African teams will lag behind until..

Local football infrastructures are developed. We cannot expect the Oyinbo to develop our players

The systems used by NTs are developed much earlier, when these guys are in academies. Players like Sanchez and Vidal are developed much earlier in their careers. By the time they play for the big sides they have all the tools they need to become great b
Re: African teams will lag behind until..

Overreaction to a disappointing end to the game.

Sometimes, teams have a golden generation & Chile has that at the moment. Not a joke to be repeat South American champions.

Cameroon won AFCON, but were barely the best team. It is also a young team. Yet they held their own for most of the game & controlled large portions of the 2nd half.

Your points are valid in general, but have no direct bearing on the outcome of this game.

YUJAM wrote:Local football infrastructures are developed. We cannot expect the Oyinbo to develop our players

The systems used by NTs are developed much earlier, when these guys are in academies. Players like Sanchez and Vidal are developed much earlier in their careers. By the time they play for the big sides they have all the tools they need to become great b
I believe they also need to be taught the discipline of team sports.
Cameroon today, like many African sides missed chances due selfishness.

Our players are always in a hurry to go to the next back water club or league in Europe at the developmental phase of their football when all the opportunities are there to harness their skills back home; but then can you really blame them? as you clearly stated the foundation of developing these players is generally weak in Africa, so players hop on the next plane to Serbia or Indonesia when money hungry agents come waving "better" offers to them than what they have...its truly an unending cycle thay keeps us lagging behind...in hindsight, it can definitely get better...but when?

truetalk wrote:Overreaction to a disappointing end to the game.

Sometimes, teams have a golden generation & Chile has that at the moment. Not a joke to be repeat South American champions.

Cameroon won AFCON, but were barely the best team. It is also a young team. Yet they held their own for most of the game & controlled large portions of the 2nd half.

Your points are valid in general, but have no direct bearing on the outcome of this game.
It has everything to do with the outcome. Teams like Chile or Colombia don't have better athletes than Nigeria or Cameroon. But they will almost always be better cohesively and also have the one or two world class players that can
Make the difference. Why is this? Because they have a better system
Of football development from their junior teams all the way up to their leagues. That's the difference
aykwes8

Post by aykwes8 »

You should refer to Cameroon directly and not say african.some african teams have done ok against non African teas.camroon on the other hand have always opened their back side. as long as it isn't an african team they will open their back side. I cant recall when he last time they wona gaame against a non african side. May be since ringer milla retired? I never really saw roger mills so i cant verify

That is probably the most stupid statement Africans ever made!

If you take away Sanchez and Vidal, its hard to point where Chile has an advantage over CAM wrt the quality of talent available...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

@YUJAM, funny you should post this. I was just getting excited by what I saw on the ground in Uganda.
Kai, :scared:
People don't what is coming to hit them. FUFA should keep it up. I will leave it at that.

RE: Cameroon vs Chile, the Chileans have an 8 year head start on Cameroon.
They used to lose points in games they dominated due to their short fuses and short height.
Their draw against Germany before Brazil 2014, is a classic example. What a game BTW. :thumbs:

aykwes8 wrote:You should refer to Cameroon directly and not say african.some african teams have done ok against non African teas.camroon on the other hand have always opened their back side. as long as it isn't an african team they will open their back side. I cant recall when he last time they wona gaame against a non african side. May be since ringer milla retired? I never really saw roger mills so i cant verify
Let's be honest to ourselves. It is African teams in general. We simply aren't good enough to compete with the top tier and even the second tier.

YUJAM wrote:
aykwes8 wrote:You should refer to Cameroon directly and not say african.some african teams have done ok against non African teas.camroon on the other hand have always opened their back side. as long as it isn't an african team they will open their back side. I cant recall when he last time they wona gaame against a non african side. May be since ringer milla retired? I never really saw roger mills so i cant verify
Let's be honest to ourselves. It is African teams in general. We simply aren't good enough to compete with the top tier and even the second tier.

I would add 3rd tier...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Make the best decisions with the ball and execute well.

Make sure the passes/shots/crosses are accurate.

Make sure the player can control the pass

Many other things will fall into place.
Last edited by Robotnik on Sun Jun 18, 2017 10:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

YUJAM wrote:
:agree: :agree: :agree:
We like to rub shoulders with the top teams in our imagination, but refuse to see what is keeping us back.
Germany does not have better football talent than Cameroon or many other African teams. What lifts them
above Africans is 'team discipline' - being in chorus, like thinking and working together.

That is probably the most stupid statement Africans ever made!

If you take away Sanchez and Vidal, its hard to point where Chile has an advantage over CAM wrt the quality of talent available...
Yea so basically Chile is a better team with their bigger stars abi? And don't forget Vargas. When Cameroon had stars like Etoo he could carry them further in the tourney, right now the African World Class stars are few and far between and Cameroon doesn't have one for sure...their teamwork can only carry them so far without real game winners.

YUJAM wrote:

I would add 3rd tier...

Let just be honest and add 4th tier

Undertaker wrote:
YUJAM wrote:

I would add 3rd tier...

Let just be honest and add 4th tier
If they cannot beat Australia then...

We just aren't good enough sadly. We might spring a surprise here and there but in tight games we seem to make catastrophic errors in both ends of the pitch. The other teams get the basics right, passing and execution for example. Even shooting straight we can't do

realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

joao wrote:
YUJAM wrote:
We like to rub shoulders with the top teams in our imagination, but refuse to see what is keeping us back.
Germany does not have better football talent than Cameroon or many other African teams. What lifts them
above Africans is 'team discipline' - being in chorus, like thinking and working together.
Team Intelligence, like a boxer an intelligence team will find ways to break you down.
camex

Post by camex »

Yujam,

Your comment applies to all sector of human activities. Education,sports,business. This why african countries built universities and schools after independence.Obviously, the continent is not going to produce a Bill Gates tomorrow,in my opinion, unless extremmelly lucky.

realtrouble wrote:
joao wrote:
YUJAM wrote:
Team Intelligence, like a boxer an intelligence team will find ways to break you down.
We have smart phones, electronics etc.
We need smart teams in Africa.

camex wrote:Yujam,

Your comment applies to all sector of human activities. Education,sports,business. This why african countries built universities and schools after independence.Obviously, the continent is not going to produce a Bill Gates tomorrow,in my opinion, unless extremmelly lucky.
True.
BTW, Africa had universities and quality schooling before independence.
camex

Post by camex »

Kabalega wrote:
camex wrote:Yujam,

True.
BTW, Africa had universities and quality schooling before independence.
how many?
Kneedeep

Post by Kneedeep »

YUJAM wrote:Local football infrastructures are developed. We cannot expect the Oyinbo to develop our players

The systems used by NTs are developed much earlier, when these guys are in academies. Players like Sanchez and Vidal are developed much earlier in their careers. By the time they play for the big sides they have all the tools they need to become great
Don't waste your breath.

We believe in "talents", "abundant natural resources", and "potential" not systems and the long term application to developing structures that work for us. We consider ourselves rich because there are rocks and oily sludge in the ground that we can neither extract, process, nor sell in a profitable manner by ourselves. If we could only find the right prayer, babalawo(traditional spiritualist), or messiah, we could achieve all our desires
Last edited by Kneedeep on Sun Jun 18, 2017 10:51 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Advocating rational thought since 1987

So what's the way forward?