Page 1 of 2

FULL MATCH RECORDING: Nigeria 0 South Africa 2

Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2017 9:58 pm
by Enugu II
Link:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=42HZyaC_UAs

Resole your ratings of Onazi, Awaziem, Etebo, etc. Also watch both goals and who to blame.

Re: FULL MATCH RECORDING: Nigeria 0 South Africa 2

Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2017 10:00 pm
by The YeyeMan
You expect me to watch that horror show again?

Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2017 10:10 pm
by Enugu II
The YeyeMan wrote:You expect me to watch that horror show again?
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: The Yeyeman, I understand how you feel but if you did you will notice Nigeria dominating most of the game until they went behind. the problem, however, is that in spite of the domination no real danger for South Africa.

Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2017 10:11 pm
by The YeyeMan
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: The Yeyeman, I understand how you feel but if you did you will notice Nigeria dominating most of the game until they went behind. the problem, however, is that in spite of the domination no real danger for South Africa.
Nigeria dominated possession but SA looked more threatening when they had the ball.

Sterile possession is what the experts call it. :lol:

Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2017 10:12 pm
by Odas
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I won't either. Apart from losing, the game was too boring, such that I left after the first half only to see a 2-0 loss for us. At first, I thought something was wrong with my eyes. Later, I thought the "Thread Starter" made a mistake by giving our goals to South Africa. Unfortunately for me, all what I feared was correct.

Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2017 10:12 pm
by The YeyeMan
Btw, what's to resolve on Awaziem's performance? Are you saying he played well?

Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2017 10:14 pm
by Enugu II
The YeyeMan wrote:Btw, what's to resolve on Awaziem's performance? Are you saying he played well?
No. He made mistakes but I think he is being excoriated because of the loss. He actually played much better than we have seen Omeruo in games.

Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 1:21 am
by Gotti

Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 1:31 am
by mcal
...too painful to watch, I'll pass.

Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 1:44 am
The YeyeMan wrote:Btw, what's to resolve on Awaziem's performance? Are you saying he played well?
He played very well. AND I STAND BY THAT STATEMENT! I watched him closely and I was very impressed. He was jittery about 2 times, during the game, but his performance was very good.

The problem, from a defensive point of view was two things:

1. Onazi is NOT a defensive midfielder. Thats a fact. He doesnt have the positioning to protect the CBs the way a true DM does.

2. Echiejile is a worthless football player. he may very well be a good person, but as a footballer, he is one of the worst I have ever seen. His positioning on that left is atrocious, and his inability to recover when he goes forward, leaves the defenders completely open.

Shehu didnt make things easier, as the South Africans went after us from the wings, but if you watch the way they came at us, the two culprits were Onazi (at DM) and Echiejile.

p.s-- What angers me most about Onazi is that I actually was a huge fan of his 3 years ago. I remember at the world cup vs France, he dominated Pogba. The French had to injure him, in order to have a chance. He was a beast! To watch him show little regard for his career and end up in Turkey annoys me so much.

Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 1:45 am
by asabatex
The defense is at fault for both goals, but Akpeyi is completelt useless. He should have fouled the South African player on the second goal.

Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 2:01 am
asabatex wrote:The defense is at fault for both goals, but Akpeyi is completelt useless. He should have fouled the South African player on the second goal.
I disagree. Well, at least for the 2nd goal. We had a freekick, the two CB went forward to head the ball. Where were the defensive midfielders and the wing backs who should have stayed back. In fact, the likes of Musa should have stayed back since he is fast and he is not tall. he would have been perfect to protect against the counter.

As for the first goal, the cross from the left should never have come in.

Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:51 am
by Dammy
He played very well. AND I STAND BY THAT STATEMENT! I watched him closely and I was very impressed. He was jittery about 2 times, during the game, but his performance was very good.

1. Onazi is NOT a defensive midfielder. Thats a fact. He doesnt have the positioning to protect the CBs the way a true DM does.

2. Echiejile is a worthless football player. he may very well be a good person, but as a footballer, he is one of the worst I have ever seen. His positioning on that left is atrocious, and his inability to recover when he goes forward, leaves the defenders completely open.

Shehu didnt make things easier, as the South Africans went after us from the wings, but if you watch the way they came at us, the two culprits were Onazi (at DM) and Echiejile.

p.s-- What angers me most about Onazi is that I actually was a huge fan of his 3 years ago. I remember at the world cup vs France, he dominated Pogba. The French had to injure him, in order to have a chance. He was a beast! To watch him show little regard for his career and end up in Turkey annoys me so much.

Onazi is own his way back to Italy with Fiorentina interested in signing him.

Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 9:27 am
by Tobi17
maybe its just me who isn't too bothered about the result cause I pretty much saw it coming, for a while we were riding on a false crest of "we are back to winning ways" while beating teams like Luxembourg, a hapless Algerian team, a weak Zambian team, and a team B Togolese team...we met real opposition and fumbled but lessons have been learned...for starters never again should Ihenacho be played as a lone striker especially with a MF that lacks the creative players short of decent/average players like Ndidi and Etebo (we seriously need creative midfielders, Rohr really has to get to work fast on this one, apart from an aging Mikel we can try out young players like Ajagun, Nwakali, heck even the Alhassan guy can be tested out in that role since he has that guile and technique of Kanu at least based on what I've seen in his games so far....) I also hope it won't be a far reaching wish that we somehow get the English-born Nigerian boys like Onomah, Ejaria,Lookman and Sheyi to play for us before England...and Echejilie should never wear the GWG again, dude is washed up and just too one dimensional for my liking, surely its time for the likes of Aina(what's up with him this days?) and Moruf to be tried out in that position, and of course with the return of Victor Moses, Isaac, Mikel, Ideye, and Ikeme,...we should hopefully get some balance in this team.

abeg what happened to the likes of Bazee, Onyekuru, Aina? those guys are talents we seriously need to build on.

Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 9:29 am
by Chief Ogbunigwe
Enugu II wrote:Link:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=42HZyaC_UAs

Resole your ratings of Onazi, Awaziem, Etebo, etc. Also watch both goals and who to blame.

No thanks. Let TFCO and Rawlings watch it as many times as they like. That horror show is for enemies of Nigeria to watch.

Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 9:41 am
by lacidi
Awaziem was the worst defender in the team.

Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 11:12 am
by papilo
You are right to a certain extent. We dominated possession of the ball but had no shot on goal all game. That is not good enough. I like possession football but if you play 90 minutes without a shot on goal, even if you have 80% possession, you have had a bad game.

Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 11:44 am
by Tobi17
you know it is that bad for you when you have Onazi and Etebo as your most creative players...its an insult to the prestige and legacy of a team that produced the likes of Kanu, JJ, Amunike etc, you can't play ball hustlers as your creative channels, its simply asking for trouble. Rohr should have at least tried Alhassan Mu'azam in that attacking midfield role since the lad has all the cerebral qualities of a Kanu Nwankwo, I guess the coach doesn't have much faith in him cause he is home based...the earlier we realize the likes of Onazi, Etebo, Echejilie, Awaziem, Akpeyi are not starting players the better for us, even Iwobi needs to be benched in our games ahead...and never again should Nacho play as a lone striker, he is a damn support striker and he excels in that role playing behind a striker with good hold up play like Ideye.

Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 1:44 pm
The following players should never be invited to the SE again
1. Akpeyi
2.Simon Moses
3. Chidozie Awazie or whatever his name is, no ball sense, can't jump ..what a huge wastepipe
4 .Shehu Abdulahi

these players aren't good enough at all, pure rubbish

Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:58 pm
by Cristao II

On Onazi, I remember him as a box to box player. He is not disciplined enough to be a DM. He is a very good destroyer in the CM role. We also dont know the effect of that injury vs. the French.

Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 4:17 pm
by bret- hart
I cant believe I would live to see the day my beloved Eagles would lose to South fuuking Africa. :curse: This game loss fd up my whole weekend mehn. Geeria Rhor better make things right in August/September. 6pts vs those vile cameroonians will somewhat erase this horror show.

Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 12:53 am
by TonyTheTigerKiller
A number of observations:

1. Some things are sacred in football. Apparently, Rhor does not seem to realize that so maybe we should rethink his suitability to coach Nigeria. Under no circumstances should anyone have been allowed to wear the 10 shirt in Mikel's abscence.

2. Nigeria cannot and will not succeed with an under 23 team. Ndidi, Etebo, Shehu and Awaziem may have potential but they are just not ready. We need experience badly. Omeruo and Ambrose must be brought back into the mix immediately.

3. Those who think Simon is a suitable option for Ahmed Musa ought to have their heads examined.

4. Mikel is the only thing Nigeria has going for her. Without Mikel, the SuperEagles are just a B team, sorry to say :!: :!: :!:

Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 1:01 am
by Tbite
You couldn't pay me enough money to watch this again.