Page 2 of 2

Re: Can The NFF install grass at the Telsim Balogun Stadium?

Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 8:57 pm
by folem
felarey wrote:I agree, the SE needs to play in Lagos, 20+ yrs and no SE loss in Surulere (national stadium). I'd like to see that team that will beat SE 2 kondo in Lagos.
In 2004, Nigeria lost to Senegal 0-1 in LG Cup final.

Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 9:02 pm
by felarey
folem wrote:
felarey wrote:I agree, the SE needs to play in Lagos, 20+ yrs and no SE loss in Surulere (national stadium). I'd like to see that team that will beat SE 2 kondo in Lagos.
In 2004, Nigeria lost to Senegal 0-1 in LG Cup final.
Ok but when was the last loss before that?

Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 9:56 pm
by Obong
airwolex wrote:
maceo4 wrote:I remember Cameroon beating us in Lagos with JJ, Finidi, Kanu, Ikpeba (SE's best ever striker) etc...so no be stadium o, let Rohr do his job mschew!
Bros, I'm not saying they must come to Lagos but that UYO crowd no be am. It was as if they were in Church. Dem no like football for Akwa Ibom?
The "Uyo crowd" comprised of fans from Calabar, Aba, Port Harcourt, Owerri, Umuahia, other neighboring towns, and the many that flew in or drove in from Lagos and Abuja including the full-strength Supporters Club. When we are all done with the excuses, we'll address the apparent weaknesses of the team.

Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 10:01 pm
by Eaglezbeak
maceo4 wrote:I remember Cameroon beating us in Lagos with JJ, Finidi, Kanu, Ikpeba (SE's best ever striker) etc...so no be stadium o, let Rohr do his job mschew!
It was 2-2 after 90 minutes that's officially a draw but obviously a team has officially lift the trophy!

Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2017 2:26 am
by Gotti
Some of you folks have obviously been away for too long. Lagosians no longer have that thirst for live footy...
Crowd will be sparse - unless perhaps Wizkid, Olamide and Davido will play at half time, before and after the game.

Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2017 2:35 am
by The YeyeMan
Gotti wrote:Some of you folks have obviously been away for too long. Lagosians no longer have that thirst for live footy...
Crowd will be sparse - unless perhaps Wizkid, Olamide and Davido will play at half time, before and after the game.
And during.

Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2017 6:53 am
by airwolex
Gotti wrote:Some of you folks have obviously been away for too long. Lagosians no longer have that thirst for live footy...
And during.

Honestly Premier League and Champions League has killed football in Lagos. People just don't want to watch anything but Arsenal, Chelsea and Barca. But you can't blame them, Lagosians like winners and the SE unfortunately are on a downward spiral.

Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2017 6:54 am
by airwolex
Obong wrote:
airwolex wrote:
Bros, I'm not saying they must come to Lagos but that UYO crowd no be am. It was as if they were in Church. Dem no like football for Akwa Ibom?
The "Uyo crowd" comprised of fans from Calabar, Aba, Port Harcourt, Owerri, Umuahia, other neighboring towns, and the many that flew in or drove in from Lagos and Abuja including the full-strength Supporters Club. When we are all done with the excuses, we'll address the apparent weaknesses of the team.
Bros, maybe it was the acoustics or maybe it's the Stadium but the atmosphere was somehow.

Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2017 4:21 pm
by felarey
I think Lagosians are just making do with what they have. We can still have Wizkid, Olamide and Davido at half time and we won't need free admission to pack the stadium, another reason to find a way to get back to Lagos.

Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2017 4:23 pm
by felarey
airwolex wrote:
And during.

Honestly Premier League and Champions League has killed football in Lagos. People just don't want to watch anything but Arsenal, Chelsea and Barca. But you can't blame them, Lagosians like winners and the SE unfortunately are on a downward spiral.
Those players featuring in the premier league and champions league will bring those lagosians to watch them in SE shirt. There's argument to be made that SE will be much more likely to be winners in Lagos going by historical stats.

Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2017 7:30 pm
back track t SE vs Salone (2-1) the stadium was packed and it was a friendly... played at the Telsim Balogun stadium

Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2017 11:20 pm
by Gotti
back track t SE vs Salone (2-1) the stadium was packed and it was a friendly... played at the Telsim Balogun stadium
Not only was that more than 6 years ago (Feb 2011), but the stadium was not even half-full... :oops:

Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 2:08 am
by maceo4
Not only was that more than 6 years ago (Feb 2011), but the stadium was not even half-full... :oops:
Damn, aight BP let's scratch this idea, Uyo it is :taunt:

Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 5:34 pm
by wiseone
Nigeria has not lost a game in Lagos in 90 minutes for nearly 40 years. Even the "loss" to Cameroon was a 2-2 draw AET (+ referee assist in the penalty hoot out).
I recall the refs robbing us blind on that day.
Exactly even in the intensity of Lagos refs still made wrong calls against us, so you guys are overblowing the whole intimidation factor of Lagos crowds...