This is the best footballer since Pele

Godfather
Re: This is the best footballer since Pele

Post by Godfather »

Okocha10 wrote:
nemi2002 wrote:When they both retire, it will be clear that Messi was a better footballer
when they retire, people will remember this...

“Achebe was a writer in whose company the Prison walls fell down.” – Dr. Nelson Mandela.

Okocha10 wrote:
nemi2002 wrote:When they both retire, it will be clear that Messi was a better footballer

CRon anyday over Messi. Maybe I'm old school but there's something to be said about going to 3 finals and losing all 3 - what kind of greatest of all time is that? It's almost slander. Would that have happened to Pele, Maradonna, Ronaldinho, Zidane, Ronaldo De Lima? Hell no. It's not only about being pleasing on the eye, or dribbling; it's about leadership, balls, mentality, big game presence - in those aspects not only is Cron better than Messi, there are a whole slew of players (Neymar, Robben, Lahm among them) now who are more dependable and ballsy than Messi.

When their careers are done and dusted, and we see their whole body of work, I am in no doubt that most people will agree that Ronaldo was the better player. It's already happening now.

^The nonsensical nature of the debate is best defined in the 3 finals, 3 defeats argument. Does one man win a final? It could be argued, of those myriad Gods ascending to the heavens, who amongst them was armed with a team inferior to the Argentina of the world cup past? Zidane's France, Ronaldo's Brazil, Pele's is arguably one of the finest national teams ever. Perhaps Maradona's Albiceleste were lesser. #straightface. Team's win team sports. From the right of the mouth t'is argued, the brilliance at Barcelona was due to a brilliant team and not the individual, yet from the left side, the failure of Argentina is due to the individual and not the plethora of pitfalls at association, managerial and personnel level.

Nevertheless, not one of that has done, could do or will do it at the Hawthorns on a Thursday night, match rescheduled, congested fixture list...Gareth McCauley steaming in for the inswinger.
Rogermilla

Post by Rogermilla »

Coach wrote:^The nonsensical nature of the debate is best defined in the 3 finals, 3 defeats argument. Does one man win a final? It could be argued, of those myriad Gods ascending to the heavens, who amongst them was armed with a team inferior to the Argentina of the world cup past? Zidane's France, Ronaldo's Brazil, Pele's is arguably one of the finest national teams ever. Perhaps Maradona's Albiceleste were lesser. #straightface. Team's win team sports. From the right of the mouth t'is argued, the brilliance at Barcelona was due to a brilliant team and not the individual, yet from the left side, the failure of Argentina is due to the individual and not the plethora of pitfalls at association, managerial and personnel level.

Nevertheless, not one of that has done, could do or will do it at the Hawthorns on a Thursday night, match rescheduled, congested fixture list...Gareth McCauley steaming in for the inswinger.
Even though I didn't quite get your Shakespearan write up, but Messi too has had his share of brilliant footballers with Argentina in Aguero, Tevez, Mascherano, Di Maria, Higuain (yes Higuain) and others, but he did not deliver. You cannot compare Argentina's lineup to Chile, Portugal, yet still thrump Argentina. I am tired of all the excuses about Messi not having the support cast, meanwhile if you look at the team that Ronaldo had at his disposal against star studded teams like France, Germany and Italy and still won the Euros, there is no excuse here for Messi.
"History shows that this club has had very few strikers like him. I do not know if there has ever been anyone like him before. What I do know is that Barcelona should erect a statue for him. Samuel was a fundamental player here in recent years and was key to all of the titles that the team won."

Andres Iniesta, August 2009

coach talking rubbish about cast etc...

as of 2014, here are the cost of both teams..
https://www.thescore.com/news/511056
Argentina
Total Market Value: $654,482,640
Highest-Valued Player: Lionel Messi ($163,332,000)

Portugal
Total Market Value: $399,518,890
Highest-Valued Player: Cristiano Ronaldo ($136,110,000)

Messi should have won at least one tournament for his nation with the likes of quality supporting cast compared to CRon

i had to slip ours in here , Mikel is all but gold 8-)

Nigeria
Total Market Value: $138,455,956
Highest-Valued Player: John Obi Mikel ($27,222,000)

Bigpokey24 wrote:coach talking rubbish about cast etc...

Argentina

Portugal

Messi should have won at least one tournament for his nation with the likes of quality supporting cast compared to CRon

Nigeria
Has Messi retired?

nemi2002 wrote:
Bigpokey24 wrote:coach talking rubbish about cast etc...

Argentina

Portugal

Nigeria
Has Messi retired?
has Cron retired?

i love reading how the remaining 10 players in Argentina NT are scrubs and The Swede is carrying them.

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :clap: :clap: :clap: Messi gotta make it happen for Argentina when he's not running along side the best players in the world.

Coach wrote:^The nonsensical nature of the debate is best defined in the 3 finals, 3 defeats argument. Does one man win a final? It could be argued, of those myriad Gods ascending to the heavens, who amongst them was armed with a team inferior to the Argentina of the world cup past? Zidane's France, Ronaldo's Brazil, Pele's is arguably one of the finest national teams ever. Perhaps Maradona's Albiceleste were lesser. #straightface. Team's win team sports. From the right of the mouth t'is argued, the brilliance at Barcelona was due to a brilliant team and not the individual, yet from the left side, the failure of Argentina is due to the individual and not the plethora of pitfalls at association, managerial and personnel level.

Don't forget CRon took Carrick and Fletcher to 3 CL finals. Messi is great but even greater when he's playing with the greatest players in the world on his side.

Rogermilla wrote:

Even though I didn't quite get your Shakespearan write up, but Messi too has had his share of brilliant footballers with Argentina in Aguero, Tevez, Mascherano, Di Maria, Higuain (yes Higuain) and others, but he did not deliver. You cannot compare Argentina's lineup to Chile, Portugal, yet still thrump Argentina. I am tired of all the excuses about Messi not having the support cast, meanwhile if you look at the team that Ronaldo had at his disposal against star studded teams like France, Germany and Italy and still won the Euros, there is no excuse here for Messi.
Add to that, Messi hasn't always been the best player for Argentina in all those competitions.

Skylolo wrote:It seems we have to do this everytime Ronaldo has a great game / season, at the end of the day they have shared the same pitch enough times in La Liga....we all know who the best is.

And even on numbers / volume where Ronaldo prides himself he cannot touch Messi.

OVERALL

Name Games Goals Assists Ratio

Messi***581*****505*****230****1.265*

Ronaldo*683*****517*****188****1.032*

So not only does Messi have more goals + Assists overall with 102 less appearances, for all the talk of left foot, right foot and head and how Ronaldo is more complete...Messi is the more effective attacking player. The numbers show what we can see with our eyes during games that Messi is overall the more creative player and is more involved in the build up to goals because for every 2.5 goals he has scored he has assisted 1. While Ronaldo for every 3.6 goals assists 1. Pretty sure the numbers will tell the full story of just how much better Messi is if statistics on chances created over their careers is ever produced....

Just to be clear if Messi continues at this rate by the time he will have played 683 career games like Ronaldo has played he will have blasted in close to 600 goals and will likely be approaching 300 assists.

Ronaldo is amazing but Messi is the best of this Era.
If to say BigPokey no be my friend, I for kpom this your post well-well. :D

Skylolo wrote:It seems we have to do this everytime Ronaldo has a great game / season, at the end of the day they have shared the same pitch enough times in La Liga....we all know who the best is.

And even on numbers / volume where Ronaldo prides himself he cannot touch Messi.

OVERALL

So not only does Messi have more goals + Assists overall with 102 less appearances, for all the talk of left foot, right foot and head and how Ronaldo is more complete...Messi is the more effective attacking player. The numbers show what we can see with our eyes during games that Messi is overall the more creative player and is more involved in the build up to goals because for every 2.5 goals he has scored he has assisted 1. While Ronaldo for every 3.6 goals assists 1. Pretty sure the numbers will tell the full story of just how much better Messi is if statistics on chances created over their careers is ever produced....

Just to be clear if Messi continues at this rate by the time he will have played 683 career games like Ronaldo has played he will have blasted in close to 600 goals and will likely be approaching 300 assists.

Flawed argument that emphasizes Messi is nothing without Barca or his mates at Barca. The closest even grounds are La Liga and national team.

Ronaldo has 280 goals in 262 games in La Liga
Messi has 345 goals in 379 games in La Liga

One could wonder how many Ronny will have by the time he's played 65 more games in La Liga. This stat suggests CRon is the more effective attacking player.

For national team:

Ronaldo has 71 goals in 138 games
Messi has 58 goals in 117.

Again, the ratios suggest Ronnie is the more effective attacking player. You might want to also add these records:

Most hat-tricks in La Liga history: 32
Most goals scored from penalty kicks in La Liga history: 57
Fastest La Liga player to score 150 league goals (140 games)
Fastest La Liga player to score 200 league goals (178 games)
Fastest player to reach 300 official club goals
Most goals scored in Madrid Derby matches: 18
Most consecutive Clásico matches scored in: 6 matches
Best scoring start in a Spanish league season: 15 goals in eight rounds
Fastest player to reach 20 league goals in one season: 12 games (missed one game due to injury)
Only player to reach 30 goals in six consecutive La Liga seasons
Most teams scored against in a season (2012–13): 19 (shared with Ronaldo and Lionel Messi)
Most La Liga hat-tricks in a season: 8 hat-tricks (shared with Lionel Messi)
Most hat-tricks scored in all competitions: 36

Real Madrid
Real Madrid all-time top goalscorer: 400 goals
Top goalscorer in La Liga: 279 goals
Fastest player to reach 50 league goals
Fastest player to reach 100 league goals
Fastest player to reach 200 official goals
Fastest player to reach 250 official goals
Most goals scored in seven consecutive league matches: 15 goals
First player to score in eight consecutive matchdays
Most hat-tricks in Real Madrid's history: 3
Real Madrid Record Goalscorer in UEFA Champions League: 86 goals
Real Madrid Record Goalscorer in European Competitions: 90 goals*

Since Pele? You mean since Ronaldinho...

An argument not worth having. Ronnie Corbett is, without doubt, a phenomenon, but the court is somewhat marsupial whenever said debate is brought to the courthouse. Boing, Boing!
Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

felarey wrote:

OVERALL

Flawed argument that emphasizes Messi is nothing without Barca or his mates at Barca. The closest even grounds are La Liga and national team.

One could wonder how many Ronny will have by the time he's played 65 more games in La Liga. This stat suggests CRon is the more effective attacking player.

For national team:

Again, the ratios suggest Ronnie is the more effective attacking player. You might want to also add these records:
That goals are the only quantity you quote to judge attacking players might help to understand why you are unable to comprehend why Messi is better :idea: Maybe it is a futile effort with some of you tbh, maybe you are just not capable of getting it! :rotf:

At International level I will complete the numbers for you..

Ronaldo 139***71***31*****0.73
Messi 115***58***42***** 0.87

All the awards you quoted that Ronaldo achieved in La Liga don't mean a damn thing compared to Messi....Ronaldo has been in that league since 2009/10 that is 8 full seasons. In that time Messi has been voted best player in La Liga 5 times vs. Ronaldo once! Messi has been voted best forward in La Liga 6 times vs. Ronaldo once! That should tell you all you need to know that there is a lot more to the game than numbers as well....

There is no contest.
To God be the glory

Skylolo wrote:
felarey wrote:

OVERALL

For national team:

That goals are the only quantity you quote to judge attacking players might help to understand why you are unable to comprehend why Messi is better :idea: Maybe it is a futile effort with some of you tbh, maybe you are just not capable of getting it! :rotf:

All the awards you quoted that Ronaldo achieved in La Liga don't mean a damn thing compared to Messi....Ronaldo has been in that league since 2009/10 that is 8 full seasons. In that time Messi has been voted best player in La Liga 5 times vs. Ronaldo once! Messi has been voted best forward in La Liga 6 times vs. Ronaldo once! That should tell you all you need to know that there is a lot more to the game than numbers as well....

There is no contest.
Didn't know there's a better attacking stat than goals. The total end product of goals and assists suggest Ronaldo has outdone Messi. There's a lot more to the game than numbers but I'm sure if you asked any manager what metric they'd rather take, I'm sure it'll be the numbers than a popularity vote taken from the captain and vice captain of each club in La Liga. We all know Ronaldo can't beat me when it comes to likeability. Rather go with facts than feelings.

Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

felarey wrote:
Skylolo wrote:
felarey wrote:

OVERALL

For national team:

There is no contest.
Didn't know there's a better attacking stat than goals. The total end product of goals and assists suggest Ronaldo has outdone Messi. There's a lot more to the game than numbers but I'm sure if you asked any manager what metric they'd rather take, I'm sure it'll be the numbers than a popularity vote taken from the captain and vice captain of each club in La Liga. We all know Ronaldo can't beat me when it comes to likeability. Rather go with facts than feelings.
Okay I get your drift now, Ronaldo has scored more goals so he is better, okay..... :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

It is such a shame people in La Liga: Captains, Vice captains and even Statistical analysis :rotf: sees the game a different way

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/La_Liga_Awards
La Liga's best coach and player in each position—goalkeeper, defender, midfielder, and forward—are chosen based on a voting by the captain and vice-captains of each club, while the best player overall is determined via statistical analysis.

We are done here. :D
To God be the glory

Skylolo wrote:
felarey wrote:
Skylolo wrote:
felarey wrote:

OVERALL

For national team:

There is no contest.
Okay I get your drift now, Ronaldo has scored more goals so he is better, okay..... :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

It is such a shame people in La Liga: Captains, Vice captains and even Statistical analysis :rotf: sees the game a different way

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/La_Liga_Awards
La Liga's best coach and player in each position—goalkeeper, defender, midfielder, and forward—are chosen based on a voting by the captain and vice-captains of each club, while the best player overall is determined via statistical analysis.

We are done here. :D
Ok, lets say he has caused more goals. Statistical analysis :lol: What analysis could a manager want more than frequency of goals? Passes completed or what? Even Donald Trump will fancy his chances in a popularity contest against Ronaldo.

Messi for me any day any time. Makes everyone around him better. Makes football delightful to watch. Is effective and efficient. Plays with his team mates. No contest here for me.

"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)

Don't mind the revisionists. He had damn good players around him. Regulars from Real, Barca, Manu, Inter, PSG - the best teams in the World.

Not only did he get to 3 finals, he got to 3 finals back to back. This makes it all the more befuddling, as it means he was not able to learn from recent mistakes, fresh wounds and raise his game. Great players have the odd bad game or final, but it's rare for them to have back to back bad games. True greats like MJ who won all 6 of his finals just do not lose when they've reached the final hurdle. Goats like Usain Bolt, Tom Brady - have the ability to deliver time and again, no matter the circumstances.

He was great in Barca, truly phenomenal, but one of the best things that has happened is for Ronaldo to go to La Liga and put all Messi's accolades into perspective. When you see what Cron has been able to achieve in a shorter time, in a more chaotic set-up with arguably less talented players, it makes Messi seem a whole lot more human. If he leads Real to the first ever defense of the Champions League it will be yet another feather in the cap. The guy is just a phenom.

Cally wrote:Messi for me any day any time. Makes everyone around him better. Makes football delightful to watch. Is effective and efficient. Plays with his team mates. No contest here for me.
The easiest way to recognise people that don't know anything about football is when they say Fake Ron is better than Messi. The guy that started the thread thinks Mikelele is better than Yaya Toure. It is how Okokoborinko tried to compare Pogba with Iniesta using stats. I remember Spastic claiming that David Silva was better than Iniesta. Most of these are football illiterate arguments based on emotion, and usually coming from EPL groupies, who see Fake Ron as "their own". A bit like an English commentator who said about Thierry Henry: "born in France, but made in England".

Cally wrote:Messi for me any day any time. Makes everyone around him better. Makes football delightful to watch. Is effective and efficient. Plays with his team mates. No contest here for me.
The easiest way to recognise people that don't know anything about football is when they say Fake Ron is better than Messi. The guy that started the thread thinks Mikelele is better than Yaya Toure. It is how Okokoborinko tried to compare Pogba with Iniesta using stats. I remember Spastic claiming that David Silva was better than Iniesta. Most of these are football illiterate arguments based on emotion, and usually coming from EPL groupies, who see Fake Ron as "their own". A bit like an English commentator who said about Thierry Henry: "born in France, but made in England".
CIC have you seen the new nike cr7 advert? It says somethhing like created on the streets as if ronaldo grew up playing footbball on streets of manchester. These people are shameless