Page 1 of 3

Bye Bye Uyo? - Kickoff Chief

Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:47 pm
by Cmoke
http://www.espnfc.com/nigeria/story/314 ... -qualifier

Nigeria are considering a change to both the date and venue for their 2019 World Cup qualifier against Cameroon, originally scheduled for the Godswill Akpabio Stadium Uyo in August.

Top NFF sources informed KweseESPN that the match could now be played on 1 September, rather than the initial scheduled date of 28 August.

One reason, according to multiple sources within the NFF, is to allow coach Gernot Rohr a little more training time with his squad.
ADVERTISEMENT

With the change in date also comes a change in venue, with Uyo on the verge of being discarded.

Officials say the Yakubu Gowon Stadium in Port Harcourt is top on the list of replacement venues, with the National Stadium Abuja as a fallback option.

The pitch in Abuja has fallen into disrepair, but repair work is already going on with Lansard Ltd doing clean up while waiting for major rejuvenation for the now patchwork grass.

Re: Bye Bye Uyo? - Kickoff Chief

Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:50 pm
by kolinzo
Ambode needs to get to work and build a stadium in Lagos, the rightful home of SE. Anyway, this team is cursed sha. We haven't been to 3 ANCs now. I can't even remember the last time I watched a SE game. It's that bad!!

Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:52 pm
by 1naija
Cmoke wrote:http://www.espnfc.com/nigeria/story/314 ... -qualifier

Nigeria are considering a change to both the date and venue for their 2019 World Cup qualifier against Cameroon, originally scheduled for the Godswill Akpabio Stadium Uyo in August.

Top NFF sources informed KweseESPN that the match could now be played on 1 September, rather than the initial scheduled date of 28 August.

One reason, according to multiple sources within the NFF, is to allow coach Gernot Rohr a little more training time with his squad.
ADVERTISEMENT

With the change in date also comes a change in venue, with Uyo on the verge of being discarded.

Officials say the Yakubu Gowon Stadium in Port Harcourt is top on the list of replacement venues, with the National Stadium Abuja as a fallback option.

The pitch in Abuja has fallen into disrepair, but repair work is already going on with Lansard Ltd doing clean up while waiting for major rejuvenation for the now patchwork grass.

FIFA and CAF can just go ahead and hand us the ticket now. Port Harcourt will surely deliver just like it has delivered classy babes, oil, world class football (Rivers United and Yobo) and everything else Nigeria has today to Nigeria.

Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 11:02 pm
by Cmoke
Ma broda,

I agree o.

If na PH, I go go, Baba God willing!

Uyo sucks as a football town. The people are too docile to instill fear on our players never to dare lose at home! If you don see SE play for Surulere, you will no say na true I dey yarn!

Abuja worst! Make dem no even think am.

Cmoke :D :D :D :D :D :D

PS:

My Ikwere broda, once them decide PH, u must begin arrange my welcome package!

Cmoke wrote:http://www.espnfc.com/nigeria/story/314 ... -qualifier

ADVERTISEMENT

FIFA and CAF can just go ahead and hand us the ticket now. Port Harcourt will surely deliver just like it has delivered classy babes, oil, world class football (Rivers United and Yobo) and everything else Nigeria has today to Nigeria.

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 12:01 am
by Synopsis
Backward mentality. First time in years that a SE match played in Nigeria possessed a decent pitch and we're ready to discard it because of a loss.

I don't want anyone blaming future losses on bumpy surfaces.
We finally have something close to a world class stadium and we want to ditch it for a cheap 15,000 capacity stadium.

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 12:22 am
by maceo4
Synopsis wrote:Backward mentality. First time in years that a SE match played in Nigeria possessed a decent pitch and we're ready to discard it because of a loss.

We finally have something close to a world class stadium and we want to ditch it for a cheap 15,000 capacity stadium.
Stupid stereotypes being thrown around about being docile and all types of nonsense as if it's the venue that causes the loss, Nigerians just have to find something or someone to blame. But I doubt this story is true anyway.

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 12:31 am
by Odas
kolinzo wrote:Ambode needs to get to work and build a stadium in Lagos, the rightful home of SE. Anyway, this team is cursed sha. We haven't been to 3 ANCs now. I can't even remember the last time I watched a SE game. It's that bad!!
:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: Is it three (3) or two (2)? I thought it is two

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 12:37 am
by Odas
Synopsis wrote:Backward mentality. First time in years that a SE match played in Nigeria possessed a decent pitch and we're ready to discard it because of a loss.

Stupid stereotypes being thrown around about being docile and all types of nonsense as if it's the venue that causes the loss, Nigerians just have to find something or someone to blame. But I doubt this story is true anyway.
"Stupid stereotypes" or not, if the belief is "we will do better in Port-Harcourt" (placebo), then let's go there. We need to do anything and everything we can to - at least - beat Cameroon at home.

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 1:31 am
Yes I am tired of that rubbish UYO....that stadium isn't fit to host the SE. ..who ever fixed the pitch, can replicate it over at Abuja or PH....

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 3:04 am
by Tobi17
You can call superstition or bad luck or whatever, but I'll surely begin to question the wisdom of playing in a stadium on which Nigeria has missed out on 3 consecutive afcons, something different for a change is welcome at this point...Uyo will always be a special place for the right and wrong reasons in Nigerian football.

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 7:22 am
by Kabalega
kolinzo wrote:Ambode needs to get to work and build a stadium in Lagos, the rightful home of SE. Anyway, this team is cursed sha. We haven't been to 3 ANCs now. I can't even remember the last time I watched a SE game. It's that bad!!
:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: Is it three (3) or two (2)? I thought it is two
Same difference.... :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 10:57 am
by Synopsis
Tobi17 wrote:You can call superstition or bad luck or whatever, but I'll surely begin to question the wisdom of playing in a stadium on which Nigeria has missed out on 3 consecutive afcons, something different for a change is welcome at this point...Uyo will always be a special place for the right and wrong reasons in Nigerian football.
Please tell me which AFCON qualifying matches Nigeria lost in UYO.

2015 AFCON qualifiers

2017 AFCON qualifiers

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 11:07 am
by airwolex

I didn't even know that's a stereotype.

Apart from that am I the only one that finds the music from the supporters club sleep inducing, monotonic drivel. Time to change everything about the SE. We are stuck in the 80's!!

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 12:26 pm
by Enugu II
The fact is that results in games played at Uyo have been disappointing. That is a FACT. In March last year, I did an analysis of games played by SE in Nigerian venues. PH and Enugu are only venues where Nigeria has earned all three points at stake. Below is a link to that analysis:

http://eaglecity.blogspot.com/2016/03/q ... y-and.html

This is not to state that Uyo is cursed. However, it is simply to point out that results there have not been favorable.

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 1:58 pm
by pajimoh
Since The NFF started hawking our games all over Nigeria we've suffered from non qualification quite a bit. Decades of playing in Lagos meant there was an air of invincibility around the place. Teams hate coming to Lagos. Now other grounds just seem like a neutral venue to the SE.

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 2:04 pm
Enugu II wrote:The fact is that results in games played at Uyo have been disappointing. That is a FACT. In March last year, I did an analysis of games played by SE in Nigerian venues. PH and Enugu are only venues where Nigeria has earned all three points at stake. Below is a link to that analysis:

This is not to state that Uyo is cursed. However, it is simply to point out that results there have not been favorable.
Fix the total games played in Abuja , you listed 24 instead of 34

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 2:09 pm
by Cellular
Enugu II wrote:The fact is that results in games played at Uyo have been disappointing. That is a FACT. In March last year, I did an analysis of games played by SE in Nigerian venues. PH and Enugu are only venues where Nigeria has earned all three points at stake. Below is a link to that analysis:

Prof., the reason we have lost those crucial games in Uyo is because Vincent Enyeama has not been in goal.

We have the BEST Naijarian goalie of all time still active and he is sitting in the stands watching us fumble away home games.

BTW, we are not good enough not to have our better players playing.

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 2:13 pm
by Cellular
pajimoh wrote:Since The NFF started hawking our games all over Nigeria we've suffered from non qualification quite a bit. Decades of playing in Lagos meant there was an air of invincibility around the place. Teams hate coming to Lagos. Now other grounds just seem like a neutral venue to the SE.
I agree about the neutrality of the venue... or NFF intentionally selling our homefield advantage. But it is the economic situation that forces them to find who can host (pay) the Eagles. They pretty much sell their homefield. They might as well sell it to the away team and play two away games.

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 2:41 pm
by pajimoh
pajimoh wrote:Since The NFF started hawking our games all over Nigeria we've suffered from non qualification quite a bit. Decades of playing in Lagos meant there was an air of invincibility around the place. Teams hate coming to Lagos. Now other grounds just seem like a neutral venue to the SE.
I agree about the neutrality of the venue... or NFF intentionally selling our homefield advantage. But it is the economic situation that forces them to find who can host (pay) the Eagles. They pretty much sell their homefield. They might as well sell it to the away team and play two away games.
Their problem is they are not building a brand. That is why they are running around looking for state money.
They could have sold the TV rights for SE games and still maintain a home advantage. They will have to decide whether it's been worth it, missing a few AFCON's for their lazy effort of prostituting the SE all over the place

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 3:00 pm
by bret- hart
Move the venue back to Lagos.

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 3:26 pm
by maceo4
Bigpokey24 wrote:Yes I am tired of that rubbish UYO....that stadium isn't fit to host the SE. ..who ever fixed the pitch, can replicate it over at Abuja or PH....
So you just admitted the pitch is good and the one at the alternatives isn't, good luck getting those "fixed" before our next game...

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 3:36 pm
by maceo4

"Stupid stereotypes" or not, if the belief is "we will do better in Port-Harcourt" (placebo), then let's go there. We need to do anything and everything we can to - at least - beat Cameroon at home.
Then when we don't do well there nko? Then we try another stadium? We just keep roaming about every time we lose a game? The actual venue itself is top notch, pitch is top notch, what else do these players need to push them? Is it the non water draining PH bumpy field that make them play better?

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 3:42 pm
by joao
Wow!, in 2017 Nigerians are still believing in superstitions about a football venue?
Reasonable folks need not keep propagating ideas that set us back. Can any of those
claiming the Uyo stadium is the reason we are not getting good results provide proof
of why any other location would certainly provide victory even when our SE play rubbish
football?
This argument is quite depressing, considering the claim that we are enlightened.