Alternatives to Balogun

Re: Alternatives to Balogun

TheHitman47 wrote:
TheHitman47 wrote:Omeruo is fine if we play him in the right position. When we played against Algeria he played as a left back. That's not his natural position. Play him as a Center back and he will do a job. I still think Ekong will massively improve.
Did you watch the match or is that a mistake? Omeruo played LB?
Typo. But he was played out of position. He was responsible for Bentaleb's goal and the other near catastrophic blunders that we saw.
Are you even serious? Please apologize for this fiction. The clips are on youtube.

Onazi played a pass across the field which was intercepted. Mahrez starts a brilliant run into our half & Etebo starts to track him down, Onazi also chases from the other side to try to make amends. Mahrez brilliantly nutmegs Etebo, but Etebo still continues the chase. Etebo & Onazi are about to close in in Mahrez, but he loses both of them with a brilliant turn. Lots of space to pick out Bentaleb who has advanced with no one close by (not sure if it should have been Mikel or Iwobi to track & the defense stayed back). Bentaleb picks out his spot and blasts a sweet goal.

Omeruo was not a factor. That goal was 80% due to the brilliance of Mahrez. Start from 2:57 on the video below

truetalk wrote:
TheHitman47 wrote:
TheHitman47 wrote:Omeruo is fine if we play him in the right position. When we played against Algeria he played as a left back. That's not his natural position. Play him as a Center back and he will do a job. I still think Ekong will massively improve.
Typo. But he was played out of position. He was responsible for Bentaleb's goal and the other near catastrophic blunders that we saw.
Are you even serious? Please apologize for this fiction. The clips are on youtube.

Onazi played a pass across the field which was intercepted. Mahrez starts a brilliant run into our half & Etebo starts to track him down, Onazi also chases from the other side to try to make amends. Mahrez brilliantly nutmegs Etebo, but Etebo still continues the chase. Etebo & Onazi are about to close in in Mahrez, but he loses both of them with a brilliant turn. Lots of space to pick out Bentaleb who has advanced with no one close by (not sure if it should have been Mikel or Iwobi to track & the defense stayed back). Bentaleb picks out his spot and blasts a sweet goal.

Omeruo was not a factor. That goal was 80% due to the brilliance of Mahrez. Start from 2:57 on the video below

Nothing beats video evidence! :clap: :clap:

truetalk wrote:
TheHitman47 wrote:

smartbrother wrote:
truetalk wrote:
TheHitman47 wrote:

Yep, it was the 3rd midfielder who didn't track back while the other two were busy wrestling with a slippery Mahrez. Iwobi tries to retreat most of the time, but this mysterious third midfielder is usually missing on the defensive side of the ball but I no go name names lol
F360

Post by F360 »

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:
F360 wrote:
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:
lacidi wrote:
Enugu II wrote:Our defense is just poor and that is underlined by the struggle here to crown Ekong or Balogun as our best. Neither is international class in my opinion. Awaziem had a poor game v South Africa but even then is better than Omeruo. People write about Omeruo's experience as if it makes a difference. What did that experience do for us when his error gifted Zambia a goal in the Wcq?
Awaziem is not better than Omeruo.
Omeruo is our best defender; better than the afore mentioned trio. In fact, my choice for central defense would be Omeruo and Ambrose except for the fact that Ambrose is needed on the right so I go with Omeruo and Balogun :!:

Ambrose? Efe Ambrose? The Efe Ambrose?? :???: The Celtic legend?
I guess you are one of those internet experts who read only the headlines and jump to stupid conclusions. Have you even followed Efe? If you had, you wouldn't make such retarded statements like the one above. The fact that a particular coach doesn't favor a particular player doesn't mean the player isn't class. Consider Conte and Mikel, Conte and Costa, Pepe and Nacho, etc. Are you going to put your foot in your big mouth by claiming that Mikel, Costa and Nacho are not very good, sorry great players? Did you know that Efe went on loan to a club where he was nothing short of outstanding and that he's been signed to a permanent contract? You should stick to reading fiction and comic books and stop commenting on football, something you know absolutely nothing about :!: :!: :!:

If you say so chief. Be the Efe Ambrose expert and stay on his nuts. Cos he never had bad performances under Neil Lennon, it was roses and daffodils during that period. Meanwhile it was mean old Brendan Rodgers that did him wrong and caused him to have bad perfomances in the rare times he saw the pitch.
I'll be sure to keep your advice in mind before discarding it. In the meanwhile, Be Well and say Hi to Efe when next you meet him as you let him know that you had his back and stuck up for him and his honour on an internet message board. :rotf: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :rotf:

--------------------------------------------

truetalk wrote:
TheHitman47 wrote:

watch Min 1.32 and see what Mikel brings to our midfield, kai see that skill, the stadium went crazy

TheHitman47

Post by TheHitman47 »

truetalk wrote:
TheHitman47 wrote:

You are right that Omeruo wasn't at fault for that goal but he was 100% at fault for the goal we conceded to Zambia in our first WCQ. Also from that goal one of the midfielders should have tracked back to close up that space. That wasn't 80% Mahrez brilliance, that was 80% not protecting space.

smartbrother wrote:
truetalk wrote:
TheHitman47 wrote:

Yep, it was the 3rd midfielder who didn't track back while the other two were busy wrestling with a slippery Mahrez. Iwobi tries to retreat most of the time, but this mysterious third midfielder is usually missing on the defensive side of the ball but I no go name names lol
You are looking for BigPunkey's trouble this early morning!

Anyway, the mysterious one has been top notch for us since the Cassava farming and Gucci slippers exploits in Brazil. He even returned to Brazil for what was nothing short of a heroic role on and off the field during the Olympics.

You must recognize that the mystery man has never had the lungs to run all over the place for 90 minutes. Now that he is playing further upfield we will just surround him runners and hustlers like Ndidi and Etebo (did you see how he was all over Mahrez, even after being nutmegged out of that possession).

We ride his stabilizing influence for 70-75 minutes after which Ogu comes to take his place and he can go and relax on the bench. That should be the modus operandi going forward.

TheHitman47 wrote:
truetalk wrote:
TheHitman47 wrote:

You are right that Omeruo wasn't at fault for that goal but he was 100% at fault for the goal we conceded to Zambia in our first WCQ. Also from that goal one of the midfielders should have tracked back to close up that space. That wasn't 80% Mahrez brilliance, that was 80% not protecting space.
See this guy, abeg name names!!!!! We played with 3 midfielder and you see 2 of them struggling with Mahrez, so who is the one midfielder you are asking to track back? :sneaky:

truetalk wrote: You are looking for BigPunkey's trouble this early morning!

Anyway, the mysterious one has been top notch for us since the Cassava farming and Gucci slippers exploits in Brazil. He even returned to Brazil for what was nothing short of a heroic role on and off the field during the Olympics.

You must recognize that the mystery man has never had the lungs to run all over the place for 90 minutes. Now that he is playing further upfield we will just surround him runners and hustlers like Ndidi and Etebo (did you see how he was all over Mahrez, even after being nutmegged out of that possession).

We ride his stabilizing influence for 70-75 minutes after which Ogu comes to take his place and he can go and relax on the bench. That should be the modus operandi going forward.
Lol, I no wan that bobo's wahala...e go come point to one tackle that the mysterious one did in the Zambia game, so that excuses him from ever having to track back again in his life... :winking:

On a side note why does Akpayi always look hopeless in goal.. :boo: :oops: