Ngolo Kante: An Extraordinary...

Re: Ngolo Kante: An Extraordinary...

There are players that you win 'WITH' and players that you win 'BECAUSE OF '. I can safely say that one of the reasons why Chelsea won the EPL was 'BECAUSE OF' Kante.

Ditto for Leicester City last season.
Last edited by mystic on Sun May 28, 2017 6:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

anointed wrote:Speaking from both sides of the mouth in full mode.
Why bother with perspectives of a pundit in a subjective field?
If next season Kante flops or succeeds, txj have just put himself in a position to say- 'I told you so'.

kali wrote:Ngolo Kante with Leicester - EPL Champions
Leicester without Ngolo Kante - 12th in League
Chelsea without Ngolo Kante - 10th in League
Ngolo Kante with Chelsea - EPL Champions
wow, to think the league only started LAST season

bully12 wrote:The only picture I see beside the word water carrier in a dictionary is Mikel. I'm sure your guy know how much in love I'm with reading and memorizing dictionaries. Thus I can authoritatively state Kante has never been describe as water carrier. His name is not synonymous as a water carrier. Mbani
If Mikel is a water carrier, then you be proper "orule"carrier

mystic wrote:There are players that you win 'WITH' and players that you win 'BECAUSE OF '. I can safely say that one of the reasons why Chelsea won the EPL was 'BECAUSE OF' Kante.

True.

And Luiz, Moses, Costa, Coutouir(sp), etc...

Its a team game, but some players make the difference.

Hazard is a difference maker...

Kante creates the platform for him to make the difference...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Coach wrote:@Oga Chief Tx, nno! And of those playing central midfield roles. Some would argue, even the great Busquets chaperoned the water for the Iniestas and Xavis. To suggest Kante is merely a Obiesta is to dismiss the facts and focus purely on the obvious, overlooking the unspoken. Kante is a bidirectional maestro, not only carrying the water but adding the ice and cordial.

My fren, com'on, gerroff!

They would be wrong...

Ice becomes water...eventually...

Kante is the best water carrier in the game. His coverage of the game redefines the position. That is a tremendous accomplishment by itself...

But there is no need to put a man beyond his station....

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

wow, to think the league only started LAST season
Absolutely my point!

Busquets
1887 passes
90% pass completion
76% forward passes
14 chances created
3 assists
17m average pass distance
0 shots on goal

Kante
1865 passes
89% pass completion
72% forward passes
22 chances created
1 assist
1 goal

To me Hazard and costa had more impact for chelsea compared to kante

Coach wrote:Busquets
1887 passes
90% pass completion
76% forward passes
14 chances created
3 assists
0 shots on goal

Kante
1865 passes
89% pass completion
72% forward passes
22 chances created
1 assist
1 goal

Ice, ice baby!!!!

If Kante were plying his trade in Spain and Busquets at the heart of Chelsea's midfield, the name before the colon would change, akin to a right hand turn at the end of a transverse section of large bowel.

Coach wrote:If Kante were plying his trade in Spain and Busquets at the heart of Chelsea's midfield, the name before the colon would change, akin to a right hand turn at the end of a transverse section of large bowel.

Ever wonder why he ultimately did not start for France at the Euros?

Perhaps only the English obermeisters could see what the French could not...

Or perhaps its Didier....he dzoesn't like zem darkie...

Rubbish

Who started at the Euros? Did Martial play much? Lacazette? Ben Arfa? Benzema?

Coach wrote:Who started at the Euros? Did Martial play much? Lacazette? Ben Arfa? Benzema?
...go on...

Pogba did...And who was beside him?

@Tx, having cited N'golo's bench duty at the Euros as proof of his water carriage can it be assumed Giroud led the line as France's most eminent centre-forward?

Coach wrote:@Tx, having cited N'golo's bench duty at the Euros as proof of his water carriage can it be assumed Giroud led the line as France's most eminent centre-forward?
Not really...Different player, different context...

But back to my question; curiosity, curiosity...

mystic wrote:There are players that you win 'WITH' and players that you win 'BECAUSE OF '. I can safely say that one of the reasons why Chelsea won the EPL was 'BECAUSE OF' Kante.

Coach wrote:Busquets
1887 passes
90% pass completion
76% forward passes
14 chances created
3 assists
0 shots on goal

Kante
1865 passes
89% pass completion
72% forward passes
22 chances created
1 assist
1 goal

The beauty of stats in football my friend is in the context of its application. Not in rote or willy nilly regurgitation...

Sir Alex once said of the Catalans, after a sumptuous takedown by Barca: "They put you in a carousel and spin the wheel"

The pace of that spin is controlled by Busquets. That cannot be captured by stats.

Continental Europeans believe in 'the pause' in football. The product that is the EPL is founded on manic tempo.

A player like Kante fits squarely in that regime...

Its dangerous to cast a man beyond his station...

Kante has a better shout at being the best in his position than Hazard. Hazard wont make the top 3 players in his position in the world. You hail Hazard and in the process shoot yourself in the foot. What exactly did your Hazard do at the Euros? Zilch. When he has played in the CL previously he has largely been a nonentity. Yesterday he went awol for such a big time Johnny, Batshuwayi impacted the game more as a sub. Kante is a world class player mate and you can take that to the bank. He does what he does extremely well. Like CIC said he doesn't just break up play the boy can also attack and has very good ball skills

@Tx, nno! Unfortunately the carousel stopped spinning this year domestically. On the international scene, the carousel has been clamped and a handful of parking tickets are stuck to each beam. If Kante is merely carrying water whilst others are starting carousels, the question arises, when the wheel stops spinning and the hands reach for the icebox, where's the water?

Ngolo, two years, two titles, Evian.

Coach wrote:@Tx, nno! Unfortunately the carousel stopped spinning this year domestically. On the international scene, the carousel has been clamped and a handful of parking tickets are stuck to each beam. If Kante is merely carrying water whilst others are starting carousels, the question arises, when the wheel stops spinning and the hands reach for the icebox, where's the water?

Ngolo, two years, two titles, Evian.

...only then should you reach out for Ngolo...water carrier extraordinaire...Acqua di Cristallo Tributo a Modigliani

Someone has to do the dirty work. Guys like Kante sniff out attacks and break them up in addition to being players who can distribute the ball well. These guys need a high football IQ to do all of this. Show me a great player and I'll show you a guy like Kante who did the dirty work that allowed them to shine.