Page 2 of 2

Re: 'STAR SIXES' - JJ Captains Nigeria Squad (July 13-16)

Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 6:57 pm
by maceo4
deanotito wrote:
Spicyee wrote:
deanotito wrote:
Spicyee wrote:Based on team selection, Portugal, Spain and Brazil definitely have an edge...http://starsixes.com/2017-london/teams-players/
I'd take the Nigerian team over Port and Spain....

Brazil is definitely a notch above...on paper at least. Italy might be tricky too
The Nigerian team is pretty light in the goal-scoring department... :idea:

What about Brazil? You picked them but you seemed to have missed that they have no traditional scorer. I think you're just using your Nigerian eye to look down on our team.

6v6 in small enclosures is not designed for traditional CFs in my opinion...I think Amo and Ikpeba can do the biz. And they'd be ably supported by Jay Jay.
What the hell are you guys on about? When last did y'all see any of these old heads play?

Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 7:06 pm
by 1naija
Prince wrote:
EagleGunner wrote:I'll be watching the Brazil vs Nigeria match on Saturday
My ticket arrived yesterday :thumbs: :thumbs:

Junior Ally

Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 8:40 pm
by Damunk
Spicyee wrote:Based on team selection, Portugal, Spain and Brazil definitely have an edge...http://starsixes.com/2017-london/teams-players/
Portugal down 3-4 to Denmark...

Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:17 pm
by metalalloy
deanotito wrote:
Spicyee wrote:
deanotito wrote:

Brazil is definitely a notch above...on paper at least. Italy might be tricky too

What about Brazil? You picked them but you seemed to have missed that they have no traditional scorer. I think you're just using your Nigerian eye to look down on our team.

6v6 in small enclosures is not designed for traditional CFs in my opinion...I think Amo and Ikpeba can do the biz. And they'd be ably supported by Jay Jay.

What the hell are you guys on about? When last did y'all see any of these old heads play?

:lol: :lol: :lol: Since when did that matter on CE?

Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:40 pm
by Skylolo
Nija up next against China.....

Oga Jay Jay and the boys warming up.. :drool: :drool: :drool:

Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:44 pm
by Damunk
Yakubu dey team o!

Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:51 pm
by Skylolo
2-0 Nija

The YAKKKKKKKK 2 goals.

Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:54 pm
by Ugbowo
no livestream link or anything?

Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:55 pm
by Damunk
Rufai looking very trim!

Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 10:08 pm
by Skylolo
3-2 FT

Oga JJ entertained the crowd
YAK finished well
LAwal, Babayaro and JAG/Okechukwu manned the back well

Good effort, come back tomorrow to play Brazil or Italy.

Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 11:07 pm
by highbury

Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 12:33 am
by deanotito
deanotito wrote:
Spicyee wrote:
deanotito wrote:

Class is permanent my broda....Na peepu wey no sabi ball for young age no sabi am for old age....You may be slower, and less mobile, but if you had class when you were active, e go show still.

Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 1:06 pm
by chendosplastic
chuks69 wrote:
Obong wrote:
chuks69 wrote:I would have preferred Alloy Agu in goal or Ike Shorunmu as against Peter Rufai, because the other two are still invovled in GK coaching capacity compared to Rufai who has just gone AWAOL.. As per striking. Lets hope Agahowa would do okay.. Instead of Ikpeba, may be Amuneke, would have been good. I have seen Uche Okechukwu play recently and he is still that gentle rock..
Rufai is certainly not AWOL. I know he presently runs a football academy in Lagos. I was also on the same flight with him and a bunch of ex-Super Eagles stars( Adepoju, Ikpeba, Waidi Akanni, Akpoborire) in December 2015 en route Uyo to play in an annual All-Star match hosted by former Governor Akpabio in his Ikot Ekpene hometown(Kanu and Yobo were to drive in from Owerri and Port-Harcourt respectively). Also, I believe he was listed as the goalkeeper coach for the u20 team that played in the Junior AFCON a couple of years ago.
All the best to our boys.. But i dont see enough goal scorers in the team, or better still, we should have used players who retired not more than 5 years ago..
Why? is there something you are afraid of? :lol:

Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 1:38 pm
by DAgrin
YAK looks fiter and slimmer than in his active years. :o
And Jay Jay looks fit as always - He could still teach the young boys some tricks in a competitive game.

Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 2:26 pm
by metalalloy
Kai see how Babayaro got tired after 3 minutes. Amokachi nah jambodi player, scored a nice chip. Garba lawal, short 1 as usual. Taribo has not forgotten how to be a hooligan. Yak, missing 5 chances to score 1 as usual. Took his goals well. Good stuff to watch sha. See Jay jay! And how could i forget Dodo Mayana himself!De guy no dey old at all!

Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 3:04 pm
by deanotito
DAgrin wrote:YAK looks fiter and slimmer than in his active years. :o
And Jay Jay looks fit as always - He could still teach the young boys some tricks in a competitive game.
For real...I think he can hack 20 minutes in some African qualifier to be honest. And he'll make at least 1 assist

Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 3:12 pm
by Cristao II
Brazil.. Portugal.. France .. Spain. Chei!! Is this shown on Supersports?

Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 3:17 pm
by Robbynice
deanotito wrote:
Spicyee wrote:
deanotito wrote:

Class is permanent my broda....Na peepu wey no sabi ball for young age no sabi am for old age....You may be slower, and less mobile, but if you had class when you were active, e go show still.
Fact not feelings!

Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 9:14 pm
by Damunk
Next up; Italy, about to start

Posted: Sat Jul 15, 2017 12:57 pm
by heavyd
Was at the o2 yesterday with my son. He was very disappointed not to see JJ play. From what i saw we are going to get thrashed by Brazil :atc:

Most o fthe guys there are not fit at all. Uche, Taribo, Emma Okocha are definitely way past it. Amokachi has a bad knee so he can be excused.

Yakubu and Rufai have been the best performers so far. And surprisingly the oldest member of the team Rufai looked the fittest :blink:

Little aside... Nigerian disorganisation was on show again as there was nobody available to take a team photo...