INTERVIEW for FE: Finidi George's Take.....

Finidi Interviewed For Golden Eaglets Job
1 August 23, 2017 8:26 pm
https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/f ... glets-job/
By Richard Jideaka Abuja

Former Super Eagles winger Finidi George has offered to coach the national Under-17 team Golden Eaglets, Completesportsnigeria.com reports.

The former Ajax star was one of those interviewed for the job.

The 1994 Africa Cup of Nations winner with the Super Eagles in Tunisia, who currently is the Under-16 coach of Real Mallorca of Spain, Complete Sports scooped told the interview panel made up of the Nigeria Football Federation technical committee and department members that his interest was to raise young talents for Nigeria.

“Finidi told us during the interview conducted, via Skype, that he chose to apply to coach the national Under-17 team because that is where he is a specialist and because he wants to give back to his country what he had benefitted from Nigeria,” an NFF source told Completesportsnigeria.com.

“He told us that money is not his priority in wanting the job but the desire to groom young Nigerian players like he is doing in Spain. He also told us that he would bring a partner who would splash money and support to the team.”

Finidi won the UEFA Champions League with Ajax as well as three Dutch league titles. He also scored against Greece during the 1994 World Cup in USA. He is competing for the Golden Eaglets job with the likes of Nduka Ugbade and Abdu Maikaba of Akwa United.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: INTERVIEW for FE: Finidi George's Take.....

Enugu II wrote:“He told us that money is not his priority in wanting the job but the desire to groom young Nigerian players like he is doing in Spain. He also told us that he would bring a partner who would splash money and support to the team
Finidi sounds perfect for the job...
But I do not like that stuff about a moneyed "partner"!
Last edited by Gotti on Wed Aug 23, 2017 11:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Yeah, he probably still has a chunk of the hundreds on millions of Naira the OPM pastor paid for his house in PH. :D

Enugu II wrote:“He told us that money is not his priority in wanting the job but the desire to groom young Nigerian players like he is doing in Spain. He also told us that he would bring a partner who would splash money and support to the team
It is clear to me now that you dont know how to get contract in Nigeria. What did you think the members of the NFF and their technical committee did when they heard "a partner will come that will splash money?"

Finidi just guaranteed himself the job. :clap: :clap: :clap:

U17? Wow....his mates are the likes of simeone,donadoni and co. Kai, Nigeria is a failure.

He told us that money is not his priority in wanting the job but the desire to groom young Nigerian players like he is doing in Spain. He also told us that he would bring a partner who would splash money and support to the team.”
I have real concerns about the underlined bit.

“He told us that money is not his priority .

:lol: He should not come crying if his salary and entitlements are not paid :rotf: :rotf:

1 August 23, 2017 8:26 pm
https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/f ... glets-job/
By Richard Jideaka Abuja

Former Super Eagles winger Finidi George has offered to coach the national Under-17 team Golden Eaglets, Completesportsnigeria.com reports.

The former Ajax star was one of those interviewed for the job.

The 1994 Africa Cup of Nations winner with the Super Eagles in Tunisia, who currently is the Under-16 coach of Real Mallorca of Spain, Complete Sports scooped told the interview panel made up of the Nigeria Football Federation technical committee and department members that his interest was to raise young talents for Nigeria.

“Finidi told us during the interview conducted, via Skype, that he chose to apply to coach the national Under-17 team because that is where he is a specialist and because he wants to give back to his country what he had benefitted from Nigeria,” an NFF source told Completesportsnigeria.com.

“He told us that money is not his priority in wanting the job but the desire to groom young Nigerian players like he is doing in Spain. He also told us that he would bring a partner who would splash money and support to the team.”

Finidi won the UEFA Champions League with Ajax as well as three Dutch league titles. He also scored against Greece during the 1994 World Cup in USA. He is competing for the Golden Eaglets job with the likes of Nduka Ugbade and Abdu Maikaba of Akwa United.
Finidi should be patient. Better dey come. Ugbade should be given the job.
papilo

Post by papilo »

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:U17? Wow....his mates are the likes of simeone,donadoni and co. Kai, Nigeria is a failure.
That is what happens when the system is corrupt and the league is useless. It is not Finidi's fault. All these names you have mentioned started with clubs in their home countries before going abroad. I don't think you want to spend thousands of euros getting your UEFA badges and use it to coach a Nigerian club in a useless league filled with corrupt officials and irresponsible referees and a lack of proper organisation. I don't know for sure but I can bet that none of the coaches in the Nigeria professional league has his UEFA pro license. So you are correct, Nigeria has failed us all.
yes o

papilo wrote:
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:U17? Wow....his mates are the likes of simeone,donadoni and co. Kai, Nigeria is a failure.
That is what happens when the system is corrupt and the league is useless. It is not Finidi's fault. All these names you have mentioned started with clubs in their home countries before going abroad. I don't think you want to spend thousands of euros getting your UEFA badges and use it to coach a Nigerian club in a useless league filled with corrupt officials and irresponsible referees and a lack of proper organisation. I don't know for sure but I can bet that none of the coaches in the Nigeria professional league has his UEFA pro license. So you are correct, Nigeria has failed us all.
Actually Finidi is right. He is probably prefers coaching children. It easier to coach and teach younger people new skills and techiques, because they have not formed bad habits and I too know attitude... Others are inclined to coach adults!!!

That doesn't mean one can't learn managing or coaching children or adult!!

Case in Point: All of Ferguson assistance... How many have been successful as a Manager or coach?
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

I hope Finidi has done his due dilligence on the cess-pool that is the NFF...

Or else, he may discover that the noblest intentions aren't even enough as regards our football...
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly

papilo wrote:
He said he prefers to coach the youth, and to be honest we need someone like him to give our youth solid foundation so that they can become some of the greatest footballers of there generation.
To be honest I will just throw all our youth football policy to the guy.

Something similar to the below
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clairefontaine_(football)
Check what Taiwo Awoniyis coach said about his technique, They need proper football education and no one better to lead i
papilo

Post by papilo »

Prince wrote:
papilo wrote:
He said he prefers to coach the youth, and to be honest we need someone like him to give our youth solid foundation so that they can become some of the greatest footballers of there generation.

Check what Taiwo Awoniyis coach said about his technique, They need proper football education and no one better to lead i
I agree with you 100% and spot on on Taiwo Awoniyi. Kelechi Iheanacho, Isaac Success and Moses Simon are having the same issues. All very talented but they lack basic football education and it shows when they play. I am doing my coaching badges now and it has opened my eyes to a lot. Coaching is one of the major problems we have in Nigerian football. The sad thing is that some of these things kids learn in Europe are not complicated and are basic but we just choose to ignore them in Nigeria and focus on things that are not important.
yes o

I hope he understands what he is trying to get into and will not run when faced with the first signs of trouble with the NFF, and their ways of doing things. Nigeria (we) are not Spain!

papilo wrote:
I was agreeing with you until I got to the highlighted. What is it with we and Oyibo Certifications and Licences? When are we going to develop our own system? Does it mean only individuals with UEFA or Oyibo Licences can coach a football team? Well, perhaps I am missing something.

papilo wrote:
I was agreeing with you until I got to the highlighted. What is it with we and Oyibo Certifications and Licences? When are we going to develop our own system? Does it mean only individuals with UEFA or Oyibo Licences can coach a football team? Well, perhaps I am missing something.
Certification is important, it is tried and trusted and they have managed to get knowledge from everybody and infused it into their certification, UK had a similar attitude but there are more people with Coaching license in Iceland and guess who won the last encounter!!

papilo wrote:
Prince wrote:
papilo wrote:

I agree with you 100% and spot on on Taiwo Awoniyi. Kelechi Iheanacho, Isaac Success and Moses Simon are having the same issues. All very talented but they lack basic football education and it shows when they play. I am doing my coaching badges now and it has opened my eyes to a lot. Coaching is one of the major problems we have in Nigerian football. The sad thing is that some of these things kids learn in Europe are not complicated and are basic but we just choose to ignore them in Nigeria and focus on things that are not important.
My guy very well done with the Coaching badges please encourage more people to do it, More Asians are now taking football coaching certification in UK than Blacks
Last edited by Prince on Thu Aug 24, 2017 4:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

papilo wrote:
For once you're making sense.

Not that there's anything wrong with having a European football license. Is there an equivalent coaching license in South America from where some of the best coaches are produced? CAF should develop its own coaching standards and research what methods have been successful elsewhere and build upon that.

papilo wrote:
For once you're making sense.
Are you saying Odas usually doesn't make sense. That's a big insult o

papilo wrote:
Papilo

You do not need a UEFA pro license to coach in Nigeria. That license as you mentioned is UEFA appropriate. CAF has its own licenses which are A, B, and C licenses that are used widely in Africa and several Nigerian coaches have those.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

papilo wrote:
Papilo

You do not need a UEFA pro license to coach in Nigeria. That license as you mentioned is UEFA appropriate. CAF has its own licenses which are A, B, and C licenses that are used widely in Africa and several Nigerian coaches have those.

...that there is what tempt many Nigerians wanting to be like their "mates" and do nefarious things.
Not everybody is destined to be king. If all of us become billionaires today who go be the cook and driver and gate man, and boy boy, etc.

Prince wrote:
papilo wrote:

Funny how Taiwo was banging in goals for fun with his "poor" Nigerian technique and football education...
But is now a pale shadow of an British lower division rugby-cum-football player with "superior" Oyinbo version. SMDH