The U.J Esuene Stadium In Calabar Collapses After Heavy Rain

achuzia-the-air-raid
The U.J Esuene Stadium In Calabar Collapses After Heavy Rain

Post by achuzia-the-air-raid »

Confusion As Stadium Collapses After Heavy Rainfall In Calabar.

Friday, April 14, 2017

The U.J Esuene stadium in Calabar, Cross River state collapsed after torrential rain today Friday. Pictures released by the Director General of Sport Commission, Orok Duke, shows that the whole structure built to house at least 50 thousand people has only 8mm rods in the pillars and deckings platforms.

The structure which collapsed this afternoon, happened at a time when the children competition taking place in the stadium was suspended to observe the Easter Holiday. According to Orok Duke, more than 2000 children would have been crushed to death.

The indoor sport hall which was under construction for over two years now was awarded to Ujuola Giwa Amu ..a contractor who allegedly absconded billions of Naira.

http://www.nationalhelm.net/2017/04/uj- ... after.html
Then they said to one another, “We are truly guilty concerning our brother, for we saw the anguish of his soul when he pleaded with us, and we would not hear; therefore this distress has come upon us.” Genesis 42:21

“A doubtful friend is worse than a certain enemy. Let a man be one thing or the other, and we then know how to meet him” (Aesop, 620–564 BC).
Re: The U.J Esuene Stadium In Calabar Collapses After Heavy

We thank the Almighty that it wasn't in use when it happened. This stadium doesn't even look like it was ever completed. It looks worse than some building sites.

This doesn't look like the football field. Looks more like the areas close to where the camp is.

nemi2002 wrote:This doesn't look like the football field. Looks more like the areas close to where the camp is.
Sir I see no field just a collapsed concrete structure,if not for the rain children would have died and to that was amongst Nigerias top stadia even hosted the Super Eagles a few years back :scared:
Why not pay for quality instead of pocketing change and building death traps ?
Last edited by Eaglezbeak on Sat Apr 15, 2017 10:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

nemi2002 wrote:This doesn't look like the football field. Looks more like the areas close to where the camp is.
Sir I see no field just a collapsed concrete structure,if not for the rain children would have died and to that was amongst Nigerias top stadia even hosted the Super Eagles a few years back :scared:
Why not pay for quality instead of building pocketing change and buildings death traps ?
You think people care about li es when there's money to be made? They are even sacrificing people for money talk less of substandard structures.

You'll probably find that money paid was even in excess of what was required for a quality construction. But everybody go chop their own, leaving chicken change to construct a death trap with substandard materials and an unapproved design.
Heads must roll on this one, like the Lekki building collapse last year.
Some Nigerians are just evil.

If I'm not mistaken the stadium once hosted SE match. God helps us from all these substandard constructions that are obviously death traps.
folem

Post by folem »

It is the indoor hall.
Abbey

Post by Abbey »

Where's Obong to 'ellucidate'? :wink:
A Person convinced against his will is of the same opinion still.

bully12 wrote:If I'm not mistaken the stadium once hosted SE match. God helps us from all these substandard constructions that are obviously death traps.
You're right. This stadium hosted all our home games for the 2013 AFCON and 2014 World Cup qualifiers. God has been merciful.

This stadium has been in existence for decades, it has survived many rainy seasons,it has survived many storms...the question what manner of maintenance is being carried out. I can wager a bet, over the years there would have appeared structiral degredation and faults which were ignored, tbis kind of collapse is what you get when a structure has been neglected for far too long.

folem

Post by folem »

oloye wrote:This stadium has been in existence for decades, it has survived many rainy seasons,it has survived many storms...the question what manner of maintenance is being carried out. I can wager a bet, over the years there would have appeared structiral degredation and faults which were ignored, tbis kind of collapse is what you get when a structure has been neglected for far too long.
It is the indoor sport hall being constructed for National Sports Festival.

https://www.combatnewswatch.com/nationa ... -projects/

http://punchng.com/contractors-flee-as- ... in-criver/

folem wrote:
oloye wrote:This stadium has been in existence for decades, it has survived many rainy seasons,it has survived many storms...the question what manner of maintenance is being carried out. I can wager a bet, over the years there would have appeared structiral degredation and faults which were ignored, tbis kind of collapse is what you get when a structure has been neglected for far too long.

[img]https://naijacombatcorner.files.wordpre ... resize=629%*****[/img]

There goes the national sports festival...thank God it happened now and not when packed full of people.

folem

Post by folem »

folem wrote:

There goes the national sports festival...thank God it happened now and not when packed full of people.
The construction among other reasons is exactly what delayed the NSF since 2014.

https://dailynigerian.com/sports/confli ... -festival/

folem wrote:

Your picture is misleading, the photo and link are of two different arenas

The photo belongs here http://time.com/2930699/world-cup-brazil-spending/
This is in Brazil.
folem

Post by folem »

DIMKA76 wrote:
folem wrote:

This is in Brazil.
That's the image from the link, not mine. The issue remains about the indoor sports hall.

Nigerians could be evil but 8mm rods in the columns (Pillars) and suspended floor (deckings) makes absolutely no sense. The writer needs to get his facts correct. Haba! Ki lo de? 8mm is meant as links in columns and beams in closer to normal reinforced concrete works. In a job with high propensity for heavy live load like a stadium, 8mm may not even be found in the arrangement.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

folem wrote:

Jeezos. :shock:
And who is constructing?

DIMKA76 wrote:
folem wrote:

This is in Brazil.
Why would anyone do that :???:
papilo

Post by papilo »

Thank JESUS there was no game on at the time.
yes o

I know Chief Orok 0tu Duke, the Cross River Sports Chairman. We were together at Hope Waddell Insitution and the University of Calabar. A Senior Prefect and Student Union Leader, he was always an activist and leader of men. He has a track record of achieving results, and was only recently the Deputy Speaker of the Cross River House of Assembly. A man of integrity that brooks no silliness. If there is anyone Ozolua Giwa-Amu doesn't want to mess with, its Orok Duke. Let's wait and see how this plays out. Just thankful no lives were lost in this very avoidable fraudulent nonsense.