5 FACTS you didn't know about Super Eagles new boy Youssef

When the Super Eagles squad list for the 2019 AFCON qualifier against South Africa was released earlier today, the bulk of the talk concentrated on the absence of Victor Moses, as well as Odion Ighalo and Brown Ideye, but very little was said about the newest inclusion, Maroof Youssef.

Very little or nothing is known about the player, who is a surprise inclusion in the Super Eagles list for the important match against the Bafana Bafana of South Africa.

But who is Maroof Youssef? Fcnaija gives 5 major facts you didn’t know about the Super Eagles’ newest addition.

Fact 1.
He is essentially a central midfielder, but is comfortable playing in central defense and was listed by the Super Eagles as a defender.

Fact 2.
Youssef has been brought in as a direct replacement for Leon Balogun, who has been ruled out through injury, but will he start on June 10? Question for another day.

Fact 3.
He plays for one of Africa’s biggest clubs, Zamalek, in the Egyptian Premier League. He moved there from another Egyptian side, El Shorta.

Fact 4.
He doesn’t score too much. In 27 games in all competitions this season for Zamalek, he has not found the back of the net and only has three assists. So maybe it’s better he plays in defence.

Fact 5.
The 24-year old has won the Egyptian league title once, and has lifted the Egyptian Cup twice. Not so bad for his trophy cabinet.

http://fcnaija.com/5-facts-you-didn-t-k ... oy-youssef
Re: 5 FACTS you didn't know about Super Eagles new boy Youss

Nice one :clap:

iworo wrote:5 FACTS you didn't know about Super Eagles new boy Youssef

When the Super Eagles squad list for the 2019 AFCON qualifier against South Africa was released earlier today, the bulk of the talk concentrated on the absence of Victor Moses, as well as Odion Ighalo and Brown Ideye, but very little was said about the newest inclusion, Maroof Youssef.

Very little or nothing is known about the player, who is a surprise inclusion in the Super Eagles list for the important match against the Bafana Bafana of South Africa.

But who is Maroof Youssef? Fcnaija gives 5 major facts you didn’t know about the Super Eagles’ newest addition.

Fact 1.
He is essentially a central midfielder, but is comfortable playing in central defense and was listed by the Super Eagles as a defender.

Fact 2.
Youssef has been brought in as a direct replacement for Leon Balogun, who has been ruled out through injury, but will he start on June 10? Question for another day.

Fact 3.
He plays for one of Africa’s biggest clubs, Zamalek, in the Egyptian Premier League. He moved there from another Egyptian side, El Shorta.

Fact 4.
He doesn’t score too much. In 27 games in all competitions this season for Zamalek, he has not found the back of the net and only has three assists. So maybe it’s better he plays in defence.

Fact 5.
The 24-year old has won the Egyptian league title once, and has lifted the Egyptian Cup twice. Not so bad for his trophy cabinet.

I am not sure this guys know Marouf very well. I have watched him play for Zamalek several times and he is a left sided midfielder, who is also comfortable at left-back, which is the position Rohr wants him to cover for.

omo bobo nah lefty , big guy as well looks decent

Fact 1.

Fact 2.

Fact 3.

Fact 4.

Fact 5.

I am not sure this guys know Marouf very well. I have watched him play for Zamalek several times and he is a left sided midfielder, who is also comfortable at left-back, which is the position Rohr wants him to cover for.
I just read the stuff and shook my head. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Fact 1.

Fact 2.

Fact 3.

Fact 4.

Fact 5.

From the video and his analysis, I wondered if he was talking about the guy in the video or someone else too. :D

Dammy wrote:I am not sure this guys know Marouf very well. I have watched him play for Zamalek several times and he is a left sided midfielder, who is also comfortable at left-back, which is the position Rohr wants him to cover for.
Kpom!

Proper left foot; good delivery from wide. Concerned about his timing and recovery...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

^Yep, came 30 minutes late, got the pizza for free.

@Chief Oga Tx, with the Mascheranos now sitting squarely between two centres and the Alves' moving up to quartet the midfield, has the time for a getting with the times arrived for the Eagles?

Coach wrote:^Yep, came 30 minutes late, got the pizza for free.

@Chief Oga Tx, with the Mascheranos now sitting squarely between two centres and the Alves' moving up to quartet the midfield, has the time for a getting with the times arrived for the Eagles?
First you get good and proper defenders. Then you design the scheme.

No scheme can mask the poverty of talent...even with free pizza!

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
miky

Post by miky »

wow what a player! solid!!
A lion never dies it sleeps (Rip..Foe)

An Eagle never dies it soars Rip (Big Boss)

Guys,

I hate to bust your bubble o, but this almost 6 minute clip only show that this is a one - legged player who cannot or simply refused to use his other leg even if it presented good scoring opportunity.

Check out approximately minutes 1:34, 3:18 and 3:56.

You will eventually hate him!

Cmoke :D :D

Fact 1.

Fact 2.

Fact 3.

Fact 4.

Fact 5.

This is a more accurate report

7 Things You Don’t Know About Eagles New Boy Maroof Youssef
By
Abiola Shodiya -
June 1 2017

Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr shocked Nigeria football fans on Wednesday when he unveiled the squad to face South Africa and there was a strange name, Maroof Youssef from Zamalek FC. AOIfootball.com’s Abiola Shodiya tells us more about the new boy.

Here are seven facts you may not know about Zamalek’s Maroof Youssef who plays as a midfielder for the Egyptian side but has been listed as a defender in the list of invited players for the game against South Africa.

1. He played for Kwara United in the NPFL under coach Kadiri Ikhana and started as a defender.

In 2009/10 season Sunshine hosted Kwara United in Akure. Few mins into the game the first choice left back Halilu Obadaki got injured and Youssef was drafted into the position and he did well. He later played in that position as a second choice left back during his time at Kwara United. He also played wide left (11) too.

2. He moved from Kwara United Feeders Team before getting promoted to the main team.

3. He attended Government Secondary School, Ilorin and was nicknamed ‘Ewa’ alongside a guy also known as’ Kanu.’

4. He did not move straight to Zamalek as being reported.

Before moving to Zamalek, he had played for Egyptian second division side called Ittihad El-Shorta where he played for 3 years till July 1, 2014 when he signed for Zamalek.

5. His main position is central midfield but he is also comfortable playing on the left side of the field.

6. He has some powerful shots in his left leg and can also score free kicks.

7. He has a Burkina Faso lineage which explains why his name is spelt Maroof Youssef and not the typical Nigerian way.

http://aoifootball.com/2017/06/01/7-thi ... f-youssef/
hangingfire

Post by hangingfire »

Youssef will give Moses and Echiejile a run for their money. If Moses in particular continue his shakara for Nigeria, it might be that Rohr has been able to find his replacement. This guy has a lot of promise and reminds me of Amuneke. He's too good to be true.