Muntari booked for confronting racists

..and then walks off the pitch

Re: Muntari booked for confronting racists

He's way too emotional. :sneaky: But he did the right thing
Kuku Ngbendu Wa Za Banga

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: for Muntari. We need a big player like Anichebe to bodyslam one of these rats to the ground and send a public message. Wouldn't matter much to Anichebe anyway 'cos he is headed to the championship :taunt:

Ogolo wrote:He's way too emotional. :sneaky: But he did the right thing
:???: :???:

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
kofi86

Post by kofi86 »

Also he walked off the pitch after the booking, so that the team had to continue with 10 men (a few minutes left) :clap:
"If two grown men can't make a pervert happy for a few minutes in order to watch a film about zombies, then maybe we should all just move to Iran!"

I thought this Zongo boy retired from football!! to concentrate on his auto-workshop and family!!!

Scipio Africanus wrote::clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: for Muntari. We need a big player like Anichebe to bodyslam one of these rats to the ground and send a public message. Wouldn't matter much to Anichebe anyway 'cos he is headed to the championship :taunt:
Violence is never the way dude.

DIMKA76 wrote:
Scipio Africanus wrote::clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: for Muntari. We need a big player like Anichebe to bodyslam one of these rats to the ground and send a public message. Wouldn't matter much to Anichebe anyway 'cos he is headed to the championship :taunt:
Yeah, we should have confronted the Nazis and Boko Haram with peace and flowers.

Scipio Africanus wrote:
DIMKA76 wrote:
Yeah, we should have confronted the Nazis and Boko Haram with peace and flowers.

Scipio Africanus wrote:
DIMKA76 wrote:
That's not the point here. Did Muntari suffer physical violence? If he inflicts physical violence, he is simply exacerbating an already tense situation. Do you know anything about deescalating a potentially explosive situation? :roll: :roll: :roll:

I like the approach taken by French journalists today about this issue. I never knew that the person in charge of the anti-racism campaign at FIFA was a lady from Senegal. She ended the campaign last year by saying that it is no longer needed because FIFA met its objectives or eradicating racism in and around football...f...g joke of the highest order.

French journalists are encouraging white team mates to start walking off as well to support their non-white team mates being abused. As of the ref in that game he was properly cleaned up as he should have stopped the game.

:clap:

joplass wrote:I like the approach taken by French journalists today about this issue. I never knew that the person in charge of the anti-racism campaign at FIFA was a lady from Senegal. She ended the campaign last year by saying that it is no longer needed because FIFA met its objectives or eradicating racism in and around football...f...g joke of the highest order.

French journalists are encouraging white team mates to start walking off as well to support their non-white team mates being abused. As of the ref in that game he was properly cleaned up as he should have stopped the game.

Now we know why she got the job. Another French African doing the bidding of her masters.
I bet if she gets slapped, she will apologize for putting herself in the way of a moving hand.

Muntari banned for a game.
Sulley Ali Muntari has been suspended by the Disciplinary Commission for walking off during Cagliari-Pescara due to racist insults, but Inter and Lazio have suspended bans.

The incident caused huge controversy in Serie A and beyond, as the midfielder was booked by the referee for dissent.

The Ghana international then became angry and walked off the field, as the official refused to stop the game.

Not only has the Muntari yellow card not been rescinded, and therefore he is given a one-match ban, but also Cagliari have avoided any punishment for the racist chants.

This is because the officials at the ground wrote in their report that the racist chants were coming from only around 10 people, thus less than one per cent of the circa 2,000 in the stadium.

They also noted it was only audible because the rest of the supporters were staging a ‘silent protest’ and therefore the decision was made not to penalise Cagliari, not even with a warning or a fine.

However, racist chants were clearly heard from Inter fans aimed towards Napoli defender Kalidou Koulibaly “from 80 per cent of the 7,000 people” in the ‘secondo anello verde’ section of the stands.

That section of San Siro is therefore closed, albeit only as a suspended sentence for a period of a year.

The same punishment was aimed at Lazio and the Curva Nord, where again 80 per cent of the 7,000 people in that area were judged to be taking part in the racist chant towards Roma defender Antonio Rudiger.

Lazio’s Curva Nord was given a suspended sentence for one year, pending closure of that section.

Inter were also fined €10,000 for chants of ‘territorial discrimination’ against Napoli supporters and Genoa fined €15,000 for throwing fireworks.
http://www.football-italia.net/101991/m ... cism-probe

FIFA's approach has always been it is a wider issue to do with society. I think this is passing the buck and plain laziness. For one they can identify culprits and prosecute as is done in England. Italy on the other hand is a different kettle of fish.

f*cking unbelievable

the ref should be thankful, Sulley no waya am

Muntari has had the one-match ban he received overturned

Sulley Muntari: Pescara midfielder who protested at racist abuse has ban overturned

Sulley Muntari has had the one-match ban he received after protesting against racist abuse overturned, says world players' union Fifpro.

The Pescara midfielder left the field after being booked in Sunday's Serie A game at Cagliari for complaining of being abused.

Ex-Tottenham striker Garth Crooks called on players in Italy to strike in protest against Muntari's punishment.

Fifpro tweeted on Friday that Muntari's ban had been overturned.

Muntari was initially booked for dissent, then received a second yellow card for leaving the field.

Serie A, although agreeing that the abuse Muntari received was "deplorable", originally said that it could not impose sanctions on Cagliari because "approximately 10" supporters were involved - fewer than 1% of their supporters in the ground.

Anti-discrimination organisation Kick It Out said the ruling was "gutless", while Crooks said: "I'm calling on players in Italy, black and white, to make it absolutely clear to the federation in Italy that their position is unacceptable, and if the decision is not reversed then they withdraw their services until it is."

It now appears that 32-year-old former Portsmouth and Sunderland player Muntari will be available for Pescara's game at home to Crotone on Sunday.

http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/39826269
Re: Muntari has had the one-match ban he received overturned

So that essentially implies that the Ref failed to exercise balanced judgment in an issues so sensitive and capable of inciting or perpetuating violence and loss of life even beyond the confines of that stadium. Question is why isn't the ref penalized for acting in a way that violates common human decency.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Simply overturning the verdict is weak. Where are other penalties? What happened to the culprits? Fact is Italian FA is rubbish and weak.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

joplass wrote:I like the approach taken by French journalists today about this issue. I never knew that the person in charge of the anti-racism campaign at FIFA was a lady from Senegal. She ended the campaign last year by saying that it is no longer needed because FIFA met its objectives or eradicating racism in and around football...f...g joke of the highest order.

Joplass

The above is not accurate. FIFA disbanded the task force stating the group's work is completed. That doid not mean FIFA was done with anti- racism. In fact, till date FIFA has several programs on anti racism. However, I cannot speak to their effectiveness.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote:Simply overturning the verdict is weak. Where are other penalties? What happened to the culprits? Fact is Italian FA is rubbish and weak.
FIFA TO ACT ON ITALIAN FA REGARDING MUNTARI
http://africanfootball.com/news/707260/ ... ng-Muntari
by Phumzile Ngcatshe
Wednesday May 10, 2017. 14:00

Reports in Europe indicate that the Italian Football Association could be fined for their treatment of Ghana and Pescara midfielder Sulley Muntari.

The 32-year-old former Black Stars midfielder was sent off after leaving the field, claiming he was racially abused during a Serie A game a few weeks ago.

It was also reported that he was initially banned for one game, but this was overturned by the Italian Football Federation (FIGC).

"We have a committee in charge of monitoring this and the committee will take action," FIFA secretary general Fatma Samoura told BBC Sport.

"What matters is that the committee has to act and the sooner the better.

"I have my personal feelings on anybody that is treated like he has been treated, on the pitch and off the pitch but I'm not here for my personal matters.

“I'm here to make sure that FIFA takes, through the committee, the appropriate action for any single discriminatory action."

On the other hand, FIFA president Gianni Infantino said on Tuesday that he would speak to the ex-Portsmouth player, who insists that UEFA is not taking racism seriously.

"We will work together. Unfortunately idiots, there are always idiots everywhere but we have to fight them. We have to work on the people," said Infantino.

Although the global football authority was criticised for disbanding its anti-racism task force last September, the organisation defended this decision at the time.

FIFA said it had fulfilled the "mandate" for which it was set up in 2013 - which was to provide recommendations for a "strong programme" to tackle racism.