Page 1 of 3

AKPEYI IS BACK!

Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 4:20 pm
http://aoifootball.com/2017/08/09/eagle ... er-chance/

I think rohr has no choice but to build up Akpeyi's confidence and give him another chance. The game is just too important to start a rookie goalie, it's a low risk and high reward move . We have no idea how any other goalie will react in such a huge game. The goalie trainer seems to be for Akpeyi, I support the move to recall him and start him if he proved to be the better of the goalies in camp.

Re: AKPEYI IS BACK!

Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 4:22 pm
by 1naija
I repeat, Akpeyi was not our problem against South Africa. We need to worry about our strikers.

Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 4:23 pm
by 1naija
And our back 4. They didn't play well at all at all against SA.

Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 4:27 pm
1naija wrote:And our back 4. They didn't play well at all at all against SA.
CAMEROUN is very good with high balls into the box , it's Akpeyi's weakest point.

Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 6:12 pm
by Enugu II
1naija wrote:I repeat, Akpeyi was not our problem against South Africa. We need to worry about our strikers.
Agreed, particularly on the goals. However, his performance was nothing to write home about in that game. Moreover, with both Ikeme and Enyeama unavailable Nigeria must either rely on Ezenwa or go to Akpeyi. I would not go to Alampasu for such a big game. That is my tuppence.

Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 6:37 pm
1naija wrote:I repeat, Akpeyi was not our problem against South Africa. We need to worry about our strikers.
Agreed, particularly on the goals. However, his performance was nothing to write home about in that game. Moreover, with both Ikeme and Enyeama unavailable Nigeria must either rely on Ezenwa or go to Akpeyi. I would not go to Alampasu for such a big game. That is my tuppence.
You don't think he could have organized hid back line better for both goals?

Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 10:08 pm
by Enugu II
You don't think he could have organized hid back line better for both goals?

The big problem with many on CE is to blame a guy that we do not like. Has anyone raised a finger on Ekong for how easily he was rounded up on one of those plays? Do you depend on a goalie to correct elementary defending on the second goal? Fact is Akpeyi was not exactly good in that game but that defense was atrocious to state the least.

Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 10:28 pm
by walesvilla
maybe not really blame for the 2 goals but my issue with Akpeyi is that he does not look assured confident or calm enough- just watch him when camera zeros down on him. that alone can cause fear in defenders trusting him

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 12:57 am
by felarey
Guys, this young man is all we've got, we better encourage him.

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 3:04 am
by Robotnik
Not looking good. Emmanuel Daniel was better than this guy at the olympics it was clear.

Rohr is hoping against hope. Akpeyi may have some sharp reflexes here and there but sound judgement and all round goal keeping needs work..He is a total basket on the world stage.

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 3:19 am
by Enugu II
Robotnik wrote:Not looking good. Emmanuel Daniel was better than this guy at the olympics it was clear.

Rohr is hoping against hope. Akpeyi may have some sharp reflexes here and there but sound judgement and all round goal keeping needs work..He is a total basket on the world stage.
TBH, Akpeyi does not look confident in goal but it is a stretch to claim that he was beaten out at the Olympics. Daniel was Siasia's choice as No.1 from Day 1. The only reason Siasia included Akpeyi in the squad (as an overage player) was to put Daniel on notice after Daniel's abysmal performance in one game that the U-23 gave up six goals during a tour of Asia. Thus, Akpeyi was called up not necessarily with a real chance of being the starter but to create a competitive atmosphere to ensure that Daniel was at his best.

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 6:35 am
by asabatex
Praying

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 9:48 am
by achuzia-the-air-raid
I repeat, Nigeria will not qualify for the WC and ANC. At least I pray they don't qualify!

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 10:08 am
by papilo
1naija wrote:And our back 4. They didn't play well at all at all against SA.
True but make that a back 5 - including Akpeyi. Even though he was not at fault for any of the goals, he was poor. He was literally shaky all game. Your back four should not see that in you as a goalkeeper. It affects their confidence also.

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 10:17 am
by Mr Shows
If Akpeyi looked jittery on home soil against SA, then how will he measure up in the pressure cauldron in Yaounde?

Rohr is forcing the issue here. Akpeyi has no business in the SE full stop. His ability is average and he just projects his jitters to his back 4. If Cameroon score cheap goals against him in the first leg, it will completely destroy his confidence. With the return leg only a few days later, there will be little time to call in a reinforcement. Anyway sha, we go see..

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 10:19 am
by papilo
Mr Shows wrote:If Akpeyi looked jittery on home soil against SA, then how will he measure up in the pressure cauldron in Yaounde?

Rohr is forcing the issue here. Akpeyi has no business in the SE full stop. His ability is average and he just projects his jitters to his back 4. If Cameroon score cheap goals against him in the first leg, it will completely destroy his confidence. With the return leg only a few days later, there will be little time to call in a reinforcement. Anyway sha, we go see..
KPOM

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 1:22 pm
by Cellular
Unku, Akpeyi was a problem and a liability.

He lacks confidence.

He inspires ZERO confidence in his back four or for the matter his team.

He has no command of his area nor his defenders.

He does not read the game.

He has little or no football IQ, evident with his decision not to foul a player outside the area... his lack of understanding of the situation at a critical time is enough to have him banished.

Lastly, he is neither a shot stopper nor a goal keeper. He is just there...

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 1:28 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe

He lacks confidence.

He has little or no football IQ, evident with his decision not to foul a player outside the area... his lack of understanding of the situation at a critical time is enough to have him banished.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Unku Celly don kill persin o!

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 1:49 pm
by Cito

He lacks confidence.

Man the last line of yours is so sad to read. So our goal keeping situation has gone from secure to having a "there" as our keeper. Wow

If Akpeyi reads this he might as well retire... :mrgreen:

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 2:20 pm
by Cellular

He lacks confidence.

Man the last line of yours is so sad to read. So our goal keeping situation has gone from secure to having a "there" as our keeper. Wow

If Akpeyi reads this he might as well retire... :mrgreen:
If we are doing choosing and Akpeyi is an option for goalie, we go do fullfield "German Post" (Monkey Post) instead.

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 2:21 pm
by Cellular

He lacks confidence.

Chief, no laff o.

Even his team mates dey fear gee am back pass...

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 2:31 pm
by txj

He lacks confidence.

Chief, no laff o.

Even his team mates dey fear gee am back pass...

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 2:35 pm
if Rohr plays Akpeyi we are doomed ... let someone else man the post, Akpeyi isn't fit to wear the national colors..he is the worst GK ever to come out of Nigeria..when the South Africans saw him in goal they laughed so hard.. you should have listened to them prior to the kickoff... now ROhr wants to ensure we get knocked out ..With Akpeyi we are doomed