Akwa wins

Re: AITEO CUP 2017

Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 8:19 pm
by akamoke
Akwa wins

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 3:45 am
by Enugu II
Good result for Akwa United and Coach Makaiba. I am happy for Makaiba who has been one of the best coaches in the last few years and he now has silverware to show for it.

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:38 am
by ukwala
Enugu II wrote:Good result for Akwa United and Coach Makaiba. I am happy for Makaiba who has been one of the best coaches in the last few years and he now has silverware to show for it.
Congrats EII, your wish came to pass. It was however not easy for Akwa and if not for wasteful finishing and extremely poor penalties (nerves I believe), Tornadoes would have carried the day. For me, they had the clearer chances during the game and should have won in normal time. They led during the penalties (their GK caught, not punched, 2 penalties) but the players let him and themselves down. They at least showed why they beat the league champions Plateau United and FCIU enroute the final. I am beginning to have another view of the home win syndrome and closeness of points on the league table. It would appear that most teams in the NPFL are of approximate strength; after all they are mostly government teams with approximate resources and management style available to them. Anyway, this is a discussion for another day.

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 1:39 pm
by Enugu II
ukwala wrote:
Enugu II wrote:Good result for Akwa United and Coach Makaiba. I am happy for Makaiba who has been one of the best coaches in the last few years and he now has silverware to show for it.
Congrats EII, your wish came to pass. It was however not easy for Akwa and if not for wasteful finishing and extremely poor penalties (nerves I believe), Tornadoes would have carried the day. For me, they had the clearer chances during the game and should have won in normal time. They led during the penalties (their GK caught, not punched, 2 penalties) but the players let him and themselves down. They at least showed why they beat the league champions Plateau United and FCIU enroute the final. I am beginning to have another view of the home win syndrome and closeness of points on the league table. It would appear that most teams in the NPFL are of approximate strength; after all they are mostly government teams with approximate resources and management style available to them. Anyway, this is a discussion for another day.
Of course, I did not watch the game as there is no access from here despite claims by some. LOL. I have to rely on your view as you have access and your view tallies with view in the media. I read that Akwa was never allowed to play its possession game. Was it because the field is smaller in size than the Uyo stadium where Akwa plays?

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 4:38 pm
by ukwala
ukwala wrote:
Of course, I did not watch the game as there is no access from here despite claims by some. LOL. I have to rely on your view as you have access and your view tallies with view in the media. I read that Akwa was never allowed to play its possession game. Was it because the field is smaller in size than the Uyo stadium where Akwa plays?
The quality of the game was poor (as was the PK shoot-out) and yes, Akwa did not play to any discernable pattern which could be due to the reason you mentioned but could also be due to the opposition stifling them. All in all, I think it is a sad reflection on Naija footy that our cup final was played in a 5,000 capacity stadium.