[Europa FINAL] Ajax (0-2) Man United..(Pogba, Mkhi)

Re: [Europa FINAL] Ajax (0-2) Man United..(Pogba, Mkhi)

mcal wrote:...this Ajax team too young. Many baby faces.
so? They could have run circles around ManU and caused havoc.

They were not tactically and psychologically well prepared for this game.
Guv007

Post by Guv007 »

Dammy wrote:I can't believe Mourinho is celebrating Europa Cup, a competition he wrote off many years ago!
Many years ago you don't qualify for CL winning the Europa Cup.
Red Dwarf - Legion

Rimmer: Step up to Red Alert
Kryten: Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb.
Rimmer: There's always some excuse, isn't there?

Kabalega wrote:
mcal wrote:...this Ajax team too young. Many baby faces.
so? They could have run circles around ManU and caused havoc.

They were not tactically and psychologically well prepared for this game.
...hence too young and baby faces.

Guv007 wrote:
Dammy wrote:I can't believe Mourinho is celebrating Europa Cup, a competition he wrote off many years ago!
Many years ago you don't qualify for CL winning the Europa Cup.
...na wah o, the man no win dem crucify him, he win dem call am cheap trophy, naija people dem get mouth too much :???:

Well we can have a clear out among these lot ,lingard, darmian,martial, young, smalling, Shaw, even jones, those frequent injuries are not good enough, we need a new central defender, midfielder, attacking midfielder and strikers to compete for next season premiership

Congrats to Man U.
CL money good oo!!

Samora Machel wrote:Did one banner by a man u fan say Zlatan you can come shag my wife :lol: :rotf:

Fellaini was MOTM. He had a higher pass completion ratio (83%) than any other Man Utd player and won more aerial duels than all 14 Ajax payers combined. Nuff said.

Samora Machel wrote:Did one banner by a man u fan say Zlatan you can come shag my wife :lol: :rotf:
Humour at its best can't beat the brits

Prince wrote:
anointed wrote:
oloye wrote:Congrats ManU...only caught the last 6 mins,just got back from my son's graduation service!
Graduated from uni? Anyway, congratulations. We go celebrate am together when you become a grandfather.

Ayo abara tin tin.
Thanks , na high school oh! He has another 4 years before we go wash uni grad.
Oloye your boy took one hell of a beating, Sanchez pocketed him....congratulations to Little Oloye
Na because i was not here to watch him.... :lol: Truth is he would struggle against his mates, it is against the big boys he shines.
Not really o...Otamendi also had him in a ziplock bag last time o! :blink:

the same Otamendi who was nutmegged by MR last year en route to a lovely solo goal?

Ok, well about time he got his own back

watching the 1H now

This Ajax team sucks, we really did not belong in this comp

Ajax would struggle in the Championship. Jose could have fielded our reserves against this lot.

Possession stats are so deceiving. Useless Ajax with 70%+ possession but never troubling Romero

Imagine if we played them with our Team A!!

tfco wrote:watching the 1H now

Ajax would struggle in the Championship. Jose could have fielded our reserves against this lot.

Possession stats are so deceiving. Useless Ajax with 70%+ possession but never troubling Romero

Based on 1 half of a final game?
How about you watch Ajax in other games?

Anyway, the small teams are done let us move onto the big ones in the CL. :thumbs:

Kabalega wrote:
tfco wrote:watching the 1H now

Based on 1 half of a final game?
How about you watch Ajax in other games?

Anyway, the small teams are done let us move onto the big ones in the CL. :thumbs:

Abi!!

Ajax made it to the final like Man U did. Give them credit. Even if na school boys versus grown men.

they were sh*t in that 1H

End of.

70% possession in their half and not doing squat.
This was like the Celta away game.

If this is the level of football in Dutch league, thank God I don't watch
Northampton Town gave us more competition... mscheew

tfco wrote:the same Otamendi who was nutmegged by MR last year en route to a lovely solo goal?

Ok, well about time he got his own back
:sneaky:

tfco wrote:they were sh*t in that 1H

End of.

70% possession in their half and not doing squat.
This was like the Celta away game.

If this is the level of football in Dutch league, thank God I don't watch
Northampton Town gave us more competition... mscheew
...I don't think it is the level of football in Dutch league but a very poor team the coach presented.
I was shocked as Ajax did not 'fight' like other teams during the campaign that gave United some tough times.
Or may be the Manchester team knew what was up (champions league bet) and the weight of the recent tragedy.
All and all, the match was one sided as per chances at the goal.
It could have been bad if Ibra was playing along side Rashford operating from his normal position.

Saw the rerun of the game. It was a very professional display by Man Utd, good thing I didn't just go by the comments here. Utd could have scored more goals if they looked for it. The guys were full of concentration and discipline. Never seen that many crutches in one place at the end.

felarey wrote:Saw the rerun of the game. It was a very professional display by Man Utd, good thing I didn't just go by the comments here. Utd could have scored more goals if they looked for it. The guys were full of concentration and discipline. Never seen that many crutches in one place at the end.

Mourinho is a cup final specialist, he knows how to prepare teams for 90 minutes, I knew he was going to stifle that midfield and close all avenues, Ajax players cannot shoot outside the box, they prefer to work the ball into the net, it seems they got frustrated as they did not have a plan B, this was a game suited for Zlatan, he would have scored a few, mismatch at the end of the day, Ajax have a bright future but the will need some good finishers

lol I just finished the 2H.

Yup Ajax is sh*t, they would not survive the Championship.

This felt like a scrimmage for United. We never got out of 1st gear

Don't know how Herrera was MotM. Should have been The Big Fella

Ajax took the ball to the wings and just passed passed passed. I counted just 1 cross from the wings. Even that FK in the 70th minute...mscheeww I no go tok more. Bottom line, the final should have United v Celta, another sh*t team but at least they attacked with purpose

2 (or is it 3 - Community Shield, League Cup, Europa) trophies in a lacklustre season

I did say we didnt deserve to finish top 4, but we certainly deserved to go to CL, so looking forward to next season

I expect Jose to do some summer cleanout

akamoke wrote:2 (or is it 3 - Community Shield, League Cup, Europa) trophies in a lacklustre season

I did say we didnt deserve to finish top 4, but we certainly deserved to go to CL, so looking forward to next season

I expect Jose to do some summer cleanout

Of course he will but in a more subtle way, he does not want to come across as arrogant as in his Chelsea days but I think he has a good knowledge of the players and their capabilities and will surely clear out the dead wood, no sentiments here, man united have to get back to the cream of European football, now that we are in champions league, we can attract any player we want, I still feel we should test Tottenham resolve by offering 90 million for Kane, that man can do some serious business for us, if not we should perhaps go for Lukaku, Mourinho likes those big powerful center forwards like Drogba, we are 4 players short of the premiership title, central defence, attacking midfield and strikers

Absolutely. It was not pretty, but it was (very) effective tactics by JM/Man Utd:

1) Ajax like to press teams high, so Man Utd rendered that Ajax strength by continually hitting the ball long from the back. There were no Man Utd defenders for the Ajax front 3 to press because every time Man Utd's defenders got in possession, they put their foot through the ball and cleared it up to Fellaini's head or velcro chest. They did not keep hold of the ball long enough for Ajax's front 3 to get to them.

2) The long high balls to Fellani bothered Ajax because: (a) they rarely face 6ft 4 inch tall attacking midfielders who have a CD's aerial strength (b) they are not used to fighting for second balls (an English strength that no continental teams - not even the elite like Barca, Real, Bayern, Juve can match).

All in all, very sound tactics. JM did take an almighty risk by putting all his eggs into the Europa League basket. Had he lost that game, his head might have been on the chopping block.
marko wrote:
felarey wrote:Saw the rerun of the game. It was a very professional display by Man Utd, good thing I didn't just go by the comments here. Utd could have scored more goals if they looked for it. The guys were full of concentration and discipline. Never seen that many crutches in one place at the end.

Mourinho is a cup final specialist, he knows how to prepare teams for 90 minutes, I knew he was going to stifle that midfield and close all avenues, Ajax players cannot shoot outside the box, they prefer to work the ball into the net, it seems they got frustrated as they did not have a plan B, this was a game suited for Zlatan, he would have scored a few, mismatch at the end of the day, Ajax have a bright future but the will need some good finishers