KWESHON BREWING AMONGST MY WHATSAPP FRIENDS AGAIN...

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 4:32 pm
by paj
..so the argument of who was better between Pele and Messi spilled into the argument of sport science enhancing today's athletes so it's an unfair comparison(in my opinion)....so I asked if without the help of science if current athletes/footballers are truly superior to those in the past? I asked specifically if Odegbami in his prime would crack the current SE and someone said VM go bench am...true? or false? :shock:

Re: KWESHON BREWING AMONGST MY WHATSAPP FRIENDS AGAIN...

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 5:04 pm
by anointed
Show me your WhatsApp friend and I will tell you what apeteshi you have been taking

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 5:32 pm
by niyi
Actually a pretty good question but I don't have an answer.

Messi in particular, gets a lot of flak because of his use of HGH in his mid teens... that's probably still helping now in some sense. The supplements and healthcare are a lot better for sure. Then you get into apparel - minor things like boots and socks matter (https://www.si.com/planet-futbol/2015/1 ... lank-usmnt#)... heck even a nice breathable jersey is an advantage over the 100% cotton shirts Pele probably wore in the 60s. These questions are always difficult to answer... I wonder if there's a way to truly test this in a scientific manner though.

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 6:04 pm
by Comrade Machel
Heading the ball was a suicidal proposition in the 1960s those leather balls were as hard and as heavy a rock. Never mind shooting from distance. I doubt they even took supplements back then they just got on with it. The tackles strikers had to deal with were criminal

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 6:42 pm
by pajimoh
paj wrote:..so the argument of who was better between Pele and Messi spilled into the argument of sport science enhancing today's athletes so it's an unfair comparison(in my opinion)....so I asked if without the help of science if current athletes/footballers are truly superior to those in the past? I asked specifically if Odegbami in his prime would crack the current SE and someone said VM go bench am...true? or false? :shock:
When you have brainless, drug crazed dummies as friends, all you get are questions and not solutions.

:tic:

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 8:04 pm
by Mr Shows
The game as a whole has evolved, even the viewing technology (watching skillful players do their thing in black and white, doesn't quite compare to watching in HD today), so the very basis of any comparison is flawed.

I guess to an extent, it's only those who were actually privileged to have watched Pele in his prime and are still around to see Messi strut his stuff today that can truly judge.

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 8:27 pm
by Skylolo
Growth hormones and the likes, does that improve the opposition Messi is facing too?

At the end of the day you play against the people in your generation. Pele may have the numbers and even trophies sef depending on which ones people value. I don't have an issue with people who think he is the greatest...

BUT I have not seen anybody else score the sheer amount of amazing goals, play 7,11,10 and 9 with such ease and create + score with the same ease and efficiency as Messi. We should enjoy this guy for as long as it lasts....

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 8:29 pm
by Obong
Pele was, in my view, better. Messi is still a one-foited wonder that is probably not better than another left footed wonder, Maradona. As for Odegbami not cracking the Super Eagles line-up of today, P-L-E-A-S-E! Odegbami, Muda, Chukwu, Keshi, Yekini, Etim Esin, Okocha and Kanu will walk into any Super Eagles line-up of any generation.

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 8:33 pm
by Skylolo
Mr Shows wrote:The game as a whole has evolved, even the viewing technology (watching skillful players do their thing in black and white, doesn't quite compare to watching in HD today), so the very basis of any comparison is flawed.

I guess to an extent, it's only those who were actually privileged to have watched Pele in his prime and are still around to see Messi strut his stuff today that can truly judge.
I never thought of this before..... :rotf: :rotf:

Excellent post..thanks!

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 8:36 pm
by paj
paj wrote:..so the argument of who was better between Pele and Messi spilled into the argument of sport science enhancing today's athletes so it's an unfair comparison(in my opinion)....so I asked if without the help of science if current athletes/footballers are truly superior to those in the past? I asked specifically if Odegbami in his prime would crack the current SE and someone said VM go bench am...true? or false? :shock:
When you have brainless, drug crazed dummies as friends, all you get are questions and not solutions.

:tic:
damn....he's still alive... :evil: when he turned into a cockroach and tried to eavesdrop in our meeting I thought my Timberland got him good.. :twisted: ...need to buy Bruno Maglis now :mad:

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 8:38 pm
by paj
Samora Machel wrote:Heading the ball was a suicidal proposition in the 1960s those leather balls were as hard and as heavy a rock. Never mind shooting from distance. I doubt they even took supplements back then they just got on with it. The tackles strikers had to deal with were criminal
...ahaa!!!! That explains why PaJimoh's IQ dropped to 8 right after he went up for a corner kick! :blink:

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 8:40 pm
by paj
Besides football, someone also asked about any other sport...and one guy mentioned Jesse Owens. He ran a 10:30 100M...however the shoes and turn were different..and in the movie I watched athletes drank beer back then even during competition

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 8:46 pm
by YemiBrazil
All I know is that the mere sight of Christian Chukwu & co with their yam tuber legs would have made Victor Moses opt for a better career as a reggae singer. Tufiakwa :curse:

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 10:24 pm
by bushboy
It works both ways. The advance in science has also made defenders bigger, stronger, faster. They are not the slow, out of shape men that Pele faced in his day.
I won't even address the Odegbami issue. I personally have never rated him highly. He was Pius Ikedia before Pius Ikedia.

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 10:58 pm
by Comrade Machel
bushboy wrote:It works both ways. The advance in science has also made defenders bigger, stronger, faster. They are not the slow, out of shape men that Pele faced in his day.
I won't even address the Odegbami issue. I personally have never rated him highly. He was Pius Ikedia before Pius Ikedia.
But defenders today can't do a quarter of what defenders Peles era defenders got away with. In 1950s there were no subs in football you just took it painfully

Posted: Sat Apr 22, 2017 9:58 pm
by Lolly
bushboy wrote:It works both ways. The advance in science has also made defenders bigger, stronger, faster. They are not the slow, out of shape men that Pele faced in his day.
This must be the biggest joke on CE. :lol: :lol: :lol:

No right-sided midfielder/attacker in Nigeria's history is anywhere near Odegbami's quality, and that includes Finidi.

Posted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 2:51 am
by paj
I used to think your posts had an iota of logic until you posted this. You obviously must have watched through heavy Egusi/Palm oil stains via your neighbor's curtain because the player you just berated would dust anyone on that wing in any SE generation: Fact, not feelings
Pa