Page 2 of 2

Re: WHO IS WATCHING MEXICO VS USA:

Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 6:22 pm
by kolinzo
If USA must to go deep in WC Brad Guzan can't be the goalie. No way!!

Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 6:58 pm
by King Futcha
Time to (been time for years) to move on from the Jozy Neverscores 'era'

Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:28 pm
by DIMKA76
Synopsis wrote:One loss and eveyone goes crazy.
It's not because we lost. It's the way we lost.

Re: Naijans in Yankee: US vs Mexico at the Azteca

Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:38 pm
by 1naija
Scipio Africanus wrote:Organization: US has a great edge over Nigeria. No doubt about that.

Coaching: Not so sure.

Players: Nigeria edges the US on aggregate.

Summary: The USA have never lost to Nigeria at the senior level.

US 3-2 Nigeria 1995 US Cup

US 2-1 Nigeria 2014 friendly
In the game you mentioned which I highlighted, we (Nigeria) didn't go with our full squad. I hope you remember, but yeah, we lost.

I looked through the FIFA website for the game result and it didn't say Nigeria lost but they did not use their full squad.

Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 9:36 pm
by Olayemi14
They are. They have made the final 16 of every WC since 1994. Germany, France and Spain cannot boast of the same. In addition, they made the Q/F in '86.
TheHitman47 wrote:I will honestly say that Mexico is the best national team outside of Europe and South America.

Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 10:04 pm
by metalalloy
DIMKA76 wrote:

Kpom. Watching the mexico vs US game and compare that to the dross on display in uyo. See how Mexico and US were just zipping fast sharp passes and moving off the ball, making runs and giving each other options to receive the ball. All we did was move horizontally time and time agian.

I tire.

Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 11:02 pm
by Scipio Africanus
TheHitman47 wrote:I will honestly say that Mexico is the best national team outside of Europe and South America.
Oh Mexico! I love the people, the food, the culture and especially their football, but they seem to have a mental block at the round of 16.

1994 WC - R16: Tied with Bulgaria at FT. Lost on PKs.

1998 WC - R16: Up against Germany 1-0. Missed many chances to make it 2 and then late goals by Klinsmann and Bierhoff knock them out.

2002 WC - R16: A sparkling Mexican squad, who beat Croatia in the 1st round, and completed a 22 pass move that led to a sizzling equalizer against Italy, tamely go out to their arch rivals USA 0-2. Dos a cero again.

2006 WC - R16: Tamely go out against a Tevez led Argentina 1-3.

2010 WC - R16: Crash out again against Argentina

2014 WC - R16: This has got to be the most painful. Up against the Netherlands 1-0. Missed many chances to make it 2 and then very late goals by Sneijder and an ojoro PK knock them out.

Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 1:22 am
by Kabalega
kolinzo wrote:If USA must to go deep in WC Brad Guzan can't be the goalie. No way!!
Who else? Tim Howard?

Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 7:05 pm
by mcal
Scipio Africanus wrote:
Oh Mexico! I love the people, the food, the culture and especially their football, but they seem to have a mental block at the round of 16.

1994 WC - R16: Tied with Bulgaria at FT. Lost on PKs.

1998 WC - R16: Up against Germany 1-0. Missed many chances to make it 2 and then late goals by Klinsmann and Bierhoff knock them out.

2002 WC - R16: A sparkling Mexican squad, who beat Croatia in the 1st round, and completed a 22 pass move that led to a sizzling equalizer against Italy, tamely go out to their arch rivals USA 0-2. Dos a cero again.

2006 WC - R16: Tamely go out against a Tevez led Argentina 1-3.

2010 WC - R16: Crash out again against Argentina

2014 WC - R16: This has got to be the most painful. Up against the Netherlands 1-0. Missed many chances to make it 2 and then very late goals by Sneijder and an ojoro PK knock them out.
...may be they have something akin to our SE mentally. The only 2x we were out at the round of 16 (94 & 98) we were the football power to be reckoned with in the world just like Mexico is now, and has been since.

Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 8:02 pm
by Synopsis
DIMKA76 wrote:

Kpom. Watching the mexico vs US game and compare that to the dross on display in uyo. See how Mexico and US were just zipping fast sharp passes and moving off the ball, making runs and giving each other options to receive the ball. All we did was move horizontally time and time agian.

I tire.
And we didn't play good football in our previous matches?

Our second goal was akin to Barcelona.

Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2017 11:56 pm
by db10
DIMKA76 wrote:

I tire.
Nuff said. No comparison.