Rangers Unravel: Former Coach Arrested....

Note, LMC announced suspension of Rangers FC GM, Christian Chukwu, about an hour ago pending hearing before the ethics committee on this issue.
Enugu Rangers' ex-coach Imama Amapakabo arrested
http://www.espnfc.com/enugu-rangers/sto ... o-arrested

The Enugu state government have had former Enugu Rangers coach Imama Amapakabo arrested and detained overnight on Wednesday, then taken under guard to the state capital, after allegedly failing to return the club's possessions following his dismissal.

Amapakabo was arrested in Abuja after a tripartite meeting with the club and officials of the LMC's dispute resolution committee where the parties had gone to state their respective cases.

Rangers General Manager Christian Chukwu told KweséESPN that the Enugu State government -- which owns Rangers -- were responsible for the action, and not the club.

"Rangers have nothing to do with this. This is between Imama and the state government," Chukwu said. "He left with the keys to the flat he was given and the official car.

"We wrote to him at least five times to return the property, but he ignored all our letters.

"The government needed their car and apartment back in order to give it to the new coach, and so they took action to recover their property."

Imama admitted that he was holding on to the car but not the keys to the apartment

"I held onto the car because I was waiting for the final settlement and I made that clear to the LMC during our arbitration meeting and they are aware," he told KweséESPN, "but the keys to the apartment are with the estate security."

Amapakabo was fired by the club in April after leading them to their first title in 32 years last season, but is claiming wrongful dismissal and seeking compensation to the tune of N38 million.

That fee includes full payment for the remainder of the contract term, N2 million as two months' salary arrears, N600 000 in outstanding allowances and bonuses, $940 international travelling allowance and N16 million as damages for breach of contract.

In their defence, Rangers claimed that Amapakabo was fired for falling foul of the 'failure to perform' clause of his contract with the club.

However the clause defines 'failure to perform' on the part of the coach as 'inability of the coach to impart football knowledge on the players or several defeats of the team due to his own fault'.

By contrast, the same clause defines 'failure to perform' on the part of the club as 'failure of management to provide adequate motivation including payment of allowances and salaries when due'.

Amapakabo argued that the defeats were not his own fault but that of the club in failing to pay players' wages which led to training boycotts and at least one instance of players refusing to travel for a continental game.

Rangers' lawyers, in their defence, then proceeded to shoot themselves in the foot by admitting that while the club did owe players, 'it is not the only club that owe her players in Nigeria.'

The LMC ruled in favour of Amapakabo, finding that there was insufficient proof that he failed to perform, but more than enough -- and on the evidence of the Rangers lawyers' admission -- that the club failed to perform.

"The Club wrongfully terminated the Contract of Service it entered into with the coach," was the LMC's decision.

Rangers were directed to pay the coach his salary arrears, N600 000 in outstanding bonuses and allowances and $940 in international travelling allowances, but the LMC directed both parties to work out an amicable compensation settlement for the wrongful termination of contract.

Rather than settle, however, Rangers had Amapakabo arrested.

The coach is now considering legal action in addition to the compensation claims he is entitled to.

"I have been humiliated and spent a night in police cell just for asking for what is my right. If the LMC do not do something about this, I will have to go to court."

LMC Chairman Shehu Dikko was outraged by the incident.

"This is unacceptable and capable of bringing the league to disrepute," Dikko, who is in Morocco for the CAF Symposium, told KweseESPN, "but I cannot make any comment as yet until I have been fully briefed by the office."
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Rangers Unravel: Former Coach Arrested....

What a bunch of idiots. They will wait another 50 years for their next title.

The court rulings still stand, they owe him 17 million Naira.

FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

This is a classic case of mal-adminstration of a club...

Utter disgrace.

I hear LMC has banned the Club Secretary from football for 1 year. Good.

To think Rangers pulled all the stops pre-season to convince Imama to stay...

:D Perhaps there should be a football court of law to deal with all the nonsense afflicting the local game from defaulting on contracts to transfer fraud... :curse:
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly

Accidental chumpions.

Rangers dropping the ball massively!

Can we relegate them now and promote Heartland to take their place? :D

..."official car" naija people sef :laugh: :laugh:

What lawyers drafted such vague 'failure to perform' clauses? Why would something as fundamental as termination depend on such a vague clause? Shocking!
The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

mcal wrote:..."official car" naija people sef :laugh: :laugh:
If they called it the "company car" like they do in America, would it be less funny to you? If so ... why?
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.

CCC has been suspended by the LMC on this issue.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

The Eagle wrote:
If they called it the "company car" like they do in America, would it be less funny to you? If so ... why?
...sure, because you don't take company car home and keep it, except in Nigeria.
I understand long time a go a certain sports minister took the "official generator" home for his personal use while the office surfer :lol: :lol:
I bet he got official police escort too, sirens blaring all over his neighborhood as he returns home and leaving :laugh:

Rangers could be relegated this year. Their schedule is difficult.

The Eagle wrote:
...sure, because you don't take company car home and keep it, except in Nigeria.
I understand long time a go a certain sports minister took the "official generator" home for his personal use while the office surfer :lol: :lol:
I bet he got official police escort too, sirens blaring all over his neighborhood as he returns home and leaving :laugh:
I had a company car in Finland and it was for my personal use.

What did I say when Chukwu was appointed GM? Let me try and find that thread.

ohenhen1 wrote:Rangers could be relegated this year. Their schedule is difficult.
Those are my calculations as well.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

aruako1 wrote:
The Eagle wrote:
...sure, like her in America people do have "company car" but make sure you use it for company purpose. Many have spotted using their government issued cars for errand and got cited.
Of course we know in Nigeria dem no get investigative reporters.

Enugu II wrote:Note, LMC announced suspension of Rangers FC GM, Christian Chukwu, about an hour ago pending hearing before the ethics committee on this issue.

The Enugu state government have had former Enugu Rangers coach Imama Amapakabo arrested and detained overnight on Wednesday, then taken under guard to the state capital, after allegedly failing to return the club's possessions following his dismissal.

Amapakabo was arrested in Abuja after a tripartite meeting with the club and officials of the LMC's dispute resolution committee where the parties had gone to state their respective cases.

"This is unacceptable and capable of bringing the league to disrepute," Dikko, who is in Morocco for the CAF Symposium, told KweseESPN, "but I cannot make any comment as yet until I have been fully briefed by the office."
Wait! Wait!! Wait!!! They arrested the coach at the venue both parties went for "dispute resolution?" If so, what is the need to call a dispute resolution meeting?

Enugu II wrote:Note, LMC announced suspension of Rangers FC GM, Christian Chukwu, about an hour ago pending hearing before the ethics committee on this issue.

Wait! Wait!! Wait!!! They arrested the coach at the venue both parties went for "dispute resolution?" If so, what is the need to call a dispute resolution meeting?

Too much noise no substance; Lets begin by deconstructing the headline first. Who arrested him = The Nigerian law enforcers (Nigerian Police). Can Rangers as a team arrest anyone = NO. Does Enugu state operate a state Police in Enugu & how much more in Abuja = NO. Again he was arrested by Nigeria not Rangers or Enugu state. Case closed.

This essentially implies he violated a basic Nigerian Law and was arrested for it. OJ should talk to him.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Too much noise no substance; Lets begin by deconstructing the headline first. Who arrested him = The Nigerian law enforcers (Nigerian Police). Can Rangers as a team arrest anyone = NO. Does Enugu state operate a state Police in Enugu & how much more in Abuja = NO. Again he was arrested by Nigeria not Rangers or Enugu state. Case closed.

This essentially implies he violated a basic Nigerian Law and was arrested for it. OJ should talk to him.
If Rangers FC authorities called-in the Nigerian Police to arrest the coach, then Rangers FC arrested the coach. In another word, there is no way the Nigerian Police could have arrested the coach without being invited to do so by somebody or organization and the organization is Rangers FC. Case closed!

Nigerian Police could be called by anyone to arrest anyone but the only determinant to effect the arrest is the Nigerian Law; there's no such thing as Rangers Law therefore Rangers as a team is a mere victim seeking a remedy to its damages under the Nigerian Law period. The headline should have read - Nigerian Police arrest former coach.
Acceptance of such erroneous use of language suggests a fundamental cultural resignation to defeatists mentality & perpetuated self-victimization embedded in validation of such language & as adopted by the thread opener while simultaneously pointing fingers at the Nigerian Oligarchys - in this case painting Rangers or Enugu state govt as the sole source of societal problems. You will never see such headline detaching the actual law (POLICE) as the ones making the arrest in the US. it is a wrong thing to do in Nigeria. when arrests are made in the US it is generally accepted and understood that the Police are making the arrests and never a company or persons
Last edited by jette1 on Wed Jul 26, 2017 12:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

aruako1 wrote:
The Eagle wrote:
...sure, like her in America people do have "company car" but make sure you use it for company purpose. Many have spotted using their government issued cars for errand and got cited.
Of course we know in Nigeria dem no get investigative reporters.
I sometimes wonder what type of America or which type of America did you come to?

Not every immigrant is a peasant or the ones living the American dream a criminal.

Yes, companies do actually lease vehicles for some of the Employees in America. Some even have in your contract when you get to become Senior Management staff that you and family can't fly commercial airlines. Yes, some Africans in America enjoy such perks.

Bros, commot from whatever hell hole you are living in...

Rangers General Manager Christian Chukwu told KweséESPN that the Enugu State government -- which owns Rangers -- were responsible for the action, and not the club.

"Rangers have nothing to do with this. This is between Imama and the state government," Chukwu said. "He left with the keys to the flat he was given and the official car.

"We wrote to him at least five times to return the property, but he ignored all our letters.

"The government needed their car and apartment back in order to give it to the new coach, and so they took action to recover their property."

Imama admitted that he was holding on to the car but not the keys to the apartment

"I held onto the car because I was waiting for the final settlement and I made that clear to the LMC during our arbitration meeting and they are aware," he told KweséESPN, "but the keys to the apartment are with the estate security."

Amapakabo was fired by the club in April after leading them to their first title in 32 years last season, but is claiming wrongful dismissal and seeking compensation to the tune of N38 million.

That fee includes full payment for the remainder of the contract term, N2 million as two months' salary arrears, N600 000 in outstanding allowances and bonuses, $940 international travelling allowance and N16 million as damages for breach of contract.

In their defence, Rangers claimed that Amapakabo was fired for falling foul of the 'failure to perform' clause of his contract with the club.

However the clause defines 'failure to perform' on the part of the coach as 'inability of the coach to impart football knowledge on the players or several defeats of the team due to his own fault'.

By contrast, the same clause defines 'failure to perform' on the part of the club as 'failure of management to provide adequate motivation including payment of allowances and salaries when due'.

Amapakabo argued that the defeats were not his own fault but that of the club in failing to pay players' wages which led to training boycotts and at least one instance of players refusing to travel for a continental game.

Rangers' lawyers, in their defence, then proceeded to shoot themselves in the foot by admitting that while the club did owe players, 'it is not the only club that owe her players in Nigeria.'

The LMC ruled in favour of Amapakabo, finding that there was insufficient proof that he failed to perform, but more than enough -- and on the evidence of the Rangers lawyers' admission -- that the club failed to perform.

"The Club wrongfully terminated the Contract of Service it entered into with the coach," was the LMC's decision.

Rangers were directed to pay the coach his salary arrears, N600 000 in outstanding bonuses and allowances and $940 in international travelling allowances, but the LMC directed both parties to work out an amicable compensation settlement for the wrongful termination of contract.

Rather than settle, however, Rangers had Amapakabo arrested.

The coach is now considering legal action in addition to the compensation claims he is entitled to.

"I have been humiliated and spent a night in police cell just for asking for what is my right. If the LMC do not do something about this, I will have to go to court."

LMC Chairman Shehu Dikko was outraged by the incident.

This is what happens to teams not used to success.

Pesin dey sick instead of spend small money to cure am, dem go save money to do im burial. :( :?