AS HOST RUSSIA WORSE THAN SOUTH AFRICA

Posted: Sat Jun 24, 2017 5:41 pm
by jette1
What has happened to Russia football lately. If what I see in confederation cup is their best then Russia is simply terrible; no wonder likes of musa thrives in Russia

Re: AS HOST RUSSIA WORSE THAN SOUTH AFRICA

Posted: Sat Jun 24, 2017 5:55 pm
by mcal
...they are a okay, just ran into a tenacious Mexicans, though better start shopping for a goalie.
That yoruba Akin-whatever :biggrin: goalie they have no be am any more.
Note, they also have Kanu-like name :thumbs:

Posted: Sat Jun 24, 2017 8:31 pm
by Eaglezbeak
mcal wrote:...they are a okay, just ran into a tenacious Mexicans, though better start shopping for a goalie.
They still show no love to an African!

Posted: Sat Jun 24, 2017 9:20 pm
by Odas
mcal wrote:...they are a okay, just ran into a tenacious Mexicans, though better start shopping for a goalie.
... and based on such hatred alone, they should lose all their games, even during the World Cup tournament :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Sat Jun 24, 2017 9:40 pm
by Coach
State sponsored "training" program come the summer.

Posted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 12:29 am
by Man Ataye

Mayb I am missing something, but Akin Feed Basket was never anything between those poles!!!! :boo: :boo: :boo: :boo: Besides, the talent pool Mexico, or even chile have, they should not lose to those doughnut workers from russia....

Posted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 3:16 am
by Chief Ogbunigwe
Not sure the fuss here. Russia is NOT a soccer powerhouse. They are participating only by virtue of the fact that they are the hosts.

Posted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 12:54 pm
by kajifu
They will get easy group come next year world Cup.
Ref also will be on their side,
It will be nice to see Russia,England , USA on same group....Then SE come top the group with 3 win

Posted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 1:58 pm
by Eaglezbeak
... and based on such hatred alone, they should lose all their games, even during the World Cup tournament :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
They most probably will and hopefully an African team helps to conclude their fate!

Posted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 3:17 pm
by bret- hart
Russia hosting the world cup was a huge mistake.

Posted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 5:34 pm
by metalalloy
Coach wrote:State sponsored "training" program come the summer.
:rotf: dis no be olynpics!

Posted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 5:47 pm
by ohenhen1
bret- hart wrote:Russia hosting the world cup was a huge mistake.

Why do you say that?

Because they are not good at playing football?

Posted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 5:50 pm
by ohenhen1
Russia will probably make it to the 2nd round. They did go up against Continental champions like Portugal. We are lucky that the world cup will be held in Russia in 2018. Glad that FIFA is not involved geo politics. After 2018,we will then go to Qatar in 2022. So much global geopolitical problems. Football can help unite the world. It certainly not a mistake.

Posted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 6:17 pm
by marutimon
ohenhen1 wrote:Russia will probably make it to the 2nd round. They did go up against Continental champions like Portugal. We are lucky that the world cup will be held in Russia in 2018. Glad that FIFA is not involved geo politics. After 2018,we will then go to Qatar in 2022. So much global geopolitical problems. Football can help unite the world. It certainly not a mistake.
Depends on the group. Russia could well have a group composed of France, Mexico, Uruguay (like South Africa did). Would you really expect them to make it out of this group?

Posted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 6:22 pm
by ohenhen1
marutimon wrote:
ohenhen1 wrote:Russia will probably make it to the 2nd round. They did go up against Continental champions like Portugal. We are lucky that the world cup will be held in Russia in 2018. Glad that FIFA is not involved geo politics. After 2018,we will then go to Qatar in 2022. So much global geopolitical problems. Football can help unite the world. It certainly not a mistake.
Depends on the group. Russia could well have a group composed of France, Mexico, Uruguay (like South Africa did). Would you really expect them to make it out of this group?
Uruguay is no longer a strong side. Still time to build a stronger side for the world cup. The confederation cup is good preparation for Russia.

Posted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 4:44 pm
by joao
jette1 wrote:What has happened to Russia football lately. If what I see in confederation cup is their best then Russia is simply terrible; no wonder likes of musa thrives in Russia
Russian football is in a slump just like our SE. They have achieved much in football, unless you fail to see it.
On hosting the WC, I believe they deserve it as they have the facilities and organizational ability.
With regards to Musa, he is a better player than prejudice would allow you to admit. Just check his
resume, and compare it to those you always salivate about. A player is as good as the system he plays
in. Check CSKA Moscow performance in CL while Musa was there.

Posted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 9:02 pm
by ohenhen1
Russia will be seeded. I think they will get a decent group and make it to the 2nd round. Still time to improve the team.

Posted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 10:59 pm
by TheHitman47
ohenhen1 wrote:Russia will be seeded. I think they will get a decent group and make it to the 2nd round. Still time to improve the team.

Being seeded doesn't Guarantee you anything, especially at the World Cup. Pot 3 can be a CONMEBOL team like Ecuador or Uruguay and Pot 4 can be a 2nd tier European side like Sweden or Switzerland. That combined with a decent African team or Asian team?

Russia Struggled last World Cup in a group that had Algeria, and South Korea along with an underachieving Belgium side and Crashed out of the Euros with Wales, Slovakia and England in their group. It's not looking good for them.

Posted: Fri Jun 30, 2017 12:09 am
by Kabalega
kajifu wrote:They will get easy group come next year world Cup.
Ref also will be on their side,
It will be nice to see Russia,England , USA on same group....Then SE come top the group with 3 win

Posted: Fri Jun 30, 2017 12:12 am
by Kabalega
bret- hart wrote:Russia hosting the world cup was a huge mistake.
Why?

Posted: Fri Jun 30, 2017 12:29 am
by Kabalega
TheHitman47 wrote:
ohenhen1 wrote:Russia will be seeded. I think they will get a decent group and make it to the 2nd round. Still time to improve the team.

Being seeded doesn't Guarantee you anything, especially at the World Cup. Pot 3 can be a CONMEBOL team like Ecuador or Uruguay and Pot 4 can be a 2nd tier European side like Sweden or Switzerland. That combined with a decent African team or Asian team?

Russia Struggled last World Cup in a group that had Algeria, and South Korea along with an underachieving Belgium side and Crashed out of the Euros with Wales, Slovakia and England in their group. It's not looking good for them.
I think, Russia can improve dramatically, if they work on a few things, like their attacking formation and shooting.

For example, key forwards were often completely disoriented during attack and unaware that they were offside even when Stevie Wonder knew, they were.
Proper coaching should fix that issue as well as the shooting.

They have other issues related to the insular nature of their game and the fact that Russian players struggle abroad.

Posted: Fri Jun 30, 2017 3:55 am
by goke313
lmaooo Russia are guranteed to be there....we should be concerned about Nigeria

Posted: Fri Jun 30, 2017 3:57 am
by Mzekezeke
jette1 wrote:What has happened to Russia football lately. If what I see in confederation cup is their best then Russia is simply terrible; no wonder likes of musa thrives in Russia

Nonsense! You need to change your thread heading! Stop hating on Mzansi!