Page 1 of 2

OLA AINA has been cleared by FIFA

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 12:37 am
by naijaguy
Good news falling on Naija left and right.

Re: OLA AINA has been cleared by FIFA

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 1:58 am
Welcome to SE ola Aina! :thumbs:

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 2:22 am
by Odas
Good news indeed! Now we have more depth

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 3:30 am
by asabatex
Beaurriful.... :D

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 4:06 am
by soma
Thought I saw him on tv earlier sitting behind the dugout.

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 4:14 am
by green4life
naijaguy wrote:Good news falling on Naija left and right.
Welcome Ola! Everything na double double!! :thumbs:

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 4:42 am
by Damunk
soma wrote:Thought I saw him on tv earlier sitting behind the dugout.
You did.
Looked like he was having fun.

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 5:33 am
by Robbynice
God is good...Great news for Nigeria

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 5:44 am
by Tobi17
Welcome to the SE family Aina!

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 6:14 am
Our team just dey stack up kai

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 6:55 am
by theYemster
Shehu the right back played well. Maybe we might consider having he or Aina try out the left back position in place of Uwa who's kinda too shaky for me.

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 6:59 am
by Cmoke
We better cap him on Monday!

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 7:00 am
Next is left back- - jordan torunarigha (hertha Berlin)

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 8:22 am
by Shownoja
This is good. Competition will be intensified. Shehu on the performances i've seen, will not give up the place easily. The boy is gifted and has lungs. Hope Aina will have the right attitude and fight for the place. It will not be gifted.

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 8:47 am
So we have Shehu, Ola, and Ebuehi. . Now we need cover and competition for Uwa.....we just dey stack up

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 9:24 am
by Damunk
Bigpokey24 wrote:So we have Shehu, Ola, and Ebuehi. Now we need cover and competition for Uwa.....we just dey stack up
Nura Abdullahi of Roma is coming on the road back to fitness.
He is already on Rohr's radar.

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 9:44 am
by Dammy
Stanley Amuzie is on loan at Lugano from Sampdoria, who are playing in the Europa Cup. Jf he can revive his career, then he would give us options at LB.

BREAKING! FIFA clear OLA AINA for Nigeria-Cameroon

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 12:59 pm
by EagleEye
Source: SuperSports

Nigeria have received clearance from Fifa for Chelsea defender Ola Aina to make his international debut in the World Cup qualifier against Cameroon on Monday.
Coach Gernot Rohr said Aina, who can play at right-back or left-back, could now line up in Yaounde as the Super Eagles look for a second victory in four days over Cameroon.

"Fifa have approved Ola Aina who can now play for Nigeria," Rohr said in Uyo where Nigeria thrashed Cameroon 4-0 on Friday to take a giant stride towards qualification for the finals in Russia.

Aina, who is on a season-long loan at English Championship side Hull City, was scouted by the Super Eagles to fill a gap in the full-back positions.

The player was born in London to Nigerian parents. Although he has a Nigerian passport, he has represented England at various junior levels and so needed to apply to change his international allegiance.

Rohr had hoped to use Aina in the first clash against Cameroon but the Fifa clearance did not arrive in time.

Nigeria have nine points from three matches in Group B in Africa zone qualifying, while Cameroon remain on two points.

Zambia and Algeria have a point each and meet on Saturday in Lusaka.

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 2:15 pm
by Cellular
Thank God!

He should play LB for us.

Echiejile's time is up. Was the weakest link on the backline. Thankfully, VicMo kept the Cameroonians busy and they didn't test him often but each time they did na so-so panic dey set in.

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 2:23 pm
by Enugu II
Cmoke wrote:We better cap him on Monday!

I do not believe that he would start Monday but may be used as a sub.

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 2:25 pm
by Cellular

Shehu has been doing a very good job.

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 2:27 pm
by Enugu II

Shehu has been doing a very good job.
I agree. I think Aina will eventually start but too dicey to start a rookie in the next game with us seeking atlas a point in an away ground.

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 3:00 pm
by vancity eagle
He should start at LB. Echijele has been very uninspiring.

Shehu has been very decent at RB.