ESSIEN, Please Come Back Home...

:cry:

Re: ESSIEN, Please Come Back Home...

I go chop ya dallars. .... even his players in Italy will not cut grass before training

May e he finds it fun to use. Besides, people doing DIY abroad I no biggie

...Africans, especially Nigerians, consider cutting grass a poor man chore.

mcal wrote:...Africans, especially Nigerians, consider cutting grass a poor man chore.
because Africans experiences with grass cutting is with a cutlass & swollen palms

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

where did he get the Bendel name "Essien" from sef?

mcal wrote:...Africans, especially Nigerians, consider cutting grass a poor man chore.
Even in the west It's a poor man's chore, if outside of ones abode. People have no problem cutting and trimming their own lawns, but to cut someone else's property is usually reserved for kids looking to earn or labourers.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Tbite wrote:
Even in the west It's a poor man's chore, if outside of ones abode. People have no problem cutting and trimming their own lawns, but to cut someone else's property is usually reserved for kids looking to earn or labourers.
Are you serious? :shock: :shock: :shock:

I work for a Housing Association, I know how much we pay Tree Surgeons to maintain gardens, plants, lawns and trees.

When you see people maintaining their gardens and trimming their plants and cutting their grass etc, it is because getting a professional is not cheap. Even Eastern Europeans are not cheap.

Nothing wrong with what essien is doing...humble fella....

Tbite wrote:
Are you serious? :shock: :shock: :shock:

I work for a Housing Association, I know how much we pay Tree Surgeons to maintain gardens, plants, lawns and trees.

When you see people maintaining their gardens and trimming their plants and cutting their grass etc, it is because getting a professional is not cheap. Even Eastern Europeans are not cheap.
Cost of Labour is higher in Australia than even your America, so this is not news to me. Due to minimum wage, award rates and other factors, you oftentimes get jobs like this getting decent wages. Some plumbers in Australia even get higher wages than some medical doctors here.

but the white collar, blue collar (labouring/professional) divide has not diminished because of it. You wouldn't do it, unless you had vocational training and that was your only route. A wealthy person from a different job description would never maintain another persons property in the west. Essien is not a tree surgeon.

And even those labourers who get a good salary are still not held in high esteem! So abeg what people do you know who just pick up a whipper snipper or mower to maintain someone else's property in the west for the heck of it?

Front lawns and garden care are high value in rich neighborhoods in the west, which is whysome people get good contracts, due to the appeal, but it doesn't mean that a well to do person will get up and pick up a whipper snipper. Holding up traffic signs in Australia pays even more than that, it doesn't mean white collar folk do it.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Tbite wrote:
...my friend that is not true. Grass cutting aka Landscaping is a profession, many folks put their kids thru college/university, buy houses, and live the middle to upper class quiet life.
Personally, I mow, trim my own surroundings unless when I will be away for a long time, I'll contract a landscaper to do it.
Young kids do it too for few bucks here and there during summer months.

because Africans experiences with grass cutting is with a cutlass & swollen palms
...i hear you there, our grass can be tough too.
aykwes8

Post by aykwes8 »

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:where did he get the Bendel name "Essien" from sef?
Essien is an Awutu name. It means sixth born. Of course he's not a sixth born child but that's a family name. Pure Awutu from Bejwase

aykwes8 wrote:
Essien is an Awutu name. It means sixth born. Of course he's not a sixth born child but that's a family name. Pure Awutu from Bejwase
:mad:
Lies! Essien is an Efik or Ibibio name. Way back when, before Okalla, we had a goalkeeper called Eyo Essien.

Senator WIRES wrote::cry:

What is the source of this photograph? It's probably a joke, or a something being done for charity.
aykwes8

Post by aykwes8 »

ohsee wrote:
aykwes8 wrote:
Lies! Essien is an Efik or Ibibio name. Way back when, before Okalla, we had a goalkeeper called Eyo Essien.
Ok i guess he told you that himself....that you can't even be sure which one exactly

aykwes8 wrote:
ohsee wrote:
aykwes8 wrote:
Ok i guess he told you that himself
Who told me? Eyo or Michael? My man, Southeastern Nigeria is full of Essiens. One of my classmates was called Effiong Essien. Essien is as Nigerian as they come.
http://www.onlinenigeria.com/nigerianna ... blurb=4467

OK, I concede, some Ghananese stole the name from Nigeria. :D :taunt:

ohsee wrote:
aykwes8 wrote:
ohsee wrote:
aykwes8 wrote:
Who told me? Eyo or Michael? My man, Southeastern Nigeria is full of Essiens. One of my classmates was called Effiong Essien. Essien is as Nigerian as they come.

you forgot the famous Christy Essien Igbokwe

ohsee wrote:
aykwes8 wrote:
ohsee wrote:
aykwes8 wrote:

You are just proving Ohese point, she is from Akwa Ibom .

Essien is an Akwa ibom name.

imehjunior wrote:
ohsee wrote:
aykwes8 wrote:
ohsee wrote:
aykwes8 wrote:

You are just proving Ohese point, she is from Akwa Ibom .
OK...you don bamboozle me. I am not arguing with Ohsee. We are on the same side, i.e., our Bredas stole the name from Naija. Yup, I thought Bendel, and Ohsee corrected me....das all

...west of Africa along the Atlantic is one big nation until oyinbo come divide, enslaved, and pitted us against each other, and now here and everywhere we dey fight over the source of a name that belongs to Africa :sad:

mcal wrote:...west of Africa along the Atlantic is one big nation until oyinbo come divide, enslaved, and pitted us against each other, and now here and everywhere we dey fight over the source of a name that belongs to Africa :sad:

we are not "fighting". This is a friendly banter about the origins of a once exceptional midfielder.