The Arsenal - Related News and Development for 2017/2018

Re: The Arsenal - Related News and Development for 2017/2018

https://news.arseblog.com/2018/04/arsen ... mory-lane/

A trip down memory lane from Arseblog
"Our enemies are the political profiteers, the swindlers, the men in high and low places that seek bribes and demand 10 percent; those that seek to keep the country divided permanently so that they can remain in office as ministers or VIPs at least, the tribalists, the nepotists, those that make the country look big for nothing before international circles, those that have corrupted our society and put the Nigerian political calendar back by their words and deeds." - Kaduna Nzeogwu

Heliopolis wrote:
:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Yes, because none of the players saw this coming. And plus, what do you expect them to do in that instance? Start harlem shaking in the locker room?

Wenger leaving is welcome but bittersweet. My one regret is he didn't leave nearly a decade ago when it was already clear then he was out of touch with the modern game. Despite not having the financial firepower of his competitors, Wenger demonstrated his savvy up until the 2007-08 season but has been absolutely useless ever since. Good riddance to him. I blame the club more than anything. No manager and no player should be above scrutiny.
My exact sentiments. Folks are now crying like the man didn't overstay his welcome?

Wonder if they will hire another accountant?

Many sports franchises fire their great coaches because management does realize that the badge/club is bigger than one person.

The greedy owners should have fired him years ago if not that he was balancing their books.

Being mediocre is not Arsenal's portion...

He has played his part, now it is time for someone to play his...

Wenger did not die, he is 'retiring' from a job he was well compensated for...
Problem is you don't get it. You never will. :lol: :lol: :lol:

He won a major trophy last May. He got to one final since and in another semi final with the 5th largest budget in the league.

You want to talk money and Owners. When Wenger arrived nobody will pay you £250 for your share. Two weeks ago, two shares sold for £38,500 each.

You want to talk balancing the books. Have you read Arsenal's accounts. Go read the Balance Sheets especially. Do you know Arsenal have made profits in the last two windows? Bit, we must not let the facts get in the way of a good story.
Waffi, I agree, I don't get it.

But I peeped the con years ago... as long as the cash was coming in he was safe. Now, the cash is not going to come in as it was before... the numbers are down. The optics on TV show it. Even around the world, the number of fans wearing Arsenal gear are down. You can tell me all your inside gist but the optics is what it is... I might not know how to define pornography but I can tell you one when I see one...

He was fired/retired/letgo 3 years too late.

There's an arms race in the EPL and he has passed his sell-by date.

I know in your next accountants association meeting you guys will be in mourning... you can erect a statue for him or rename a trophy for a club who balances their books every year, remains somewhat competitive and is able to fool their fans into thinking they are trying but at the end don't win a meaningful trophy big clubs should be aiming to win.
According to that most reliable of Arsenal sources - David Ornstein, the Board did not want him gone. This confirms beIN's Sport's earlier reports. This is what you don't get. Kroenke's best interest is with Wenger and he always delivered. He was never going to leg him go, at least according to David Ornstein.

To me, the Board and Owner are businessmen but they also know their best bet was with him. Kroenke just paid £38,500 per share, he bought his first shares for £8,000. He does not mess with Wenger.

Finally, Arsenal inability to compete is not down to Wenger only. I heard on BBC radio 5 live today of how Roman Abramovich changed the game. Wenger, who fought for players financially now could not compete. Vieira would have joined City so would many of his team mates. Not Wenger's fault.

Wenger left the club in far better shape than when he took over. Now let's see the magician that will win the CL and EPL on the same budget.

It’s not about how much money you spend but who you spend it on.

Toto bought alderwereild, Wanyama and Dier.

Arsenal bought Mustafi, Xhacrap, Chambers and re-signed Ozil .... I rest my case

ojafranpa

Post by ojafranpa »

Thomas Vermaelen

It has been a great honour to play for you and I am grateful for the opportunity you gave me to play for Arsenal FC. You deserve all the respect for what you have done for this club. I wish you all the best Boss! #MerciArsène
ojafranpa

Post by ojafranpa »

Mesut Özil

Passion, respect and success- that is what Arsene Wenger is all about. Thank u for what you've done for us at @Arsenal and the football world. ⚽️ I'm grateful for everything you've taught me & all the trust you've put in me no matter how difficult the situation was.Merci Boss!
tolahs

Post by tolahs »

That AW dared us to dream about being at the pinnacle will be forever appreciated - we were those tribal fans that rocked with Rocky, Micheal Thomas & had to deal with the bung & GG - there comes this geezer who liberated us - Sir, today you become a freeman again.
Thanks Boss.
If I give you a good wine, you will see how it tastes and after you ask where it comes from,'' ""To put players in my team who are not good enough will not strengthen the England team, and would weaken the Arsenal team.''The only thing I can say is that whenever England do not win it is always my fault,even when I am not at the game".Wenger said.
ojafranpa

Post by ojafranpa »

Mathieu flamini
The Red Army is losing its number one Commander.I am honoured to have served under you for so many years.I would like to express my gratitude and unconditional support to you for playing such a massive role in my career and for having an immense impact on the man I am.Thank you!

Aubameyang P-E

Im you’re last signing but since I’m here I’m proud to be your player Boss thanks for everything #merciarsene #legend

Ashley Cole

To the man who believed in me and trusted me to play in a great team,thank you for having my back. I will never forget the conversations we had and the belief you had in me thank you for some great memories and good luck in whatever is next for You #wenger

Kanu
“Big shoes for anyone to fill, playing for Arsenal under Arsene was one of the best periods of my career, 2 Premiership, 2 FA Cups, the Invincibles, playing with some of the best assembled players, influencing millions of fans in Africa to support this great club.”

Bacar Sagna

therealbacThis man just didn’t give me the opportunity to wear the Arsenal shirt..to discover the premier league.. to learn and improve by his side.. BUT this man changed my life.. i would always be grateful for what he has done for me and my family .. especially when i was going through hard personal moments. Your words mean a lot to me and i wanna take time to remind everyone he has made Arsenal bigger no matter what people are thinking about today.. From the bottom of my heart, Thank you Coach #Arsenal #ArseneWenger #emiratesstadium #powerfulpicture #sadday

Jesus at one point i though something hit Wenger....
Thank you for the memories you did your best but you over stay.Hope you get a national team job if you still want to be in the game as coach or get the PSG job as Oga Plat once said years ago get that and win CL since those Parisian has money to spend.
Respect once more boss, Arsenal make you more popular and rich without answering to no one with little accountability.

Now to those who put him before the club i hope you follow him to his new club and stick it where the sun doesnt shine but i will wait till he finally leave as i fear he might finish his contract.The board are not to be trusted.

Heliopolis wrote:

Yes, because none of the players saw this coming. And plus, what do you expect them to do in that instance? Start harlem shaking in the locker room?

Wenger leaving is welcome but bittersweet. My one regret is he didn't leave nearly a decade ago when it was already clear then he was out of touch with the modern game. Despite not having the financial firepower of his competitors, Wenger demonstrated his savvy up until the 2007-08 season but has been absolutely useless ever since. Good riddance to him. I blame the club more than anything. No manager and no player should be above scrutiny.
My exact sentiments. Folks are now crying like the man didn't overstay his welcome?

Many sports franchises fire their great coaches because management does realize that the badge/club is bigger than one person.

The greedy owners should have fired him years ago if not that he was balancing their books.

He won a major trophy last May. He got to one final since and in another semi final with the 5th largest budget in the league.

You want to talk money and Owners. When Wenger arrived nobody will pay you £250 for your share. Two weeks ago, two shares sold for £38,500 each.

You want to talk balancing the books. Have you read Arsenal's accounts. Go read the Balance Sheets especially. Do you know Arsenal have made profits in the last two windows? Bit, we must not let the facts get in the way of a good story.

But I peeped the con years ago... as long as the cash was coming in he was safe. Now, the cash is not going to come in as it was before... the numbers are down. The optics on TV show it. Even around the world, the number of fans wearing Arsenal gear are down. You can tell me all your inside gist but the optics is what it is... I might not know how to define pornography but I can tell you one when I see one...

I know in your next accountants association meeting you guys will be in mourning... you can erect a statue for him or rename a trophy for a club who balances their books every year, remains somewhat competitive and is able to fool their fans into thinking they are trying but at the end don't win a meaningful trophy big clubs should be aiming to win.
According to that most reliable of Arsenal sources - David Ornstein, the Board did not want him gone. This confirms beIN's Sport's earlier reports. This is what you don't get. Kroenke's best interest is with Wenger and he always delivered. He was never going to leg him go, at least according to David Ornstein.

To me, the Board and Owner are businessmen but they also know their best bet was with him. Kroenke just paid £38,500 per share, he bought his first shares for £8,000. He does not mess with Wenger.

Finally, Arsenal inability to compete is not down to Wenger only. I heard on BBC radio 5 live today of how Roman Abramovich changed the game. Wenger, who fought for players financially now could not compete. Vieira would have joined City so would many of his team mates. Not Wenger's fault.

Wenger left the club in far better shape than when he took over. Now let's see the magician that will win the CL and EPL on the same budget.

Arsenal bought Mustafi, Xhacrap, Chambers and re-signed Ozil .... I rest my case
If you have any sense in that mashed up Ozil, Xhaka brain of yours, you should know how he spent money kept us where and winning till now.

What have Spuds won? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Beyond the Double, beyond one of the most brilliant teams ever seen in England, for me, the most impressive thing about Wenger is the grace with which he has dealt with relentless and half-baked criticism and abuse during his time at the club. I remember how he had to face off the press and their paedophile rumours in his first few days at the club.

All you have to do is browse this thread and the main Arsenal thread, then read the abuse and insults. The same type of people in their minority are like empty vessels, they make the most noise. The man has almost never ranted, never shown bitterness, despite his immense achievements being dragged through the mud by many.

He made mistakes, putting the mistakes aside, his achievements will be sung from the rooftops in the next few weeks, and rightly so.

His appointment hauled English football into the best of 21st century football, he introduced so many inmovations to the game but what you hardly hear is how generous he was. For example, when others came and asked about his ideas, he explained and demostrated it to them. When Roman eamted to build Chelsea's training ground, he asked Wenger to see Arsenal's, Wenger took him on a guided tour of Arsenal's facility.

The man guarded Arsenal from the worst of English football whilst keeping them at the top. He remained a bastion of eloquence, perspective and dignity in an environment which was rapidly losing all three. Even in the most adverse of conditions, he never lost his sense of humour.

The Arsenal fans who have insulted him here and those who ever held up a Wenger out banner should take time out to read every single word of praise being justifiably lavished on him between now and the end of the season. They should think about how lucky they have been in the last 22 years. I know how lucky I have been, I witnessed Arsenal live and direct before Wenger and enjoyed every moment since he joined. I also had the pleasure of meeting him a few times. I know I will never get such an experience in my life time again.

One of the best advice I was given is you cannot reason with stupidity. You just allow them. So I try to avoid discourse with these people at all times. You just watch these people moan at next manager once he loses half a dozen games.
Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

Waffiman wrote:One of the best advice I was given is you cannot reason with stupidity. You just allow them. So I try to avoid discourse with these people at all times. You just watch these people moan at next manager once he loses half a dozen games.
get over yourself.......the reality of the situation is afc are behind the rebuilding process by 10 yrs. wenger should have gone much earlier,
the next couple of seasons will be a rebuilding process....the likes of you will be moaning for wenger....move on, it's not that important...if u don't like it, follow the club he will coach next....we are the arsenal :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke
Mzekezeke

Post by Mzekezeke »

I hope some of these so called Arsenal supporters follow their God Arsene Wenger out the door. Good riddance.
Patrick Ntsoelengo,Nelson Dladla,Petros Nzimande, Abednigo Ngcobo,Doctor Khumalo,Vusi Lamola,Gerald Dlamini,Simom Lehoko,Silvester Kole,Lucas Radebe,Jan Lichaba, Leonard Likoebe,Edson Mguyo, Arie Khongoane,Marks Maponyanye,Donald Khuse, Jabu Pule, Mark Tovey, Zebulon Nhlapo,Gabriel Tikkie Khoza,Moran Khulu,Michael Dlamini,Johannes Mofokeng, Wellinton Manyathi,Jingles Perreira....... to be continued....Amhakhosi Kaizer Chiefs!!!!!!!
Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

Waffiman wrote:Beyond the Double, beyond one of the most brilliant teams ever seen in England, for me, the most impressive thing about Wenger is the grace with which he has dealt with relentless and half-baked criticism and abuse during his time at the club. I remember how he had to face off the press and their paedophile rumours in his first few days at the club.

All you have to do is browse this thread and the main Arsenal thread, then read the abuse and insults. The same type of people in their minority are like empty vessels, they make the most noise. The man has almost never ranted, never shown bitterness, despite his immense achievements being dragged through the mud by many.

He made mistakes, putting the mistakes aside, his achievements will be sung from the rooftops in the next few weeks, and rightly so.

His appointment hauled English football into the best of 21st century football, he introduced so many inmovations to the game but what you hardly hear is how generous he was. For example, when others came and asked about his ideas, he explained and demostrated it to them. When Roman eamted to build Chelsea's training ground, he asked Wenger to see Arsenal's, Wenger took him on a guided tour of Arsenal's facility.

The man guarded Arsenal from the worst of English football whilst keeping them at the top. He remained a bastion of eloquence, perspective and dignity in an environment which was rapidly losing all three. Even in the most adverse of conditions, he never lost his sense of humour.

The Arsenal fans who have insulted him here and those who ever held up a Wenger out banner should take time out to read every single word of praise being justifiably lavished on him between now and the end of the season. They should think about how lucky they have been in the last 22 years. I know how lucky I have been, I witnessed Arsenal live and direct before Wenger and enjoyed every moment since he joined. I also had the pleasure of meeting him a few times. I know I will never get such an experience in my life time again.
you can go and follow wenger to whichever club he decides to sign for.....then you can relive the experiences al over again :taunt:
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

https://www.fourfourtwo.com/features/op ... ssion=true

I was a Season Ticket holder long before Wenger and I will be a Season Ticket holder long after Wenger. I am ready for the next era at Arsenal.

I will never forget what Wenger did for the club, I am one of the fortunate few fans who witnessed it all in person. Also, I will not forgive the fans who abused him. It is they who should get out of our club.
Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

Waffiman wrote:https://www.fourfourtwo.com/features/op ... ssion=true

I was a Season Ticket holder long before Wenger and I will be a Season Ticket holder long after Wenger. I am ready for the next era at Arsenal.

I will never forget what Wenger did for the club, I am one of the fortunate few fans who witnessed it all in person. Also, I will never forgive the fans who abused and hounded him. It is they who should get out of our club.
waffi listen, you will always be my guy regardless, but you seem to mistake loyalty for progress...wenger was all that and a bag of chips (as Robby would say)....but to say he was hounded out by fans......no
he left because of his inability to reproduce, plane and simple
results are the be all and end all, and someone has to take the fall......him
next is Kroneke......he's out the door, just a matter of when

Waffiman wrote:https://www.fourfourtwo.com/features/op ... ssion=true

I will never forget what Wenger did for the club, I am one of the fortunate few fans who witnessed it all in person. Also, I will not forgive the fans who abused him. It is they who should get out of our club.
Thanks for the article. Sums up my feelings.
"Our enemies are the political profiteers, the swindlers, the men in high and low places that seek bribes and demand 10 percent; those that seek to keep the country divided permanently so that they can remain in office as ministers or VIPs at least, the tribalists, the nepotists, those that make the country look big for nothing before international circles, those that have corrupted our society and put the Nigerian political calendar back by their words and deeds." - Kaduna Nzeogwu
tolahs

Post by tolahs »

i was as driven as any to get the boss to step down due to bad results but for those of you members of the Gooner_nation who can't help your base instinct to lynch the Great man at this crucial point in our history - i gotta wonder why the crassness.
The manner of Manager we looked to recruit B4 AW vs those lining up to come in now is incontrovertible evidence that we're an elite club - the way we've ascended to that spot is a story that can only be told with Exec Producer Monsieur Wenger front & center. The sort of arguments we've now about performances & winning big trophies have been inspired by the Great man.
On leaders staying too long or being flawed - MLK, Winnie Mandela, JFK & RFK, Mugabe, Maggie Thatcher etc - it goes on.
Stop making it a peeing contest - move on to the beginning of healing the Gooner nation & show the class that kept AW driven & passionate for our cause!!! Bless

P/S: Luis Enrique or Leonardo Jardim will do for me...Thanks.
If I give you a good wine, you will see how it tastes and after you ask where it comes from,'' ""To put players in my team who are not good enough will not strengthen the England team, and would weaken the Arsenal team.''The only thing I can say is that whenever England do not win it is always my fault,even when I am not at the game".Wenger said.

platinum wrote:Vieira? I'm pretty certain that it was on these very pages some swore he and Arsene were sworn lifelong enemies....when I have time, I will go digging. :lol: :lol:
Retribution is coming.
I remember this. I guess it's like messy and Ronaldo, who while they aren't friends are very civil.

PSG boss Emery on Wenger: "Every year we have a meeting with 10 to 15 coaches. He's a reference for all of us. Every time he speaks we listen to him. He brought a lot of things to football in general. Every time we've spoken together he supported me and gave me advice."

Waffiman wrote:Wenger's legacy is being written all over the world since the announcement. His farewell by the Emirates faithful will cement his legacy. Already, their are all sorts of demands for him. Stadium to be renamed after him. A statute etc. At Arsenal, we know how to take care of our own.

Wenger's legacy will be defined by Gooners and nobody else.

Another club will get the benefit of his final years in football. I do not think it will be an EPL club. This is what will hunt us Gooners for the next few seasons should he take another job.
He may go to France NT

Molue Conductor wrote:
Waffiman wrote:Wenger's legacy is being written all over the world since the announcement. His farewell by the Emirates faithful will cement his legacy. Already, their are all sorts of demands for him. Stadium to be renamed after him. A statute etc. At Arsenal, we know how to take care of our own.

Wenger's legacy will be defined by Gooners and nobody else.

Another club will get the benefit of his final years in football. I do not think it will be an EPL club. This is what will hunt us Gooners for the next few seasons should he take another job.
He may go to France NT
I hope he does. France has a great upcoming generation.
tolahs

Post by tolahs »

@henrywinter:
I spoke to a 25-year-old Arsenal supporter whose parents had separated when he was very young. He said he’d never met Wenger but would always be grateful to Wenger because he was the only stable male figure in his life. Wenger was a constant. 9/10
------------------

Reminds me of a story i was told as a kid - The 9ja - Biafra war had a seize fire when Pele visited & people out here saying Football ain't your life - it's & more. Titi's words about legacy vs present day results is spot on. We now gotta do our thing on the pitch - starts 2morrow. Watched Athletico get beat by Sociedad a convincing 3-0 on Thurs - let's get this. COYG!!!!i

Heliopolis wrote:

If you have any sense in that mashed up Ozil, Xhaka brain of yours, you should know how he spent money kept us where and winning till now.

What have Spuds won? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Waffi you be my guy but you remind me of the guys playing their fiddle while the Titanic sunk :lol:

Look at what all your noise and hot air has resulted in? The shambles we now see.

If the current league table or their transfer profits alone don’t show you that Toto is currebtly ahead of Arsenal then it’s clear that the cheap red Wine you drink far too often, has done more damage to you upstairs than first suspected :mrgreen: :I mean I could go on and on but why bother ... Stay simple :taunt:

Lee fiddling on the Titanic and reaching for the arguments of the Simple :mrgreen: