Nigeria Miss Mikel & Moses

Larry Ashagbe 1
Nigeria Miss Mikel & Moses

Post by Larry Ashagbe 1 »

83 minutes played.

Nigeria 0-2 South Africa

Nigeria must have had at least 80% possession but no penetration.

Mikel & Moses would have made big difference in a game like this.

Mikel would have provided a killer pass and Moses will terrorise them on the wings.

What are thoughts and views?
Re: Nigeria Miss Mikel & Moses

As any sane person would assume, but that's not an excuse for this poor display.

DOnt forget Ikeme also. That being said, we had enough to get a result today. The boys were just not up for it today. The task is harder but def doable.

goke313 wrote:why isn't Moses playing?
I think he has toe surgery or something.

Larry Ashagbe 1 wrote:83 minutes played.

Nigeria 0-2 South Africa

Mikel would have provided a killer pass and Moses will terrorise them on the wings.

They can't play forever. The coach failed to use the proper lineup

Nigeria 0-2 South Africa

The coach should be fired, Simon Moses should not be in the SE, how can you ignore onyekuru the hottest player in Belgium?

Not sure if Nigeria misses them or if it was the tactical setup. Players like Iwobi, Kele looked lost and without direction. I couldnt understand the long balls and the persistence with using them when that route was clearly not working.

9jaMan wrote:

Nigeria 0-2 South Africa

The coach should be fired, Simon Moses should not be in the SE, how can you ignore onyekuru the hottest player in Belgium?

Forget all those names. All these players suck , that's why they are shining in back water leagues.

9jaMan wrote:

Nigeria 0-2 South Africa

It was not solely about missing Onyekuru. Rather it was about a lack of experience and leadership on the field. Rohr was also out-coached.

mystic wrote:
9jaMan wrote:

Nigeria 0-2 South Africa

It was not solely about missing Onyekuru. Rather it was about a lack of experience and leadership on the field. Rohr was also out-coached.
Kpom. When i saw the line uP i knew we are going to struggle to qualify for the ANC

I think Balogun was more missed than those 2.
The schoolboy blunders in the back would not have happened, were he there.

Nigeria 0-2 South Africa

jb

Post by jb »

Nigeria 0-2 South Africa

atink dem say Mikel dey China him no sabi play again and e too slow. dem come say na ndidi be de man, dem no know say Mikel na old soja wey sabi stabilize midfield and makam possible for rookies to shine. Naija on don finish. If for any chance dem win for south Africa no dat time una go see say SA sabi use motchett

John Obi Mikel and Victor Moses are indispensable to the current SE 11. Mikel calms everybody down and picks the right passes. He also pressures the opposition. As for Moses, he is currently the most consistent attaker we have today in the mould of heroes of the past.

Onazi has no place in the SE. He is all hustle with very poor output!

jb wrote:

Nigeria 0-2 South Africa

atink dem say Mikel dey China him no sabi play again and e too slow. dem come say na ndidi be de man, dem no know say Mikel na old soja wey sabi stabilize midfield and makam possible for rookies to shine. Naija on don finish. If for any chance dem win for south Africa no dat time una go see say SA sabi use motchett
Ndidi was missing for 90 minutes, unbelievable, At best Ndidi can come in as a sub when the the game is won, Ndidi is junk with a capital J

We definitely lack a leader. Can you imagine Keshi being captain of a team one nil down at home and they substitute a player - Kele - and he takes 10 minutes to get off the pitch with a face like a slapped AZZ? He would have gotten konked on his head. When the SA player was the only one hurrying the mugu I knew we would lose.

Goldleaf wrote:John Obi Mikel and Victor Moses are indispensable to the current SE 11. Mikel calms everybody down and picks the right passes. He also pressures the opposition. As for Moses, he is currently the most consistent attaker we have today in the mould of heroes of the past.

Onazi played very well in the first half, but could do nothing when our play completely broke down in the 2nd half. Ndidi was a major disappointment today.
Komani

Post by Komani »

Nigeria 0-2 South Africa

You were expecting penetration when Iwobi was the only creative player on the pitch? Our midfield three was filled with workhorses..why not play Ogu over Onazi or start Iwobi as a 10 and play say Onyekuru on the left?? Aluko needs to start getting in this squad because apart from Mikel and say Iwobi, we don't have any other creative options.

Is anyone still out there that thinks experience counts for nothing?
Onazi that is the captain, how old is he sef?
See how 21 yr olds and age-grade 'superstars' are made to face reality in the full international game.

Iheanacho
Etebo
Simon
Ndidi
Awuziem

Only Osimhen seemed on point and his stint was too brief to be sure.

Meanwhile, 'Oldies' like Echejielle and Onazi just don't seem to have it any more.
As for Akpeyi..... :roll:

Need to also critically look at the value (or lack thereof) that Iwobi and Iheanacho bring to the table as strikers.
They were extremely poor today.

I liked the hustle that Kayode and Osimhen brought when they came in. I agree with you on Onazi - we clearly need other options.
Goldleaf wrote:John Obi Mikel and Victor Moses are indispensable to the current SE 11. Mikel calms everybody down and picks the right passes. He also pressures the opposition. As for Moses, he is currently the most consistent attaker we have today in the mould of heroes of the past.

airwolex wrote:We definitely lack a leader. Can you imagine Keshi being captain of a team one nil down at home and they substitute a player - Kele - and he takes 10 minutes to get off the pitch with a face like a slapped AZZ? He would have gotten konked on his head. When the SA player was the only one hurrying the mugu I knew we would lose.
I wonder o! I was thinking...wtf?????

9jaMan wrote:

Nigeria 0-2 South Africa

Simon was our best attacker BY FAR.

A thread like this is the reason Nigeria lost today. This is NOT about players not here. This is about players who are here! Jeeezzzzz!!! When you have dumb players, this is the result you get. When you have a coach who does not understand that in modern football, you need to push up, then this is the result you get.