AITEO CUP 2017

Re: AITEO CUP 2017

folem wrote:They are not alone. It is common in Naija. Even Ajax II used to play KNVB cup and even reached semis. Sunshine had its feeder team Rising Stars playing alongside it in the premier league at one time in 2012 season.

Other teams with feeders in Aiteo Cup:

Adamawa United
Wikki Tourists
Niger Tornadoes
Exactly! At this point in Nigerian football, there should not be an issue...

The primary reason these feeder teams play (and even thrive) in the Cup is the glaring lack of competitive clubs at the state level in many states. One recalls Read Madrid's B team even going further than the Ajax II that you referenced to reach the Copa Del Rey final in the 1980s (where it lost to the main Real Madrid team), and even going on playing in the European Cup Winners Cup the following season. However, as Spanish football developed even further, reserve teams were eventually excluded from the Copa. Accordingly, as Nigerian football develops, it is likely to get to the point that the feeder teams may have their own competition and become ineligible for the Cup. At the moment, however, Nigeria's BEST teams should be eligible for the Cup.
Gotti,

This does not deny BEST teams but should deny multiple teams under same ownership. The issue is that same ownership creates environment for match fixing. These so-called best teams do not even play in the lower tier (NNL). One of these days we can have this type of fixture in the Fed Cup final and it will suddenly become apparent why COI is a concern.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
folem

Post by folem »

folem wrote:They are not alone. It is common in Naija. Even Ajax II used to play KNVB cup and even reached semis. Sunshine had its feeder team Rising Stars playing alongside it in the premier league at one time in 2012 season.

Adamawa United
Wikki Tourists
Niger Tornadoes

The primary reason these feeder teams play (and even thrive) in the Cup is the glaring lack of competitive clubs at the state level in many states. One recalls Read Madrid's B team even going further than the Ajax II that you referenced to reach the Copa Del Rey final in the 1980s (where it lost to the main Real Madrid team), and even going on playing in the European Cup Winners Cup the following season. However, as Spanish football developed even further, reserve teams were eventually excluded from the Copa. Accordingly, as Nigerian football develops, it is likely to get to the point that the feeder teams may have their own competition and become ineligible for the Cup. At the moment, however, Nigeria's BEST teams should be eligible for the Cup.
Gotti,

This does not deny BEST teams but should deny multiple teams under same ownership. The issue is that same ownership creates environment for match fixing. These so-called best teams do not even play in the lower tier (NNL). One of these days we can have this type of fixture in the Fed Cup final and it will suddenly become apparent why COI is a concern.
They regularly play each other at state Cup finals.

But they beat NNL teams to get to the Cup's national prelims...
And of course they also beat NNL and NPFL clubs at the national prelims.

PS: Akwa Starlets (Akwa Utd's feeder team) and the aforementioned Rising Stars play (or have played) in the NNL.

folem wrote:

Adamawa United
Wikki Tourists
Niger Tornadoes

Gotti,

Yes they do but that is still on the road to the Fed Cup final at the national level. It will happen one day and I can bet that it will cause serious consternation. Make no mistake about it. See the future. Hopefully it will happen soon enough for us to recall this conversation.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
folem

Post by folem »

folem wrote:

Adamawa United
Wikki Tourists
Niger Tornadoes

Gotti,

Yes they do but that is still on the road to the Fed Cup final at the national level. It will happen one day and I can bet that it will cause serious consternation. Make no mistake about it. See the future. Hopefully it will happen soon enough for us to recall this conversation.
It won't cause any unless a manufactured one. If the rules are changed then it's different. If they meet at one final, what stops them meeting again in another final? Any team that gets into a final deserve kudos, nothing else.
The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

folem wrote:
anointed wrote:FCIU and its feeder team shouldn't be playing the same tourney.
Anointed,

Sure there are conflict of interest issues involved. Just does not look good.
They are not alone. It is common in Naija. Even Ajax II used to play KNVB cup and even reached semis. Sunshine had its feeder team Rising Stars playing alongside it in the premier league at one time in 2012 season.

Adamawa United
Wikki Tourists
Niger Tornadoes
I am dubious in general about such things. Not just "feeder teams". I know I cracked a few dry jokes about the Port Harcourt "friendly" (as opposed to "derby") between Rivers-owned Sharks and Dolphins in their pre-merger years in the same league division. Unless I am mistaken, aren't there rules in Spain that prohibit teams with the same owner playing in the same division? So if the "feeder team" earns promotion, they have to give it up and remain in the lower division?

My view is if you have made the decision to allow "feeder teams" and other teams that share owners in the FA/Federation Cup .... then there should be provisions in the State FA Cup draw that mean the two teams can only meet in the final, and then restrict qualification to the national Federation Cup to state cup winners (i.e. no runners up allowed), so those who "agree" to lose the State final are denying themselves a shot at the national title and greater exposure ....

.... and if you are (foolishly) going to allow state runners up to qualify for the national contest, then at the very least apply the same logic of conducting the draw in such a way that teams with the same owner can only meet in the final, so those who "agree" not to win are simply denying themselves a winner's medal on instruction from a club that will probably owe them their salary for years after they've stopped playing for the club.
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.
The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

Adamawa United
Wikki Tourists
Niger Tornadoes

The atomization of the states has watered down the State Cups, and frankly has also watered down the national FA/Federation Cup .... more so when someone made the decision to allow runners up of the "weak" state contests into the national competition. Add the pseudo-professionalism of the supposedly professional clubs, and a weird number of "academies" can advance rather far in the contest.

What you wrote about Madrid and Madrid-B playing in the final, is sort of what I was getting at in my prior post. If you are going to have teams with the same owners in a knockout Cup competition, they need to be drawn so they can only play in the final.

To ukwala .... the situation of Abia Warriors and Enyimba is perhaps different from Sharks and Dolphins, as they represent different cities/"senatorial-zones" whose rivalry can provide a little bit of a check on "arranged" results. A similar fierce rivalry existed between Owerri-based Spartans/Nationale, and Aba-based Falcons/Enyimba, despite having the same owner. They were like Barcelona and Madrid, in that the Aba side arguably felt Imo State was partial to the Owerri team (and if I can stretch the metaphor further, Aba has since "seceded" from Imo State, as some Catalans wish to do :) )
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.

Aiteo Cup Round of 32 Results

Sunshine Stars 4-2 Nasarawa United

Akwa United Vs Yobe Desert Stars (Uyo, 6 September 4pm)

Osun United 0-0 Kwara United (4-3 penalties)

Niger Tornadoes 1-0 FC Atete

Ngwa FC 0-0 Lobi Stars (4-3 penalties)

Unicem Rovers 1-1 Rangers International (6-5 penalties)

Ekiti United 1-1 Abia Warriors (4-2 penalties)

FRSC FC 1-1 Heartland FC (4-5 penalties)

FC IfeanyiUbah Feeders 0-2 FC IfeanyiUbah

El-Kanemi Babes 1-1 Almar FC (4-2 penalties)

FC Abuja Vs Samba Kurna (Area 3, Abuja, 31 August)

Plateau United 1-0 Ede United

ABS FC 6-3 Adamawa United Feeders

Katsina United Feeders 1-1 Bayelsa United (4-3 penalties)

Akwa Starlets Vs Doma United (Uyo, 6 September 2pm)

Delta Warriors 0-2 Shooting Stars
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

AITEO CUP ROUND OF 16 FIXTURES

FC Abuja vs Niger Tornadoes - Abuja
Akwa Starlet/ Doma Utd vs Plateau Utd
Ngwa FC vs Sunshine Stars
Osun Utd vs Elkanemi Babes
UNICEM Rovers vs ABS FC
Akwa Utd/Yobe Desert Stars vs Shooting Stars
Ekiti Utd vs Katsina Utd Feeders
FCIU vs Heartland FC
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
AITEO CUP ROUND OF 16 RESULTS

FC Abuja 0 v 0 Niger Tornadoes
Akwa Starlets 1 v 2 Plateau Utd
Ngwa FC 1 v 3 Sunshine Stars
Osun Utd 2 v 1 El-Kanemi Babes
Unicom Rovers 0 v 1 ABS FC
Akwa Utd 5 v 1 3SC Shooting Stars
Ekiti Utd 1v 1 Katsina Utd Feeders
FC IfeanyiUbah 3 v 1 Heartland

Is someone keeping an eye on Toxicarrow and YemiBee? We fear for their health o.... :lol:

ukwala
Re: AITEO CUP ROUND OF 16 RESULTS

Post by ukwala »

Gotti wrote:FC Abuja 0 v 0 Niger Tornadoes
Akwa Starlets 1 v 2 Plateau Utd
Ngwa FC 1 v 3 Sunshine Stars
Osun Utd 2 v 1 El-Kanemi Babes
Unicom Rovers 0 v 1 ABS FC
Akwa Utd 5 v 1 3SC Shooting Stars
Ekiti Utd 1v 1 Katsina Utd Feeders
FC IfeanyiUbah 3 v 1 Heartland

Is someone keeping an eye on Toxicarrow and YemiBee? We fear for their health o.... :lol:
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: When it rains, it pours!!
folem
Re: AITEO CUP ROUND OF 16 RESULTS

Post by folem »

Quarter Final Draws upcoming on LIVE Channels Sports Tonight

And what does it take to make this thread a sticky?

Who cares about the Women's Draws?

Bayelsa/Sunshine vs Nasarawa

Ibom Angels/Osun Babes vs FC Robo/Pelican

Rivers Angels vs Edo Queens

Abia Angels/Jokodolu Babes vs Confluence Queens

Tornadoes/FC Abuja vs Plateau United
Osun United vs Sunshine Stars
FCIU vs ABS
Akwa United vs Katsina Feeders/Ekiti United

Looks like it's 2-leg encounters from here till semis. 1st legs are on Sept 20 and 2nd leg will be on Sept 23rd

Semis will be Winner Match 1 vs Winner Match 3 and Winner Match 2 vs Match 4
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

1st leg Quarter finals played today

Tornadoes 2 vs 0 Plateau United
Osun United 1 vs 0 Sunshine Stars
FCIU 3 vs 0 ABS
Akwa United vs Katsina Feeders/Ekiti United????

ukwala wrote:1st leg Quarter finals played today

Tornadoes 2 vs 0 Plateau United
Osun United 1 vs 0 Sunshine Stars
FCIU 3 vs 0 ABS
Akwa United vs Katsina Feeders/Ekiti United????
I am hoping Akwa United go all the way to win the Cup.