Do Euro and South American teams...

Have better football IQ than African teams? this might come off as demeaning but damn!I could make a power point presentation on this nagging issue... Look at the 2014 world cup, an arguably more talented and athletic Ghanaian team had all the tools to beat Germany, but fell short of a draw...and the Germans didn't even try too hard! this has always been the pattern for top African teams from past world cups when faced with European and South American countries...we can blame poor tactics, poor coaching/football fundamnentals, lack of discipline etc for decades to come but let's at some point accept that those European and South American teams arr a notch above us in football IQ...today confirmed it, even a second string German team made Cameroon look like thrash...sorry but no African team will smell a world cup semi final, only the Nigerian team of '94, Senegal team of 2002, and Ghanaian team of 2010 had all the toold, if only they had half the collective IQ's of their European counterparts.
Re: Do Euro and South American teams...

Arguably more talented than the German team?? In what way and how?
guest83

Post by guest83 »

The problem is not football IQ. It's because african teams are trying to play like the europans. It will never work.

Give the SE team to Mourinho and he wouldn't field small players like Musa. He would play 4-5-1, all combative midfielders, center backs as full backs, and explode on teams with the counter attack. That's how the SE should play. Use our natural power and pace. It wouldn't be pretty but it would get results. That's for sure.

As they say 'Talent is overrated!' There are hundreds of thousands of super talented ex-street footballers all over Benin City alone who never even made it to Bendel Insurance FC. Talent is an initial advantage but the other factors that give the slight edge for football success need to be learned.

gochino wrote:Arguably more talented than the German team?? In what way and how?
:lol: :lol: :lol: There is a reason why some of us think JJ Okocha was a better footballer than say Cristiano Ronaldo. We look at football from street soccer perspective.

guest83 wrote:The problem is not football IQ. It's because african teams are trying to play like the europans. It will never work.

Give the SE team to Mourinho and he wouldn't field small players like Musa. He would play 4-5-1, all combative midfielders, center backs as full backs, and explode on teams with the counter attack. That's how the SE should play. Use our natural power and pace. It wouldn't be pretty but it would get results. That's for sure.
Your Nigerian fans don't like such football, they want to play like barcelona

YemiBrazil wrote:As they say 'Talent is overrated!' There are hundreds of thousands of super talented ex-street footballers all over Benin City alone who never even made it to Bendel Insurance FC. Talent is an initial advantage but the other factors that give the slight edge for football success need to be learned.
I would have been a pro, but them force me to read book..I for don play many worldcup ..so shocking not youtube highlights of me

Yes they do. But the reason isn't because we are less intelligent. It is because they invest more in their football organization and infrastructure. We need better football systems, youth systems all the way up to leagues where fundamentals can be inculcated in footballers early

when Oyibo go moon, we were still struggling to get to our villages 50 miles from the city

Go Figure!!!!

Tobi17 wrote:Have better football IQ than African teams? this might come off as demeaning but damn!I could make a power point presentation on this nagging issue... Look at the 2014 world cup, an arguably more talented and athletic Ghanaian team had all the tools to beat Germany, but fell short of a draw...and the Germans didn't even try too hard! this has always been the pattern for top African teams from past world cups when faced with European and South American countries...we can blame poor tactics, poor coaching/football fundamnentals, lack of discipline etc for decades to come but let's at some point accept that those European and South American teams arr a notch above us in football IQ...today confirmed it, even a second string German team made Cameroon look like thrash...sorry but no African team will smell a world cup semi final, only the Nigerian team of '94, Senegal team of 2002, and Ghanaian team of 2010 had all the toold, if only they had half the collective IQ's of their European counterparts.

Individually, no. I would actually argue that African players are ahead wrt individual technique...

Where we are lacking is in the organizational aspect of the team game and finding the right balance between spontaneity and structured methodology...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Rawlings wrote:when Oyibo go moon, we were still struggling to get to our villages 50 miles from the city

Go Figure!!!!
This.

South Africa has one of the best rugby team in the world because they have great facility ..they have schools with great facilities that build youngsters from grassroots ....It is not that the Germans are more talented but are more clinical.

Redesign our leagyes...build facilities at high school...then give the best of the scholarships to play in colleges that has great facilities ...get a draft process to make it easy for the most talented players to enter the domestic league....

All these any opportunity u leave to Europe is what killing African football.

Brazilians and Germans do not do that ...that's why they breed footballers from their factories ...

Benedict Iroha wrote:
Rawlings wrote:when Oyibo go moon, we were still struggling to get to our villages 50 miles from the city

Go Figure!!!!
This.

South Africa has one of the best rugby team in the world because they have great facility ..they have schools with great facilities that build youngsters from grassroots ....It is not that the Germans are more talented but are more clinical.

Redesign our leagyes...build facilities at high school...then give the best of the scholarships to play in colleges that has great facilities ...get a draft process to make it easy for the most talented players to enter the domestic league....

Brazilians and Germans do not do that ...that's why they breed footballers from their factories ...
Take Gabriel Jesus and Kelechi Iheanacho. No one will convince me Jesus is more talented. But Jesus honed his skills at home, had a full season against adults and only then moved. As compared to Iheanacho...

marutimon wrote:
Benedict Iroha wrote:

Go Figure!!!!
This.

Take Gabriel Jesus and Kelechi Iheanacho. No one will convince me Jesus is more talented. But Jesus honed his skills at home, had a full season against adults and only then moved. As compared to Iheanacho...
Why do you always come across as making excuses?

Iheanacho maybe more naturally talented, and that is arguable, but he is far more developed as a footballer. And its not merely from playing adults, but from actually being trained better...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

First and foremost, how applicable is the term team to each of Africa's applicants for the honour? The same can be said for each continent. One argue, what blights African football more than anything else, is a lack of footballing philosophy and identity. Aside from being big, strong, athletic, superlatives once upon a time, reserved for the bare-chested, willy swinging carelessly in the wind, mandingos, clobbering seven bells out of one another for the entertainment of the master. Africa needs a way, a manifesto of some sort, within that an identity can be forged. It is somewhat disingenuous to ask the opening posta questionn, for it could be argued, there are fewer teams more cocktailed and pick n' mixed and consequently, more burdened by variety of curriculum, than most Africans.

In short, greater emphasis must be placed on the grassroots game and the legislation of youth.

Nno!

Tobi17 wrote:Have better football IQ than African teams? this might come off as demeaning but damn!I could make a power point presentation on this nagging issue... Look at the 2014 world cup, an arguably more talented and athletic Ghanaian team had all the tools to beat Germany, but fell short of a draw...and the Germans didn't even try too hard! this has always been the pattern for top African teams from past world cups when faced with European and South American countries...we can blame poor tactics, poor coaching/football fundamnentals, lack of discipline etc for decades to come but let's at some point accept that those European and South American teams arr a notch above us in football IQ...today confirmed it, even a second string German team made Cameroon look like thrash...sorry but no African team will smell a world cup semi final, only the Nigerian team of '94, Senegal team of 2002, and Ghanaian team of 2010 had all the toold, if only they had half the collective IQ's of their European counterparts.
Yes. Anything else or explanations is just tales by moonlight or excuses. I didnt ev3n bother watching cameroon v germany because I knew germany would win. Only a mad man would bet the rent on an african team. Its harsh but the players are simply dumb and dont have the mental fortitude to concentrate 90 mins. Could it be that thee way our society is structured certain types gravitate towards football and they are less smart than their football counterparts in europe and americas :rotf:

Tobi17 wrote:Have better football IQ than African teams? this might come off as demeaning but damn!I could make a power point presentation on this nagging issue... Look at the 2014 world cup, an arguably more talented and athletic Ghanaian team had all the tools to beat Germany, but fell short of a draw...and the Germans didn't even try too hard! this has always been the pattern for top African teams from past world cups when faced with European and South American countries...
actually they did try hard. i was in the stadium

the heat that day sapped both teams' energy. Remember that Germany went down 2-1 before the sub (Muller IIRC) equalised

YUJAM wrote:Yes they do. But the reason isn't because we are less intelligent. It is because they invest more in their football organization and infrastructure. We need better football systems, youth systems all the way up to leagues where fundamentals can be inculcated in footballers early
...true talk no one wanna touch, rather the thieves and their enablers will dance around it, ignore it.
Look at none footballing nations like the USA, China, the gulf states, all attracting former big league pros.

Benedict Iroha wrote:

Go Figure!!!!
This.

Oga you buttressed my point
What's the "pigmentation" of 90% of the south Africa RUGBY team?

Tobi17 wrote:Have better football IQ than African teams? this might come off as demeaning but damn!I could make a power point presentation on this nagging issue... Look at the 2014 world cup, an arguably more talented and athletic Ghanaian team had all the tools to beat Germany, but fell short of a draw...and the Germans didn't even try too hard! this has always been the pattern for top African teams from past world cups when faced with European and South American countries...
actually they did try hard. i was in the stadium

the heat that day sapped both teams' energy. Remember that Germany went down 2-1 before the sub (Muller IIRC) equalised
Another Fortaleza story loading.......

I was the goal keeper for a weekend select team made up of mostly NIgerians. It was when we played and lost to in Indian select team that I knew African footballers in most cases do not have high footballing IQ. We came fully equipped with our kits and a large number of us were 6 feet and over. The other team did not come prepared, no jerseys or shin guards. We were made to agree not be rough with them throughout the encounter since our size alone intimidated them. For all our enterprise we lost the game 2-4. We were obviously the more talented team, but our forwards were more occupied with how many players they could dribble and selfishness was order of the day. The indian team looked more purposeful with the ball. At times they would hit the ball from 25-30 yards. It was just a kick-about but this match left me wondering and proved a good example some short comings of African (Nigerian) football mindset. Our players did not seem as bothered as I was, they seemed to be happy just to play. I would have loved if we were more result oriented.
Tunisian Gooner

Post by Tunisian Gooner »

YUJAM wrote:Yes they do. But the reason isn't because we are less intelligent. It is because they invest more in their football organization and infrastructure. We need better football systems, youth systems all the way up to leagues where fundamentals can be inculcated in footballers early
Detective Bunk Moreland

'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'
TheHitman47

Post by TheHitman47 »

Coach wrote:First and foremost, how applicable is the term team to each of Africa's applicants for the honour? The same can be said for each continent. One argue, what blights African football more than anything else, is a lack of footballing philosophy and identity. Aside from being big, strong, athletic, superlatives once upon a time, reserved for the bare-chested, willy swinging carelessly in the wind, mandingos, clobbering seven bells out of one another for the entertainment of the master. Africa needs a way, a manifesto of some sort, within that an identity can be forged. It is somewhat disingenuous to ask the opening posta questionn, for it could be argued, there are fewer teams more cocktailed and pick n' mixed and consequently, more burdened by variety of curriculum, than most Africans.

In short, greater emphasis must be placed on the grassroots game and the legislation of youth.

Nno!

Other than being Physical and trying to take on players 1v1 what is the identity of most African national teams. I don't really see it, and some of the "identities" that I see don't work at the international level.

Rawlings wrote:Oga you buttressed my point
What's the "pigmentation" of 90% of the south Africa RUGBY team?
Whats the pigmentation of 80% of the French national team?
Or of 50% of the All Blacks Rugby team?
Stop it.