Onazi about to sign for Birmingham City in the Championship?

Re: Onazi about to sign for Birmingham City in the Champions

Good move financially.

Bad move for football reasons.

How about wishing the guy well? Onazi has earned the right to go wherever he wants to go, he does have to make career moves based on what we feel is best for SE. He has won Afcon and been to the 2nd rd of the wc where he had to be carried off. Last I checked we've never been further in football.

Good luck Eddy. We believe in u!

It's perfectly possible to wish him well and point out that it's a sub-optimal move football-wise.

The YeyeMan wrote:It's perfectly possible to wish him well and point out that it's a sub-optimal move football-wise.
Preach

chief nfachairman wrote:IMHO, poor move.
...sure, should have gone NPL where money are paid in billions, and away matches can be a nightmare :biggrin:
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Way better than Qatar, Turkey or China.

I ignored this thread up until now.

Whenever I see a player of the calibre of Onazi make such a move, nowadays I just Ignore the situation.

Surely this wasn't his only viable option?

I don taya for Naija footballers. If dem like make dem go East Timor, wetin cosign me.

NPFL sef, if it at least had been decent, it would have been another option. It's just a sad sad situation all around. I should have stayed away from this thread, now I'm in a bad mood.

Anyway at least it is stable income, Kongi you hia? I don wish am well!
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

What happened to the fact that his Turkish club had problems paying him?

he has been denied work permit

http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/40950438
However Nigeria's failure to qualify for the past two editions of the Nations Cup has affected his chances of securing a work permit to play in the English Championship.

Despite appearing in over 80% of the national team games, Onazi failed to earn a permit after the FA considered the West African nation's world ranking in the past two years.

They are ranked 38th in the August 2017 ranking, but Nigeria finished 54th on aggregate over the past two years.

Onazi joined current club Trabzonspor from Lazio last year and scored twice in 27 Turkish Super Lig matches last season.

if we fail to qualify for Russia and AFCON 19, Nigerian players will suffer the most ..hmmmmm

Despite appearing in over 80% of the national team games, Onazi failed to earn a permit after the FA considered the West African nation's world ranking in the past two years.

They are ranked 38th in the August 2017 ranking, but Nigeria finished 54th on aggregate over the past two years.

Onazi joined current club Trabzonspor from Lazio last year and scored twice in 27 Turkish Super Lig matches last season.
apart from above - english will like to do everything possible to limit foreigner into the championship to allow more of their own grow and develop playing first team football.

Our players just have to work extra harder and focus more. shame that one of SE regular cannot even get permit to play in a 2 tier english league- how low can that be for national team-

it absolutely important Nigeria must not only qualify for Russia2018 but must also make a great impact otherwise situation will only get worst

Bigpokey24 wrote:he has been denied work permit

However Nigeria's failure to qualify for the past two editions of the Nations Cup has affected his chances of securing a work permit to play in the English Championship.
I was just about to laugh, but no need to do so. However, I hope this lesson is learned. When they were throwing our hopes out the window, they thought they were showing us pepper abi? Now, it has affected his career. useless imp!

Bigpokey24 wrote:he has been denied work permit

I was just about to laugh, but no need to do so. However, I hope this lesson is learned. When they were throwing our hopes out the window, they thought they were showing us pepper abi? Now, it has affected his career. useless imp!
This is another angle. I guess it's nice for the players to see that the team's success is their own success. Truly pathetic that our average position for the past 2 years falls outside the top 50.
Last edited by niyi on Wed Aug 16, 2017 6:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
eob047

Post by eob047 »

Nigeria's Ogenyi Onazi denied work permit to join Birmingham :o
A fatal aftermath of "Not My Business" syndrome

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/40950438
Nigeria international Ogenyi Onazi has been denied a work permit to play for English Championship side Birmingham City.

Birmingham had agreed terms with the 24-year-old to sign him from Turkish club Trabzonspor.

However the Football Association turned down a first application for a work permit for Onazi last week.

An appeal made by the club was rejected on Wednesday despite Onazi being a regular in the Nigeria national team.

BBC Sport understands that the player and his representatives are bitterly disappointed that the panel rejected an appeal.

Onazi has played 38 times for the Super Eagles and helped them to win the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations and reach the last 16 of the World Cup in Brazil a year later.