Why Rohr Dropped Ahmed Musa and Omeruo

mojojojo
Why Rohr Dropped Ahmed Musa and Omeruo

Post by mojojojo »

Head coach of the Super Eagles, Gernot Rohr, dropped Ahmed Musa for Moses Simon, after deciding against fielding two players who are observing the Ramadan fast on the same flank.

Rohr made the call to help the team maintain their energy level on the right side, especially since Shehu Abdullahi will be starting at right back.

Abdullahi is also a Muslim.

Simon will now play in a three man attack alongside Kelechi Iheanacho and Alex Iwobi in a 4-3-3 formation.

FC Po‎rto defender Chidozie Awaziem will start ahead of Chelsea loanee Kenneth Omeruo in the heart of Nigeria’s defence alongside William Troost-Ekong.

Awaziem made his international debut for Nigeria against Togo last few days ago, but the 20 year old has gotten the nod to start ahead of Omeruo who has been a stalwart at the back for Nigeria since 2013.

Owngoalnigeria.com gathered the decision to start Chidozie Awaziem was taken by Rohr in France, as he did several drills with the defenders ahead of the Bafana Bafana game. Omeruo didn’t make it to camp.

Also, Rohr believes South Africa forward Tokelo Rantie has a physiological edge over Omeruo, after he dominated the Nigerian defender few years ago in an AFCON qualifier at same venue.

http://dailypost.ng/2017/06/10/nigeria- ... na-bafana/
Re: Why Rohr Dropped Ahmed Musa and Omeruo

Ahmed Musa should not be in the SE, he is not good enough, the sooner the coach picks players on merit and quit this biased player selections the better, awaziem is junk with a capital J, if Rohr could not see that in training then it's time for a new coach, this is football, it's either you got it or you don't

9jaMan wrote:Ahmed Musa should not be in the SE, he is not good enough, the sooner the coach picks players on merit and quit this biased player selections the better, awaziem is junk with a capital J, if Rohr could not see that in training then it's time for a new coach, this is football, it's either you got it or you don't
I agree he is not good enough and shouldn't be playing for Nigeria but it's hardly his fault we lost 2-0 at home to the Genocidal republic of Southern Africa!
papilo

Post by papilo »

9jaMan wrote:Ahmed Musa should not be in the SE, he is not good enough, the sooner the coach picks players on merit and quit this biased player selections the better, awaziem is junk with a capital J, if Rohr could not see that in training then it's time for a new coach, this is football, it's either you got it or you don't
Not true. He is a promising defender who is not ready for senior national team football. This should be a lesson to fans and coaches. We should stop craving for the induction of young inexperienced players into the senior national team. Many of these lads we go on about on here are decent and talented but not ready for senior national team football.
yes o

Papilo,

You hit the nail on the head. The senior national team is really only for accomplished and established professional footballers. You can always sprinkle in the occasional precocious young player that is under-20 and under-23. I can't imagine us showing up in August against Cameroun with the largely Flying Eagles team we paraded against the Bafana Bafana. Merely seeing the likes of Enyeama, Ikeme, Mikel, Moses, Balogun, Omeruo, and Ideye file out against the Lions will give anyone confidence and you are assured of a tough output based on their experience and abilities.

Obong wrote:Papilo,

You hit the nail on the head. The senior national team is really only for accomplished and established professional footballers. You can always sprinkle in the occasional precocious young player that is under-20 and under-23. I can't imagine us showing up in August against Cameroun with the largely Flying Eagles team we paraded against the Bafana Bafana. Merely seeing the likes of Enyeama, Ikeme, Mikel, Moses, Balogun, Omeruo, and Ideye file out against the Lions will give anyone confidence and you are assured of a tough output based on their experience and abilities.
Is this same set of players we paraded when we ignominiously failed to qualify in the last Two AFCON tournaments?

A Ghana team with four debutants thrashed Ethiopia 5:0.

The problem isn't playing youth, especially if they are better than what we have.

The problem is a lack of experience. Ghana fielded a very young and experimental side, but it was anchored with John Boye, Harrison Afful, Asamoah Gyan and Andre Ayew. All the other players were U23. But at least you had a small core of older player to lead the team.

In the absence of Moses, Ikeme (Enyeama), Balogun and Mikel we had an untested goalie while the age of the onfield players was as follows:

23---23---20---29
-----24----20-----
-20----21----21---
-------20-----------

The two aged players were Onazi and Echiejile, neither of which are inspirational players. As much as I don't think Ahmed Musa is the future he should have started, as he's the closest thing to a leader in this Nigeria setup.

marutimon wrote:A Ghana team with four debutants thrashed Ethiopia 5:0.

The problem isn't playing youth, especially if they are better than what we have.

The problem is a lack of experience. Ghana fielded a very young and experimental side, but it was anchored with John Boye, Harrison Afful, Asamoah Gyan and Andre Ayew. All the other players were U23. But at least you had a small core of older player to lead the team.

In the absence of Moses, Ikeme (Enyeama), Balogun and Mikel we had an untested goalie while the age of the onfield players was as follows:

23---23---20---29
-----24----20-----
-20----21----21---
-------20-----------

The two aged players were Onazi and Echiejile, neither of which are inspirational players. As much as I don't think Ahmed Musa is the future he should have started, as he's the closest thing to a leader in this Nigeria setup.
Perhaps but the fact that it worked out for Ghana doesn't mean it wasn't an issue for Nigeria. Besides I'm not sure one can compare the quality of the Ethiopian opposition to that of South Africa.

All things equal, I'm not so so both results would hold if Nigeria and Ghana switched opponents.

Every shiny new player who gets bought by a decent team must now be an SE starter. Its annoying how we undervalue experience simply because they are now playing in China, Turkey etc, even though their play for SE hasn't dropped off and they are still the best in their relative positions. Its the consistently underperforming senior players the likes of Echiejile that we need to replace ASAP, but who are the potential players that can take over from them?

Both players will have made any difference if they had started...so look for another excuse
dhoney

Post by dhoney »

Every shiny new player who gets bought by a decent team must now be an SE starter. Its annoying how we undervalue experience simply because they are now playing in China, Turkey etc, even though their play for SE hasn't dropped off and they are still the best in their relative positions. Its the consistently underperforming senior players the likes of Echiejile that we need to replace ASAP, but who are the potential players that can take over from them?
@maceo4 ...na true you talk my brother. Honestly, I saw this coming. VE is the most annoying of the advocates of these young folks. You can not buy experience. The team should have been balanced with experienced folks.
Imagine this Ajebota team playing against a crooked Cameroun team.., we will be amazingly disgraced.
And Jesus said to the only leper that came back to thank Him after He healed ten.... "Chai....na only you waka come?".

23---23---20---29
-----24----20-----
-20----21----21---
-------20-----------

Well researched. :thumb:
Like I said, the two 'oldies' were no way the kind of on field leaders required.

KPOM Obong!
The problem is that too many people just REFUSE to acknowledge the difference between age-grade football and the senior game, talkless the senior international game.
That's why you hear us clamoring for talented U-20 players to be fast-tracked into the SE because they look so good at that level or even in senior leagues where that are mostly only playing intermittently. Onyekuru could get to West Ham (or wherever) next season and still become anonymous.

Look at all those Nigerians that won the U20 WC with England.
NONE of them are yet to cement a full place in their senior club sides. Not even their immediate seniors like Aina (Chelsea), Adarabioyo (Man City) and Abrahams (Chelsea, out on loan) are there yet.

EXPERIENCE MATTERS, and Rohr is not stupid. Neither are Pep (Man City), Klopp (Liverpool), Conte (Chelsea), Koeman (Everton) or Pochettino (Spurs) none of whom have fielded their Young Lions in their first teams on a regular basis. There is a reason for that. They are emerging talent, but talent nonetheless.

There is also a reason Rohr didn't field Onyekuru and went for Moses Simon and Musa. He saw what he saw and made a decision. Still, he fielded a very inexperienced team with no leadership and he has to take the blame.

KPOM Obong!
The problem is that too many people just REFUSE to acknowledge the difference between age-grade football and the senior game, talkless the senior international game.
That's why you hear us clamoring for talented U-20 players to be fast-tracked into the SE because they look so good at that level or even in senior leagues where that are mostly only playing intermittently. Onyekuru could get to West Ham (or wherever) next season and still become anonymous.

NONE of them are yet to cement a full place in their senior club sides. Not even their immediate seniors like Aina (Chelsea), Adarabioyo (Man City) and Abrahams (Chelsea, out on loan) are there yet.

EXPERIENCE MATTERS, and Rohr is not stupid. Neither are Pep (Man City), Klopp (Liverpool), Conte (Chelsea), Koeman (Everton) or Pochettino (Spurs) none of whom have fielded their Young Lions in their first teams on a regular basis. There is a reason for that. They are emerging talent, but talent nonetheless.

There is also a reason Rohr didn't field Onyekuru and went for Moses Simon and Musa. He saw what he saw and made a decision. Still, he fielded a very inexperienced team with no leadership and he has to take the blame.

Yeah, Rohr decided not to field the best player in " Belguim Senior" league and went for a player that is a confirmed junk, maybe Rohr wanted to lose the game to confuse the Cameroon team,? I know he must have a reason for his daft choices,.....

23---23---20---29
-----24----20-----
-20----21----21---
-------20-----------

Perhaps but the fact that it worked out for Ghana doesn't mean it wasn't an issue for Nigeria. Besides I'm not sure one can compare the quality of the Ethiopian opposition to that of South Africa.

All things equal, I'm not so so both results would hold if Nigeria and Ghana switched opponents
KPAM! :agree: :agree: :agree: :agree:

KPOM Obong!

Who are the experienced players that were missing from the SA game? Mikel and Moses? Weren't they playing the last time SA beat us?

KPOM Obong!

Who are the experienced players that were missing from the SA game? Mikel and Moses? Weren't they playing the last time SA beat us?
:???:

The last time South Africa beat us was in 2004 bros...