Our people don cray: Why do Nigerians love the EPL

Apologies if posted. Did not see anywhere.
Crazy stuff. More Chelsea shirts sold in Lagos than any other place except London! Wow.
These shirts cost a pretty penny and I send thousands home a year to people because they all say they a suffering. Then i get home and my cousins don already buy new Arsenal, Man U, Chelsea, Madrid and Barcelona kits. Home and away. If only we had this sort of passion for our local teams!

http://www.cnn.com/2017/08/19/africa/ni ... index.html
Re: Our people don cray: Why do Nigerians love the EPL

It's the only sort of sports entertainment in NIGERIA and it fits our groupie tendancies. Most of the people who bought kits do so because other people have them, not because they actually support the team. There's not enough electricity in NIGERIA to support the epl fan base

...Nigerians love epl because the Nigerian hierarchy directed them to, the hospital visits, the gloated for oyinbo club in london, and the money miss road who wan buy oyinbo club.

you could replace Nigeria in that article with several countries, even outside the continent

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:It's the only sort of sports entertainment in NIGERIA and it fits our groupie tendancies. Most of the people who bought kits do so because other people have them, not because they actually support the team. There's not enough electricity in NIGERIA to support the epl fan base
You hit the nail on the head. :agree: :clap: :agree: :clap: :agree: :clap: :clap: :clap:

tfco wrote:you could replace Nigeria in that article with several countries, even outside the continent
Really 5 local govt area in one State holding a 2 day rally for Arsenal. They don't even do that in North London!

Who no like better thing!! :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

kawawa wrote:
tfco wrote:you could replace Nigeria in that article with several countries, even outside the continent
Really 5 local govt area in one State holding a 2 day rally for Arsenal. They don't even do that in North London!
Post picture to support this..

mcal wrote:...Nigerians love epl because the Nigerian hierarchy directed them to, the hospital visits, the gloated for oyinbo club in london, and the money miss road who wan buy oyinbo club.
You are a big fool..It is all about entertainment. Tell me what is exciting to watch on Nigerian TVs?
Chimurenga Rebel

Post by Chimurenga Rebel »

On a slightly different tangent I landed back in London after a week in Zimbabwe. I saw plenty of Arsenal tops. The only thing is I have never seen any of these tops in the armoury. Silent Stan would surely be outraged on all the revenue he is being cheated out of.
I would imagine the majority of all these Chelsea fans in Nigeria do not have the official Chelsea top
"Just call me the Chimurenga Man. A guerilla. Soldier of peace.Man of the people. I write love poems with the barrel of my gun. For Africa always." - Japheth Ncube

kawawa wrote:
Post picture to support this..
Oga, click on the link provided in the first post. It's all there. Better than a picture. It is a video.

kawawa wrote:

Benedict Iroha wrote:
mcal wrote:...Nigerians love epl because the Nigerian hierarchy directed them to, the hospital visits, the gloated for oyinbo club in london, and the money miss road who wan buy oyinbo club.
You are a big fool..It is all about entertainment. Tell me what is exciting to watch on Nigerian TVs?
...a gaunt leader home coming in a rowdy motorcade :biggrin:

Most of those shirts are not original shirts.

Nobody beats Nigerians when it comes to copying the stupidity of others. We never learn from the English about keeping records, about organisation, about providing free healthcare and education, about constant electricity supply. No, we adopt an English club, copy their brain dead programmes like Big Brother, etc.
folem

Post by folem »

nemi2002 wrote:Most of those shirts are not original shirts.
The price of the originals is beyond the average local Naija footie fan. Even the ticket prices is beyond the capacity of the vast majority, hence if and when the EPL clubs visit, few fans can afford to watch as seen in Abuja. Watching at local bars and viewing centres, buying fakes & knock offs is what is affordable to many.

kawawa wrote:Apologies if posted. Did not see anywhere.
Crazy stuff. More Chelsea shirts sold in Lagos than any other place except London! Wow.
These shirts cost a pretty penny and I send thousands home a year to people because they all say they a suffering. Then i get home and my cousins don already buy new Arsenal, Man U, Chelsea, Madrid and Barcelona kits. Home and away. If only we had this sort of passion for our local teams!

I am making the same mistake(s) and is beginning to learn the hard way by saying "no." Please and to all, STOP sending money home. They are richer than we are.

kawawa wrote:
Wow :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Benedict Iroha wrote:
Absolutely. :thumb:
Escapism.
If na just for 90mins, its still worth getting away from the minute-to-minute stress that is daily Nigerian life. Even out here, I have found myself focussing on an upcoming EPL game (or a Super Eagles game, even sometimes a Golden Eaglets game) to help carry me through a stressful period.
It is no coincidence that the Nigerian entertainment industry is said to be the only sector unaffected by the recession.
papilo

Post by papilo »

Even our FA president is a self professed Arsenal fan who goes to the Emirates regularly to watch games donning the Arsenal Jersey. We have even had people conduct the Nigeria FA cup draws recently donning a Chelsea jersey. Little things like these matter.
yes o
chendosplastic

Post by chendosplastic »

Chimurenga Rebel wrote:On a slightly different tangent I landed back in London after a week in Zimbabwe. I saw plenty of Arsenal tops. The only thing is I have never seen any of these tops in the armoury. Silent Stan would surely be outraged on all the revenue he is being cheated out of.
I would imagine the majority of all these Chelsea fans in Nigeria do not have the official Chelsea top
Put am for shop. Dem go buy.
Meanwhile I know of many who don the real thing, ordered directly from the EPL clubs, many of them personalized wrt names on them.
"The history book on the shelf is always repeating itself" - ABBA.
"Facts, Logic, truth is the way....stop ranting via emotions; seeing things through the prism of ethnicity is comfortable but ultimately a road to perdition." - airwolex.

kawawa wrote:Apologies if posted. Did not see anywhere.

I am making the same mistake(s) and is beginning to learn the hard way by saying "no." Please and to all, STOP sending money home. They are richer than we are.

You know for a fact, you are not going to stop. And you personally look for any excuse to enter WU offiz. :mrgreen:

papilo wrote:Even our FA president is a self professed Arsenal fan who goes to the Emirates regularly to watch games donning the Arsenal Jersey. We have even had people conduct the Nigeria FA cup draws recently donning a Chelsea jersey. Little things like these matter.
...but the know-it-all Nigerians don't care because it is all about entertainment