Enyeama: To Recall or Not?

Re: We need him back

Wow so you can be this flexible? wouldn't have held my breath on another Man-crush Mikel thread again...

All we have out there at the moment are dead wood and those that are a couple of seasons away from maturity..

The clock is ticking...

Mr Shows wrote:With Ikeme's current predicament, the fact remains he is the best we have out there at the moment..

Magnet needs to get his career back on track and Nigeria is in desperate need of a safe pair of hands between the sticks..It's a win win for both parties..

Sentiments aside, the NFF need to patch things up and get this deal on.
if the NFF wants to go to Russia, they better get him back ASAP

Re: Enyeama: To Recall or Not?

felarey wrote:
deanotito wrote:
felarey wrote:Why are people rewriting history??? Enyeama walked out on the SE because his coach (Oliseh) told him to sit down and he refused. Instead his hotheadedness got him to go upstairs and pack his bags and he didn't give his actions a thought until he arrived at Lille. He was SE captain at the time, a highly rated keeper in Europe and very senior SE player. He thumbed his nose at the NFF, Siasia and Rohr have begged him and he said maybe if we qualify for the WC. This is the same guy that benefitted from the misfortune of key players in 2002. The SE goalie position was effectively kept open for him for years while he was still at teams like Iwuanyanwu. Vince is no longer the same goalie, he ditched us while in the form of his life, now that he's lost his place, we're currying him again.

Truth is this is for convenience on both sides, we've lost Ikeme and he needs to get on a pitch. I'd like to caution those that are rubbishing Alampasu and Akpeyi, they are not kids, they've showed up and have been with the team. What's the point if they can't step in or be given a chance? If we lose and Enyeama is at fault, we'll be blaming him and raining insults on him. What about the NPL, is there no goalie worthy of a callup? We need to think about team dynamics, cohesion and togetherness. Vince in himself is not a bullet proof solution nor a magic bullet. My opinion is Rohr should stick with his guys, call Alampasu and Akpeyi aside, show them he has full confidence and trust in them and tell them to fight for the shirt. Tell them he believes they can be on this team and achieve things for Nigeria. This was exactly the type of scenario that brought David DeGea to life at Athletico Madrid and who can forget foregoing the shenenigans of Eric Cantona for a young Zinedin Zidan. The rest is history. Vincent himself came out of similar circumstances.
If we were talking about a right back or a left winger or even a striker, I could potentially buy what you're selling. But calling Alampasu/Akpeyi aside and talking to them, as you have advised Rohr to do, will amount to nothing when they're face to face with a weavey cross or 1v1 with a decent striker....If they're not fundamentally sound, they will cost you....no matter how many hotel room conversations you have with them.

Goal Keeping is sensitive, and generally has no cover. A good winger can cover for a weak full back...and vice versa....But if a goal keeper screws up, you're in trouble.

We have a goal keeping crisis....we don't have a crisis in any other position
What guarantees does Enyeama bring you when faced 1v1 with a decent striker? Goalkeeping is sensitive, but LVG was able to place David DeGea on the bench indefinitely for Romero when he suspected his mind wasn't present 100%. What do you think a Mourinho, LVG, Wenger or Ancelotti would do in this case? If the argument is that we blame Rohr for carrying passengers in the team we can have that. So what if Enyeama comes and stinks up the joint? Egg on the face? Funny you mentioned Crosses, Enyeama's weak point and something I'll dare say Alampasu is better at. Time and time again, we've seen what a good backing can do to a footballer or even anybody. Marcus Rashford had only played youth football when Ryan Giggs called him and LVG started him in a UEFA game, he punished the opposition and today, all is history. The same way Zidane was called in after they stopped begging Cantona and Ginola. The Cameroonians that won the ANC were training material if at all they got invited. We ourselves know we won the ANC in 2013 with homebased players we didn't appreciate till later.
Why single out Enyeama? Why not any goalie in the world? Does any of the SE pretenders give you any guarantee? And you need not look farther than Akpeyi in a 1 on 1 situation against the SA guy who scored the 2nd goal to answer the question. Even to earn a red card and keep the scoreline at 1-0, as Mystic observed, Akpeyi fumbled with that.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

Anointed can you not mention that dude and goalkeeping in the same sentence... Always looks like a rabbit caught in headlights.. :curse:

YemiBrazil wrote:
joao wrote:With Ikeme out for now, Onyeama is the best option left.
Half ready Onyeama is much better than the indecisive bunch of options we currently have.
Goalkeeping is all about experience and ability to make quick decisions. Onyeama should be
recalled and placated. Also he would make a much better captain than the blonde.
Who is this Onyeama?
... and who is the "blonde?"

green4life wrote:Given the unfortunate turn of events for Carl, we definitely need Vincent back asap. Do whatever you have to do to get the man back. Beg, apologize, prostrate, etc. He was forced out unfairly. This is an emergency situation.
Enyeama was NOT forced out from the team, he chose to quit the team on his won.
Last edited by Odas on Fri Jul 14, 2017 7:57 pm, edited 2 times in total.

BAP wrote:
pajimoh wrote:"Recall" is for someone you chose to leave out. Enyeama retired.
Oga Pajimoh and Chief Dammy,

Enyeama was pushed out by Oliseh.

He was forced into retirement. And it was not due to performance.

We are not good enough to allow our ego from stopping us from inviting our best players.

It is a position we are grossly deficient in.

Missed 3 ANCs with him missing in action while he was our best goalie. Do you want to make it a fourth?

Maybe some of you are happy watching others at the AFCON or at the next World Cup?
Ahem Chief ,

Enyeama was talking retirement before Oliseh .

Even during the Oliseh Brouhaha a simple apology would have brought him back . He chose to go to Instagram to make up stories about his dead mother being disrespected instead.

After Oliseh he has rejected all overtures and has himself made clear that his retirement was more NFF than Oliseh
Very true! I remember Coach Oliseh saying something of such when he revealed some of his discussions with Enyeama even before the issued between both arose. On the second part of my highlight, I will simply say "KPAM!"

metalalloy wrote:Yes. belief and backing is all that is needed.. :lol:

Only on CE.
... so we shouldn't give Alampasu (spelling) a chance? Who says Enyeama will do better than Alampasu in post and so we will not concede any goal or a defeat?
Last edited by Odas on Fri Jul 14, 2017 7:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Only on CE.
... so we shouldn't give Alampasu (spelling) a chance? Who says Enyeama will do better that Alampasu in post and so we will not concede any goal or a defeat?

It does not seem that Rohr is impressed with Alampasu. How come Alampasu has been there but has not even hit the sub bench behind the underwhelming Akpeyi? It may be best for Rohr to search wider, IMHO.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Only on CE.
... so we shouldn't give Alampasu (spelling) a chance? Who says Enyeama will do better than Alampasu in post and so we will not concede any goal or a defeat?
It does not seem that Rohr is impressed with Alampasu. How come Alampasu has been there but has not even hit the sub bench behind the underwhelming Akpeyi? It may be best for Rohr to search wider, IMHO.
... and like someone already stated, does it mean we (the entire country) don't have - probably - a better keeper in the local league? Hmm, may God help us!

what is wrong with Naija people
why do u want to field a player without a club?
Leave him alone

Rawlings wrote:what is wrong with Naija people
Leave him alone
Chief Rawlings, Vince will NOT be the first we will play or have played who has no club. Our national team has always been such and we only complain or point fingers after it is late
The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

Rawlings wrote:what is wrong with Naija people
Leave him alone
Chief Rawlings, Vince will NOT be the first we will play or have played who has no club. Our national team has always been such and we only complain or point fingers after it is late
And who told you Vince has no club? Why are you treating Rawlings unfunny trolling as factual information? You should ask him to tell you how many times Ghana has fielded truly clubless players.
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.

Clubless or not Magnet, will stroll into camp and pick up a shirt based on the quality we currently have in camp. These are the WC qualifiers, no time to be experimenting with rookies.. The NFF technical committee can do something useful for a change and resolve the impasse and get Magnet back in camp. Mikel remains captain and Magnet his vice.

The olive branch should have been extended immediately Oliseh quit. I don't understand all this pussifooting about.

Mr Shows wrote:Clubless or not Magnet, will stroll into camp and pick up a shirt based on the quality we currently have in camp. These are the WC qualifiers, no time to be experimenting with rookies.. The NFF technical committee can do something useful for a change and resolve the impasse and get Magnet back in camp. Mikel remains captain and Magnet his vice.

The olive branch should have been extended immediately Oliseh quit. I don't understand all this pussifooting about.
Its incredible that this is even a serious consideration by some people.

This just sends a message to the player that he is indispensable (especially when he already thinks of himself as a primadona)!
Let the chap enjoy his retirement, please!
Mr Shows wrote:Clubless or not Magnet, will stroll into camp and pick up a shirt based on the quality we currently have in camp. These are the WC qualifiers, no time to be experimenting with rookies.. The NFF technical committee can do something useful for a change and resolve the impasse and get Magnet back in camp. Mikel remains captain and Magnet his vice.

Otitokoro wrote:This just sends a message to the player that he is indispensable (especially when he already thinks of himself as a primadona)!
Let the chap enjoy his retirement, please!

Right now he damn bloody is... And even the players know that..

Anything else is cutting one's nose to spite one's face.

Frankly Akpeyi is useless... Alampasu not ready and rest don't even have the exposure.... The back to back games against Cameroon are going to be war and a decent goalie will easily be the difference between a draw and no points..