Intimidating African CL: Wydad fans v Zambia's Zanaco

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Intimidating African CL: Wydad fans v Zambia's Zanaco

could ever find this anywhere in Nigeria...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote:could ever find this anywhere in Nigeria...
Nope!! I wish the Nigerian game has choreographed support. It makes a big difference in the atmosphere at games.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Love dis! see atmosphere!

Yes you can. Invite Arsenal or Chelsea to play, WE will show up en masse! :thumbs:

folem

Post by folem »

Yes you can. Invite Arsenal or Chelsea to play, WE will show up en masse! :thumbs:
Nobody will show up unless it's N100. Man Utd played Pompey in a nearly empty stadium in 2008 @ Abuja. :mrgreen:

http://m.goal.com/s/en/news/89/africa/2 ... 1-in-abuja
The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

Different fan culture in different places.

As someone who always supported all Nigerian clubs playing in African or West African competition, even when they were the direct rival of my club, I was surprised to discover there are countries where club rivalries are so bitter (not to mention political/regional/caste/class/identity/etc) that people hope their rival loses and loses badly in continental competition. There are even countries where some people don't like their national team, seeing it as being less representative of themselves than their club.

I don't think Nigeria stadia will ever see the fireworks/smoke/waste-of-confetti you see in some places in Latin America. We are too civilized :) (aside from those weed-using types that like to beat up match officials and television crews). Last season, when the league was more televised, you'd see a husband, wife and their three small children relaxing in the stadium watching the match.

With that said, check out this video on the rise of "ultras" in Moroccan football, Wydad ultras inclusive:

The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.
Chimurenga Rebel

Post by Chimurenga Rebel »

Thread starter more importantly did Zanaco win?
"Just call me the Chimurenga Man. A guerilla. Soldier of peace.Man of the people. I write love poems with the barrel of my gun. For Africa always." - Japheth Ncube

Naija people want to watch good football, but they can't because
the best players keep leaving the country
Tunisian Gooner

Post by Tunisian Gooner »

Be it Nigeria and or other CAF nations if local football admins want local leagues to match popularity of likes of PL they must invest heavily on quality of the product.

PL, La Liga, Bundesliga no less popular in US but MLS is thriving, sames stands for local leagues in likes of DR Congo, Japan, South Korea, all of Latin America, all of North Africa.

Nothing in this world comes easy, if majority of CAf club football powers that be want domestic game to match popularity of UEFA club football simple put in the work. Demanding locals support domestic league out of sheer nationalism is sure fire way to ensure domestic league remains irrelevant in perpetuity.
Detective Bunk Moreland

'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'

The Eagle wrote:Different fan culture in different places.

As someone who always supported all Nigerian clubs playing in African or West African competition, even when they were the direct rival of my club, I was surprised to discover there are countries where club rivalries are so bitter (not to mention political/regional/caste/class/identity/etc) that people hope their rival loses and loses badly in continental competition. There are even countries where some people don't like their national team, seeing it as being less representative of themselves than their club.

I don't think Nigeria stadia will ever see the fireworks/smoke/waste-of-confetti you see in some places in Latin America. We are too civilized :) (aside from those weed-using types that like to beat up match officials and television crews). Last season, when the league was more televised, you'd see a husband, wife and their three small children relaxing in the stadium watching the match.

With that said, check out this video on the rise of "ultras" in Moroccan football, Wydad ultras inclusive:

KPOM. This is about fan culture and not quality of football. Even when Nigeria had its best players at home, the crowd was nothing like the video shows. Nigeria has rarely had choreographed crowd support. That is the point here.
The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

Enugu II wrote:KPOM. This is about fan culture and not quality of football. Even when Nigeria had its best players at home, the crowd was nothing like the video shows. Nigeria has rarely had choreographed crowd support. That is the point here.
Nigerian clubs are active on social media these days, as are those Nigerian fans who follow the league. The closest we could get to this type of coordinated fan action would likely be relatively young folks finding each other on social platforms, agreeing among themselves to attend specific matches en masse, sit together, and sing certain songs or whatever. Whether this is better or worse than the usual bands playing the usual highlife songs .... well, that is up to people and their individual tastes. These days some clubs are using American-style cheerleaders .... while I have nothing against the young ladies having jobs, it seems to me like that is money that could increase player salaries and make salaries more reliable, so we don't lose players to Sudanese clubs. Spending that money on cheerleaders doesn't improve the football on the field, and is perhaps intended to distract people from the quality of the football. :)

To be honest, we need large, active fan/supporters associations/organizations to start pushing Nigerian clubs (and state governments) to abandon the old-school ways of managing clubs. In fact, the old-school type of supporters' clubs were outdated and ineffectual decades ago.

There is just this way of doing things that has been treated as the proper way of doing things (by club chairmen, supporters' clubs, journalists, etc), even though this way of doing things has NEVER been effective or successful. And you can't get them to change, because they don't think they need to change. Tell them things are not working, and they will blame everything in the universe, and everyone else, but not themselves .... nor will they ever acknowledge that the behaviour that makes them think they are "experts" at football management, and that earns them hailing and praise from the existing supporters' clubs, is in fact the very behaviour that needs to change if Nigerian football is to achieve its potential.

Unfortunately, the more "activist" of club fans reserve their "activism" for frightening match officials and journalists, instead of frightening the club chairmen and state governors.
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.