Would Zambia consider taking a loss against Algeria?

They will have think this through and think of it as a form of chess game: Long strategic planning.

A win for Algeria means they will still be in the hunt for the ticket come last game if they manage to go to Yaounde and beat Cameroun. This will be good for Zambia because if they can get 3 points in Uyo too then that means Algeria will battle Nigeria to death for 3 points in the final group match while they can try and beat a demoralized Cameroun for all 3 points plus extra goals to overtake Nigeria.

If on the other hand they deny Algeria any of the 3 points then Algeria will be effectively out together with Cameroun. Since Algeria will have nothing to play for aside pride they may end up just giving Nigeria a point on the last day of qualification which would have undone all their efforts at picking 3 points in Uyo and another 3 against the toothless lions of Cameroun.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

Re: Would Zambia consider taking a loss against Algeria?

Its a Goal wrote:They will have think this through and think of it as a form of chess game: Long strategic planning.

A win for Algeria means they will still be in the hunt for the ticket come last game if they manage to go to Yaounde and beat Cameroun. This will be good for Zambia because if they can get 3 points in Uyo too then that means Algeria will battle Nigeria to death for 3 points in the final group match while they can try and beat a demoralized Cameroun for all 3 points plus extra goals to overtake Nigeria.

If on the other hand they deny Algeria any of the 3 points then Algeria will be effectively out together with Cameroun. Since Algeria will have nothing to play for aside pride they may end up just giving Nigeria a point on the last day of qualification which would have undone all their efforts at picking 3 points in Uyo and another 3 against the toothless lions of Cameroun.

OMG! U too? :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :???: :???: :???: :???: :???: :???: :???: :???:

Oh Lord not again...

Stop replying to these fools

I'm surprised you guys are coming up with these scenarios. In a group with so few games, just one slip up and you're in trouble. Look at Cameroon. After 3 games they were pretty much toast and they had only lost 1 of those games. In a group like this, you want to get the maximum points you can get in every game because if you drop points the chances you get to make it up are limited.

If we beat Zambia in Uyo we are through. If Zambia wins their match tomorrow we are in deep trouble.
Lager-back

Post by Lager-back »

usual spudite defeatist mentality. olodo
:laugh:
asabatex

Post by asabatex »

Sir V wrote:If we beat Zambia in Uyo we are through. If Zambia wins their match tomorrow we are in deep trouble.
No we are not, even if Zambia wins tomorrow they will close in on points difference , our goal difference will be the deal breaker and we just have to avoid a loss in Uyo!

Sir V wrote:If we beat Zambia in Uyo we are through. If Zambia wins their match tomorrow we are in deep trouble.
Can you elaborate?

If Zambia wins tomorrow it would have made no difference if we had won today. They would have still have kept themselves in the running.

Really? How are we in trouble? So just because they beat a very bad Algerian team at home means they came to Uyo and beat us too?

Undertaker wrote:

Really? How are we in trouble? So just because they beat a very bad Algerian team at home means they came to Uyo and beat us too?
it is possible my bro. The pressure will be on us.

Sir V wrote:
Undertaker wrote:

it is possible my bro. The pressure will be on us.
No, the pressure will be on them as they have to win while a draw will be OK for us! They'll be forced to come out and attack us just as Cameroon did. This is just paranoia gone wild :rotf: :rotf:

Algeria will beat Zambia tomorrow. Nigeria just need 1 more point to confirm qualification.

ohenhen1 wrote:Algeria will beat Zambia tomorrow. Nigeria just need 1 more point to confirm qualification.
If Algeria beat Zambia tomorrow, then every team chasing Nigeria will need a huge win and Nigeria an ugly losses for them to close the goal difference. So a point maynot be necessary to ensure qualification.

ohenhen1 wrote:Algeria will beat Zambia tomorrow. Nigeria just need 1 more point to confirm qualification.
If Algeria beat Zambia tomorrow, then every team chasing Nigeria will need a huge win and Nigeria an ugly losses for them to close the goal difference. So a point maynot be necessary to ensure qualification.
Dude, if Algeria beat Zambia tomorrow, a point in our next game will qualify us for the WC...fact not feelings. Una really need to calm down. I thought today is a bank holiday. Maybe una comot small...haba

Coward talk.

What?

asabatex

Post by asabatex »

Uncle wetin happen... :rotf: are you having doubts?

Its a Goal wrote:They will have think this through and think of it as a form of chess game: Long strategic planning.

[color=brown]1naija[/color] wrote:

Thank God I only drink cup of coffee :D.

Seriously, Zambia has to consider this scenario if they want to qualify. We all know how the North Africans don't care about being spoilers when they have nothing to lose. Getting eliminated tomorrow means Nigeria is good as having 3 points in the bag.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

Undertaker wrote:

OMG! U too? :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :???: :???: :???: :???: :???: :???: :???: :???:
I know! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: All kinds of scenarios are popping now. We are surprisingly more sacred now in our position than before the qualifiers started

[color=brown]Odas[/color] wrote:
[color=brown]Undertaker[/color] wrote:

I know! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: All kinds of scenarios are popping now. We are surprisingly more sacred now in our position than before the qualifiers started
It is not a case of being nervous but being prudent and staying alert. The worst thing that can happen is an Algerian victory and best is an Algeria elimination. Let's hope for a draw.