Page 2 of 3

Re: Pep Guardiola: Manchester City is NOT a big club

Posted: Tue May 16, 2017 9:39 pm
by txj
txj wrote:There are only two big clubs in England, ManUre and Liverpool.

The rest, like Chelsea, Arsenal, City, etc are top clubs.

what makes a club a "top" club? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Budget; standing in the game, etc...

What is Man City's "standing in the game?"

Man City: budget

Posted: Tue May 16, 2017 10:22 pm
by Mr. Piffington
Mr. Piffington wrote:
Mr. Piffington wrote:He's not lying so what's the news?

you're the last groupie standing
Please I'm not one of the 'we' crowds.
lol who said crowd/we

you are a groupie of the Inheritance Merchant
Yeah.

Posted: Tue May 16, 2017 10:41 pm

If that it their "standing," then, i am sorry, it doesnt make you a top club.

There is difference between being a rich/wealthy club or whatever AND being a big club. wide difference. I dont even know what the hell "top" club means. lol.

City is a club that been heavily invested in. They have brought in some top top players and a world class coach. But the club, itself, is still a small club. They need to grow a serious history as a super power, win multiple CL titles, league titles and expand their world -wide fan base. hell, they dont even sell their ticket allocations at home! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Top club,, my buttocks! Let them fill their stadium weekly first.

Posted: Wed May 17, 2017 2:26 am
by txj

There is difference between being a rich/wealthy club or whatever AND being a big club. wide difference. I dont even know what the hell "top" club means. lol.

City is a club that been heavily invested in. They have brought in some top top players and a world class coach. But the club, itself, is still a small club. They need to grow a serious history as a super power, win multiple CL titles, league titles and expand their world -wide fan base. hell, they dont even sell their ticket allocations at home! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Top club,, my buttocks! Let them fill their stadium weekly first.

You should pay attention to my use of words. A top club is not necessarily a big club...

Posted: Wed May 17, 2017 3:59 am

You should pay attention to my use of words. A top club is not necessarily a big club...
I paid attention to your word and realized that you were making the word up. You have asked me to listen to you and believe you without evidence. Have you gotten the term "top club" from a dictionary? or from a generally acceptable terms document?

That was the reason i dismissed your use of word. You are not qualified to make up a term, determine its usage, and the rest of the world follows you.

Not possible my friend, even though you think quite as highly of yourself.

Posted: Wed May 17, 2017 4:27 am
by txj
It's your right to believe or not believe what I have said. But nothing disqualifies me from holding or stating my opinion. What I have offered is not simply my opinion but the basis for it.

It's a position I have very recently canvassed on Beinsports. And it is a subject that is being debated because it's as yet not defined in a settled manner.

Posted: Wed May 17, 2017 4:40 am
by paj

Until there is a solid resurgence calling Liverpool a "Big Club" within the context of today's football is like referring to one's Father's Oldsmobile as a luxury vehicle simply because it too has power locks. Hasn't won the EPL in for ever and has the one CL since the millennium aint no 'big club' standing bruh...yeah..history..but big clubs are also seeded by EUFA almost every season..you're not a big club if no one bats an eye when U don't qualify for CL..
Pa

Posted: Wed May 17, 2017 5:46 am
txj wrote:It's your right to believe or not believe what I have said. But nothing disqualifies me from holding or stating my opinion. What I have offered is not simply my opinion but the basis for it.

It's a position I have very recently canvassed on Beinsports. And it is a subject that is being debated because it's as yet not defined in a settled manner.

BienSports is a television station, not an authority on Sports terminology.

Posted: Wed May 17, 2017 9:15 am
by green4life

When was the last time that Liverpool won anything of value? Big club ke .. old history ni.

When you consider recent trophies domestically and in Europe over the last say twenty years, annual revenue, ability to consistently sell out big arenas overseas, youth team success, arms length endorsement deals et al , you're correct that only two clubs meet the criteria but it's Chelsea ManU. Liverpool is not relevant in England nor in Europe over the last twenty years. Fact. If history is all we go by then Aston Villa and Nottingham Forest are Big clubs.

Posted: Wed May 17, 2017 11:25 am
by Cristao II
Excuses. As at today, Man City is one of the big clubs in England. Pep needs to stop such talk. He is turning his fans and players against him.

Posted: Wed May 17, 2017 1:47 pm
txj wrote:It's your right to believe or not believe what I have said. But nothing disqualifies me from holding or stating my opinion. What I have offered is not simply my opinion but the basis for it.

dayumnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

Posted: Wed May 17, 2017 2:08 pm
by txj

When was the last time that Liverpool won anything of value? Big club ke .. old history ni.

When you consider recent trophies domestically and in Europe over the last say twenty years, annual revenue, ability to consistently sell out big arenas overseas, youth team success, arms length endorsement deals et al , you're correct that only two clubs meet the criteria but it's Chelsea ManU. Liverpool is not relevant in England nor in Europe over the last twenty years. Fact. If history is all we go by then Aston Villa and Nottingham Forest are Big clubs.

Winning trophies is about the here and now, and by your simplistic criteria Leicester is a big team...

This is not a debate about Liverpool. Its about the standards and criteria by which we define this issue.

A "big club", by which I mean a global club, is an institution in the game. It is a status defined by a combination of factors, first, contribution to the game- via trophies/titles won, players produced, coaches, style of play, football culture, etc; followership, global reach, funding, etc. It all comes together to define a "global/big club"

Chelsea is a top club in the game today, as is City. But none of them is a big club.

Posted: Wed May 17, 2017 2:09 pm
by txj

Focus on the issue not the profile or CV...There is no "authority on sports terminology", whatever that means....

Posted: Wed May 17, 2017 2:10 pm
by mcal
...we know it, pep know it, the whole wide world know :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Wed May 17, 2017 3:57 pm

Focus on the issue not the profile or CV...There is no "authority on sports terminology", whatever that means....
You seem to be confusing yourself. You claimed Man City is a top club" because they have budget. I am wondering who created the term "top club" and who determined the meaning of "top club".

However if we must accept the term just to please you, how can budget be a determinant for who is a top club? Are you saying that when ever a club like Leeds is taking over, they automatically become a top club?

Posted: Wed May 17, 2017 3:58 pm

Winning trophies is about the here and now, and by your simplistic criteria Leicester is a big team...

This is not a debate about Liverpool. Its about the standards and criteria by which we define this issue.

A "big club", by which I mean a global club, is an institution in the game. It is a status defined by a combination of factors, first, contribution to the game- via trophies/titles won, players produced, coaches, style of play, football culture, etc; followership, global reach, funding, etc. It all comes together to define a "global/big club"

Chelsea is a top club in the game today, as is City. But none of them is a big club.

So is Leicester a TOP CLUB? You said budget is a criterion, and we all know Leicester had serious Thailand money

Posted: Wed May 17, 2017 4:07 pm
by txj

You seem to be confusing yourself. You claimed Man City is a top club" because they have budget. I am wondering who created the term "top club" and who determined the meaning of "top club".

However if we must accept the term just to please you, how can budget be a determinant for who is a top club? Are you saying that when ever a club like Leeds is taking over, they automatically become a top club?

If you actually pay attention you will understand I consider a top club to be below a big club. And if u paid attention you will not bring up an irrelevant issue as Leeds takeover..

Man City is a top club because they have the budget, they have titles, they have the expectation, as of today, to challenge at both domestic and international levels. Based on those indices they are current as of the here and now...Ditto Chelsea...

Posted: Wed May 17, 2017 5:21 pm
by tfco
i agree with txj. Pool is a big (name) club

he's just not explaining it well.

Certain clubs immediately come to mind when you mention a country. Those are big clubs

Argentina - Boca
France - OM
Eng - United, Pool

etc

Posted: Wed May 17, 2017 5:32 pm
tfco wrote:i agree with txj. Pool is a big (name) club

Certain clubs immediately come to mind when you mention a country. Those are big clubs

Argentina - Boca
France - OM
Eng - United, Pool

etc
ghana: Phobia, and kotoko :D

Posted: Wed May 17, 2017 6:57 pm

If you actually pay attention you will understand I consider a top club to be below a big club. And if u paid attention you will not bring up an irrelevant issue as Leeds takeover..

Man City is a top club because they have the budget, they have titles, they have the expectation, as of today, to challenge at both domestic and international levels. Based on those indices they are current as of the here and now...Ditto Chelsea...
You keep talking about who is paying attention and who is not paying attention. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: BUT THIS IS THE FIRST TIME YOU HAVE PROVEN MY POINT! As you said, YOU, consider a "top club" below a "big club." Now, thats where the conversation ends. I do not need to pay attention anymore. It is you who decides the terminology, "top club" and decides the "definition," and contrary to how you see yourself, since I consider you a nobody, I am sorry, I am not going to take a terminology created by you, seriously.

Posted: Wed May 17, 2017 7:10 pm

Posted: Wed May 17, 2017 7:40 pm
by txj

You keep talking about who is paying attention and who is not paying attention. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: BUT THIS IS THE FIRST TIME YOU HAVE PROVEN MY POINT! As you said, YOU, consider a "top club" below a "big club." Now, thats where the conversation ends. I do not need to pay attention anymore. It is you who decides the terminology, "top club" and decides the "definition," and contrary to how you see yourself, since I consider you a nobody, I am sorry, I am not going to take a terminology created by you, seriously.

Awwww, I'm finished! Woe is me! Danfo considers me a nobody....

Posted: Wed May 17, 2017 7:57 pm
by Rawlings
tfco wrote:i agree with txj. Pool is a big (name) club
Argentina - Boca
France - OM
Eng - United, Pool
etc
ghana: Phobia, and kotoko :D
Naija: Enugu Rangers & Stationary Stores :(