AKPEYI IS BACK!

http://aoifootball.com/2017/08/09/eagle ... er-chance/

I think rohr has no choice but to build up Akpeyi's confidence and give him another chance. The game is just too important to start a rookie goalie, it's a low risk and high reward move . We have no idea how any other goalie will react in such a huge game. The goalie trainer seems to be for Akpeyi, I support the move to recall him and start him if he proved to be the better of the goalies in camp.
Re: AKPEYI IS BACK!

I repeat, Akpeyi was not our problem against South Africa. We need to worry about our strikers.

And our back 4. They didn't play well at all at all against SA.

1naija wrote:And our back 4. They didn't play well at all at all against SA.
CAMEROUN is very good with high balls into the box , it's Akpeyi's weakest point.

1naija wrote:I repeat, Akpeyi was not our problem against South Africa. We need to worry about our strikers.
Agreed, particularly on the goals. However, his performance was nothing to write home about in that game. Moreover, with both Ikeme and Enyeama unavailable Nigeria must either rely on Ezenwa or go to Akpeyi. I would not go to Alampasu for such a big game. That is my tuppence.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

1naija wrote:I repeat, Akpeyi was not our problem against South Africa. We need to worry about our strikers.
Agreed, particularly on the goals. However, his performance was nothing to write home about in that game. Moreover, with both Ikeme and Enyeama unavailable Nigeria must either rely on Ezenwa or go to Akpeyi. I would not go to Alampasu for such a big game. That is my tuppence.
You don't think he could have organized hid back line better for both goals?

The big problem with many on CE is to blame a guy that we do not like. Has anyone raised a finger on Ekong for how easily he was rounded up on one of those plays? Do you depend on a goalie to correct elementary defending on the second goal? Fact is Akpeyi was not exactly good in that game but that defense was atrocious to state the least.
Last edited by Enugu II on Thu Aug 10, 2017 12:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

maybe not really blame for the 2 goals but my issue with Akpeyi is that he does not look assured confident or calm enough- just watch him when camera zeros down on him. that alone can cause fear in defenders trusting him

Guys, this young man is all we've got, we better encourage him.

Not looking good. Emmanuel Daniel was better than this guy at the olympics it was clear.

Rohr is hoping against hope. Akpeyi may have some sharp reflexes here and there but sound judgement and all round goal keeping needs work..He is a total basket on the world stage.

Robotnik wrote:Not looking good. Emmanuel Daniel was better than this guy at the olympics it was clear.

Rohr is hoping against hope. Akpeyi may have some sharp reflexes here and there but sound judgement and all round goal keeping needs work..He is a total basket on the world stage.
TBH, Akpeyi does not look confident in goal but it is a stretch to claim that he was beaten out at the Olympics. Daniel was Siasia's choice as No.1 from Day 1. The only reason Siasia included Akpeyi in the squad (as an overage player) was to put Daniel on notice after Daniel's abysmal performance in one game that the U-23 gave up six goals during a tour of Asia. Thus, Akpeyi was called up not necessarily with a real chance of being the starter but to create a competitive atmosphere to ensure that Daniel was at his best.
asabatex

Post by asabatex »

Praying
achuzia-the-air-raid

Post by achuzia-the-air-raid »

I repeat, Nigeria will not qualify for the WC and ANC. At least I pray they don't qualify!
Then they said to one another, “We are truly guilty concerning our brother, for we saw the anguish of his soul when he pleaded with us, and we would not hear; therefore this distress has come upon us.” Genesis 42:21

“A doubtful friend is worse than a certain enemy. Let a man be one thing or the other, and we then know how to meet him” (Aesop, 620–564 BC).
papilo

Post by papilo »

1naija wrote:And our back 4. They didn't play well at all at all against SA.
True but make that a back 5 - including Akpeyi. Even though he was not at fault for any of the goals, he was poor. He was literally shaky all game. Your back four should not see that in you as a goalkeeper. It affects their confidence also.
yes o

If Akpeyi looked jittery on home soil against SA, then how will he measure up in the pressure cauldron in Yaounde?

Rohr is forcing the issue here. Akpeyi has no business in the SE full stop. His ability is average and he just projects his jitters to his back 4. If Cameroon score cheap goals against him in the first leg, it will completely destroy his confidence. With the return leg only a few days later, there will be little time to call in a reinforcement. Anyway sha, we go see..
papilo

Post by papilo »

Mr Shows wrote:If Akpeyi looked jittery on home soil against SA, then how will he measure up in the pressure cauldron in Yaounde?

Rohr is forcing the issue here. Akpeyi has no business in the SE full stop. His ability is average and he just projects his jitters to his back 4. If Cameroon score cheap goals against him in the first leg, it will completely destroy his confidence. With the return leg only a few days later, there will be little time to call in a reinforcement. Anyway sha, we go see..
KPOM
yes o

Unku, Akpeyi was a problem and a liability.

He lacks confidence.

He inspires ZERO confidence in his back four or for the matter his team.

He has no command of his area nor his defenders.

He does not read the game.

He has little or no football IQ, evident with his decision not to foul a player outside the area... his lack of understanding of the situation at a critical time is enough to have him banished.

Lastly, he is neither a shot stopper nor a goal keeper. He is just there...

He lacks confidence.

He has little or no football IQ, evident with his decision not to foul a player outside the area... his lack of understanding of the situation at a critical time is enough to have him banished.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Unku Celly don kill persin o!

He lacks confidence.

Man the last line of yours is so sad to read. So our goal keeping situation has gone from secure to having a "there" as our keeper. Wow

If Akpeyi reads this he might as well retire... :mrgreen:

He lacks confidence.

Man the last line of yours is so sad to read. So our goal keeping situation has gone from secure to having a "there" as our keeper. Wow

If Akpeyi reads this he might as well retire... :mrgreen:
If we are doing choosing and Akpeyi is an option for goalie, we go do fullfield "German Post" (Monkey Post) instead.

He lacks confidence.

Chief, no laff o.

Even his team mates dey fear gee am back pass...

He lacks confidence.

Chief, no laff o.

Even his team mates dey fear gee am back pass...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

if Rohr plays Akpeyi we are doomed ... let someone else man the post, Akpeyi isn't fit to wear the national colors..he is the worst GK ever to come out of Nigeria..when the South Africans saw him in goal they laughed so hard.. you should have listened to them prior to the kickoff... now ROhr wants to ensure we get knocked out ..With Akpeyi we are doomed
Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Thu Aug 10, 2017 3:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.