Carrott
"Mind you, football is not really about winning, or goals, or saves or supporters. It's about glory. It's about doing things in style, doing them with a flourish. It's
Danny Blanchflower
heavyd

Post by heavyd »

If they both had sex with the girl how was one man found guilty and the other not??
YNWA
toyin133

Post by toyin133 »

heavyd wrote:If they both had sex with the girl how was one man found guilty and the other not??
The case get as im be :?
Danny Blanchflower

Have heard of many men who bit the forbidden fruit that is the one night stand watered with sin's nectar and ate porridge for many Christmas' thereafter. Sex is more dangerous today than ever. If the girl was too drunk to remember, then comes the question of consent and if that question is to be asked, rest assured, someone will be sentenced.

toyin133 wrote:
heavyd wrote:If they both had sex with the girl how was one man found guilty and the other not??
..junk journo (not exclusive to naija) or a very poor writing.
papilo

Post by papilo »

toyin133 wrote:
The case really get as e be!
yes o

No mention of what the footballers' defence were. It's losers that sleep with a woman that's too drunk beyond measure and indeed, her drink may have been spiked. She may have left with them thinking they were trying to help her. There's a police poster here on trains and buses that says "just because you help her doesn't mean you get to help yourself" and the picture is of a woman being helped in a car outside the club. The account in the article leaves too many holes. Non consensual sex is dangerous, guys beware! Some chics are crazy, they'll call the cops on you.

Vincent.

Post by Vincent. »

felarey wrote:No mention of what the footballers' defence were. It's losers that sleep with a woman that's too drunk beyond measure and indeed, her drink may have been spiked. She may have left with them thinking they were trying to help her. There's a police poster here on trains and buses that says "just because you help her doesn't mean you get to help yourself" and the picture is of a woman being helped in a car outside the club. The account in the article leaves too many holes. Non consensual sex is dangerous, guys beware! Some chics are crazy, they'll call the cops on you.
What if both of them were drunk? who is raping who? What if she actually gave consent but could not remember? A lot of people do not remember what they do in a state of sexual intoxication... Apparently, tue only solution is to have a video camera in your bedroom
Eto’o, Ronaldinho, Deco, and Messi are like good caviar, tender pine-nuts, chemical-free sea salt, and the purest of virgin olive oils, said one of the world's greatest chefs, Ferran Adria of El Bulli restaurant, Before Barca went on to wallop Madrid 3-0 at the Bernabeu.

“I believe the target of anything in life should be to do it so well that it becomes an art. Football is like that. When I watch Barcelona, it is art” — Arsène Wenger, August 2009

Post by Super Eagle »

This is one of the ways that radical feminism is destroying the world. C'mon now, if the gurl is "too drunk to consent to sex", then how come that the guy was not considered too drunk to know what he was doing? :boo:
Note to: Emir Kongi, big porkey, and smartbrother: Don't talk unless you can improve the silence. (c)
www.awooze.com

#BringBackOurGirls
Hashtag #KeshiDonHammer
toyin133

Post by toyin133 »

Vincent. wrote:
felarey wrote:No mention of what the footballers' defence were. It's losers that sleep with a woman that's too drunk beyond measure and indeed, her drink may have been spiked. She may have left with them thinking they were trying to help her. There's a police poster here on trains and buses that says "just because you help her doesn't mean you get to help yourself" and the picture is of a woman being helped in a car outside the club. The account in the article leaves too many holes. Non consensual sex is dangerous, guys beware! Some chics are crazy, they'll call the cops on you.
What if both of them were drunk? who is raping who? What if she actually gave consent but could not remember? A lot of people do not remember what they do in a state of sexual intoxication... Apparently, tue only solution is to have a video camera in your bedroom
Thank you, the prosecution case seemed to rest on the premise that if she couldn't remember what happened then she must have been too drunk to consent to sex which imho sets a dangerous precedent.
Danny Blanchflower

Vincent. wrote:
Two guys pick up a drunk chic and gangbang her while their friends tried to record it on mobile phones. Goodluck trying to prove innocence to that even if she consented. Did she consent to the videos too?

mke1010

Post by mke1010 »

felarey wrote:
Vincent. wrote:
Two guys pick up a drunk chic and gangbang her while their friends tried to record it on mobile phones. Goodluck trying to prove innocence to that even if she consented. Did she consent to the videos too?
My curiousity without knowing the facts of the case is how one alleged rapist is convicted and the other not? Anyone know the reasoning?
To conquer one's self is the most noble victory; to be vanquished by one's own nature is the worst and most ignoble defeat. (Plato)

The issue is, that the girl left, albeit in a state of stupor, with an individual heading for a hotel. One can thus assume there was a degree of 'consent' shared between the two. The third person, Chez Evans, had sex with the girl and left himself open to be penalised. There is no evidence to the same effect in his defence.
Last edited by Coach on Mon Apr 23, 2012 7:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Dayum I used to warn some Naija guys who used to play those games to beware of some crazy wench who could end all usefulness for your life when a charge like this gets attached to you

:D :D :D :D :D
kone

Post by kone »

These drunk case i no believe why we never hear of a case where a straight man sleeps with another man when he was drunk. Twwww abeg bobo no wetin ein dey do

anikulapo wrote:Dayum I used to warn some Naija guys who used to play those games to beware of some crazy wench who could end all usefulness for your life when a charge like this gets attached to you
...only if ur rich or important this girl know what she want. Get drunk, sleep with guys then cry foul. It has worked before and will always work with the right lawyer.

felarey wrote:
Vincent. wrote:
You've not read the story properly before commenting. She was not with the guys in a bar. One of the guys Clayton McDonald was on his way back way to his hotel room, after a night out, and picked her up outside a food joint.

She got into a taxi with him and went to his hotel room. Why would she follow a single guy that late at night to his hotel room? When they got there according to McDonald she consented to sex and even initiated it. Where things began to go wrong IMO is when he then called his friend Ched Evans to say he's got a "bird" and Evans then joined them at the hotel and had sex with her too while two other guys that came with him were outside trying to film it through a window. If it wasn't for the introduction of these new guys I doubt she was have cried rape after all she followed the first guy voluntarily to his hotel room knowing why they were going there.

kone wrote:These drunk case i no believe why we never hear of a case where a straight man sleeps with another man when he was drunk. Twwww abeg bobo no wetin ein dey do
interesting point.

Orion wrote:
felarey wrote:
Vincent. wrote:
You've not read the story properly before commenting. She was not with the guys in a bar. One of the guys Clayton McDonald was on his way back way to his hotel room, after a night out, and picked her up outside a food joint.

She got into a taxi with him and went to his hotel room. Why would she follow a single guy that late at night to his hotel room? When they got there according to McDonald she consented to sex and even initiated it. Where things began to go wrong IMO is when he then called his friend Ched Evans to say he's got a "bird" and Evans then joined them at the hotel and had sex with her too while two other guys that came with him were outside trying to film it through a window. If it wasn't for the introduction of these new guys I doubt she was have cried rape after all she followed the first guy voluntarily to his hotel room knowing why they were going there.
I see, so it was not that she was too drunk to consent then?

Orion wrote:
felarey wrote:
Vincent. wrote:

This detail is not in the article. But from your account, it still appears there's proven grounds for rape or aiding the act. The girl tends to get the benefit of the doubt in cases like this. Without the full details it's hard to adequately judge. In the heat of the moment, a lot of guys lose their heads especially if she's sexy but it's best to avoid such situations. There are some crazy frauds out there that do this to land guys in trouble.

Post by 404 »

heavyd wrote:
If they both had sex with the girl how was one man found guilty and the other not??

The case get as im be! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: