Sign in if you're going to Russia in 2018

Re: Sign in if you're going to Russia in 2018

Benedict Iroha wrote:
ohenhen1 wrote:The irony is that there are a lot of racist Americans.
Exactly...I use to hang out with this Ukrainian girl....she was more tolerant than a lot of American whites ..

Ukrainians are not Russians :sneaky: :sneaky: :sneaky: but you said 'girl'. Yup, their girls were very tolerant. Most of the Ukrainians/Russians I have met in the have been very friendly and tolerant. Some of them say "abeg no mind those fools wey bin dey harass you guys for dia o" meaning they are mostly aware of the harassment many of us faced.

Re: Who is going to Russia 2018?

oloye wrote:You can be sure of one thing Putin will round up all the thugs and deport them to Siberia..but i have one plea...he should leave some behind to deal with the english fans.

Putin will not even round them up...all he needs to do is for someone to visit their Ogas and say, we no wan his from you...unless England are playing. That is Russian/Putin style. If dem born any of dem well, make dem disobey am.

I am not going to Russia, but I encourage anyone that wants to go to do so, and have a good time. Stay safe, use common sense at all times. Chances are, security will be tight, Russians will probably be on their best behaviors. Would not expect any incidences to mar the tournament. Don't go drinking with Russians in remote places.... if you see Russian fanatics/hooligans in a group, avoid them. It only takes one drunk guy to throw a punch for all hell to break lose. Those guys go around seeking fights...

zoldsasok

Post by zoldsasok »

My people please don't let us fall for the media hype, they said worse about South Africa and Brazil and we all saw what happened or didn't happen
There's potential danger anywhere and in every country, we just have to use common sense
Russia hosted Winter Olympics 2014 and confederation cup this year with minimal wahala
Whenever any major tournament is held outside USA , Canada Australia and Western Europe na so so doom and gloom
And yes I do know of the potential danger there, lived in east Europe for 7 years

Robbynice wrote:God willing I will be in Russia for the WC
better not 'forget' to pay debts over there, those Russian goons don't play as we saw in Training Day :)

It would be nice to organize group tickets..not sure I fancy travelling all the way to Russia to go sit by myself during SE games

Yea let us gather so we go in a group

Guys let us come together and do a group thing...me i am already learning Russian...Dobro world cup..nyet Ghana!

I need to clear up my schedule. I will try my best at least to catch two games live. :D

oloye wrote:Guys let us come together and do a group thing...me i am already learning Russian...Dobro world cup..nyet Ghana!
Udachnovo Kubka Mira! Ghani Nyet :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Wishing (good luck at the WC. No Ghana).

Chief Oloye..make you organize for us now. I think it would be a lot more fun if we have like 10-20 CEs all attending the games together
oloye wrote:Guys let us come together and do a group thing...me i am already learning Russian...Dobro world cup..nyet Ghana!

My guy, why you dey run from ya home town? Abeg come do this translation for Moscow..we no need am here
Udachnovo Kubka Mira! Ghani Nyet :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Wishing (good luck at the WC. No Ghana).
Lager-back

Post by Lager-back »

All jokes aside with our bredas not making it, has anyone applied for tickets on Fifa?

Lager-back wrote:All jokes aside with our bredas not making it, has anyone applied for tickets on Fifa?
I did. I already have tickets to the quarter finals if we get there.

nanijoe wrote:Chief Oloye..make you organize for us now. I think it would be a lot more fun if we have like 10-20 CEs all attending the games together
I think we should organize ourselves after the draw once venues are known.

I am going, will be supporting Germany and Senegal since...
chuks69

Post by chuks69 »

I am going.. Would be there only for Nigeria group games..
afc##
Vincent.

Post by Vincent. »

Happy those of you who went to Russia and had a great time.

As I keep saying, don't believe everything you read about Russia/Putin. It is mostly geo-political propaganda.
Peter Odemwingie (who was born in the USSR) was on Radio 5 Live the other day (after Nigeria vs Argentina), explaining how the place has changed. According to him, they even have a Nigerian restaurant in Moscow now.

Qatar will also be great, regardless of the warmongering that is bound to be unleashed. Suddenly, every propagandist will pretend to care about gay people.
Eto’o, Ronaldinho, Deco, and Messi are like good caviar, tender pine-nuts, chemical-free sea salt, and the purest of virgin olive oils, said one of the world's greatest chefs, Ferran Adria of El Bulli restaurant, Before Barca went on to wallop Madrid 3-0 at the Bernabeu.

“I believe the target of anything in life should be to do it so well that it becomes an art. Football is like that. When I watch Barcelona, it is art” — Arsène Wenger, August 2009

Vincent. wrote:Happy those of you who went to Russia and had a great time.

As I keep saying, don't believe everything you read about Russia/Putin. It is mostly geo-political propaganda.
Peter Odemwingie (who was born in the USSR) was on Radio 5 Live the other day (after Nigeria vs Argentina), explaining how the place has changed. According to him, they even have a Nigerian restaurant in Moscow now.

Qatar will also be great, regardless of the warmongering that is bound to be unleashed. Suddenly, every propagandist will pretend to care about gay people.
I had a great time, but let's not kid ourselves that there's been a bit of a clear up job. I met a Nigerian in St Petersburg who said the country is still beset with entrenched racism throughout society.

I had an amazing time.
Vincent.

Post by Vincent. »

I had a great time, but let's not kid ourselves that there's been a bit of a clear up job. I met a Nigerian in St Petersburg who said the country is still beset with entrenched racism throughout society.
There is no clean-up job. How do you suppose the clean-up job went? You think Putin sent e-maill to all racists and told them to take things easy for one month? :D

Your St. Petersburg friend is right, but he can say the same for every country in Eastern Europe, including those that are now EU members, and many Western European countries with no African minorities. The difference is the degree to which it is manifested in society. The Russians have learned to hide their racism like their Western cousins, but racism is still entrenched because blacks are not even part of Russian society in any significant number. They are mostly foreign students or inter-racial kids like Odemwingie.

The impression we were given by the propagandists was that it was dangerous for black people to even travel to Russia because racists would be chasing them through the streets and attacking them. That was never going to happen.
Eto’o, Ronaldinho, Deco, and Messi are like good caviar, tender pine-nuts, chemical-free sea salt, and the purest of virgin olive oils, said one of the world's greatest chefs, Ferran Adria of El Bulli restaurant, Before Barca went on to wallop Madrid 3-0 at the Bernabeu.

“I believe the target of anything in life should be to do it so well that it becomes an art. Football is like that. When I watch Barcelona, it is art” — Arsène Wenger, August 2009

Vince, both you and Osaze are late to the party.

The first Nigerian restaurant in Moscow opened circa 1994....it was called Mama Africa.
A very successful nightclub was opened in St Petersburg by a Nigerian by the name Lucky. met him once...very nice dude. Was gunned down, allegedly by the mob that wanted his business.
In the 90's, there were 4 Nigerian-owned clubs....two catered to the young student body, mainly hip hop and r'n'b music. Two others were mainstream, and were located at prime real estate sites.

Vincent. wrote:

There is no clean-up job. How do you suppose the clean-up job went? You think Putin sent e-maill to all racists and told them to take things easy for one month? :D

Your St. Petersburg friend is right, but he can say the same for every country in Eastern Europe, including those that are now EU members, and many Western European countries with no African minorities. The difference is the degree to which it is manifested in society. The Russians have learned to hide their racism like their Western cousins, but racism is still entrenched because blacks are not even part of Russian society in any significant number. They are mostly foreign students or inter-racial kids like Odemwingie.

The impression we were given by the propagandists was that it was dangerous for black people to even travel to Russia because racists would be chasing them through the streets and attacking them. That was never going to happen.
The clean up was of the hooligans and thugs who were held on a tight leash. Are you denying this? :D