EAGLES QUALIFY FOR CHAN!

Re: EAGLES QUALIFY FOR CHAN!

Rawlings wrote:Benin Robbed!!!
Na CLEAR Offside goal Naija use qualify
I hear that non of Burkina Fascos goals against Ghana where off side though!

Beautiful goals. Very good referee decisions. Up Nigeria! Up Burkina Faso! :clap: :clap:

Kabalega wrote:
Both goals were offside!

It tarnished Naija's qualification.
Watch the first goal again. The guy who received the pass was not the guy who scored. Yes, the guy who scored was offside at the time the first pass was delivered but another guy (who was onside) touched the ball first before it got to the scorer at the precise point when he was already being played onside by the Benin defender. If you know your football I'm sure you can see this.

There is no confusion regarding the 2nd goal. It was onside.

Orion wrote:
Kabalega wrote:
Both goals were offside!

Watch the first goal again. The guy who received the pass was not the guy who scored. Yes, the guy who scored was offside at the time the first pass was delivered but another guy (who was onside) touched the ball first before it got to the scorer at the precise point when he was already being played onside by the Benin defender. If you know your football I'm sure you can see this.

There is no confusion regarding the 2nd goal. It was onside.
Thanks for the information, I am reviewing the footage again.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Kabalega wrote:
Both goals were offside!

And Uganda how was their weekend!

Kabalega wrote:
Both goals were offside!

This is a Naija website
we should respect that and stop discussing Ghana & Uganda

Kabalega wrote:
Both goals were offside!

Uganda, Ivory Coast set record for most Chan appearances :thumbs: :thumbs:

Uganda and Ivory Coast over the weekend became the record holders for most Africa Nations Championship (Chan) finals by qualifying for Kenya 2018 edition.

..... Article continues with history....
Source

Damunk wrote:Congrats to the boys.
Where was the game played?
Kano...

Home Eagles Show Enough to give CHAN Hope
19-Aug-2017 Oguntuyi, Akinbode
http://booday10.com/92-home-eagles-show-enough-to-giv

Nigeria coasted to an easy 2-0 victory over Benin Republic in the final qualifying round of the Africa Nations Championship in Kano on Saturday, and will take their place among the qualifiers in Kenya early next year. We looked beyond the game, and picked out reasons the Eagles will be one of the contenders in a tournament Nigeria have never won.

The first factor is the team itself. The players clearly had a chip on their shoulders, following constant reminders from both officials and sections of the media, that they are not good enough. They showed composure that was way better than the reported shambles of the first leg, and played with a swagger usually seen in players with longer international experience.

One of the players that stood out in this tie, is Kingsley Eduwo. The big Lobi Stars striker showed ball skills and deft foot-work that is not usually found in big strikers. He teased and dribbled his way through the Benin defence-line time and again, and then showed his strength the way he took the second goal. Skills, pace and power…he is one to look out for.

Chima Akas' left foot showed us what is possible. Nigeria have not scored directly from a dead ball in a long while. Ugwu Nwadiegwu of Rangers showed it is possible with his goals from dead balls while at Enyimba, Akas gave us a reminder with a left footed strike that came back off the upright in this game. He will still need to improve on it though. If the coaches work with him, and it becomes a weapon, well…

Abdullahi Alhassan 'Muazzam' and Rabiu Ali’s skills, something Africa will find difficult to cope with. And don’t let us forget Ifeanyi Ifeanyi. These guys ran the midfield like a well-oiled machine, and can only grow in confidence the longer they play together. And don’t let us forget; the media was awash with claims that these were not the best players in the league!

There was also Stephen Odey's off the ball runs. The youthful MFM striker rolled a defender, and would have scored the opening goal, had Ali not "stolen" the shot at the last minute. All through the game, he played well off the bigger Eduwo, creating space for the midfielders with his off the ball runs.

Some will argue that the team played against ‘just’ Benin Republic, and we should not get carried away. I agree. But the confidence and team work showed by the lads proved they not only knew they were better, they trusted each other. That can only be good. We will know more when they face West Africa in Ghana next month.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Kabalega wrote:
Both goals were offside!

This is a Naija website
we should respect that and stop discussing Ghana & Uganda
With Ghanaians and Ugandans allowed to comment I have a right to catch up on my African brothers results!

Kabalega wrote:
Both goals were offside!

Uganda, Ivory Coast set record for most Chan appearances :thumbs: :thumbs:

Uganda and Ivory Coast over the weekend became the record holders for most Africa Nations Championship (Chan) finals by qualifying for Kenya 2018 edition.

..... Article continues with history....
Source
Good luck to them!

Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Tbite,

Thanks for posting videos!!!
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics