When the draw came out and we were in the Group of Death...

Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 9:34 pm
by Ayo Akinfe

[1] I bet everyone here would have settled for four points against Cameroon
[2] Everyone here would have accepted 10 points after four games
[3] Everyone here would have accepted a win in Lusaka and a draw in Yaounde
[4] Everyone here would have accepted that the home game against Zambia was the easiest on paper
[5] Everyone would have screamed yes if they were told our hopes of qualifying rested on us beating Zambia in Uyo
[6] Everyone would have been delighted with a 4-0 victory over Cameroon in Uyo
[7] Everyone would have been delighted with a 100% home record
[8] Everyone would have settled for four points out of six on the road
[9] Everyone would have settled for us being six points clear with two games to go
[10] Everyone here would have been delighted to know that a win in our penultimate game would allow us the opportunity to use the last match as a training session

So far, so good. Nothing to complain about!

Re: When the draw came out and we were in the Group of Death

Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 9:40 pm
by muzines
:roll:

Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 10:02 pm
by theYemster
You used ten points to say the same thing ten different ways.

Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 10:09 pm
by kajifu
theYemster wrote:You used ten points to say the same thing ten different ways.
:rotf: Cheif why did you ignore beloved season thread when the are enough reason for you to come slap that yash licker liars and his screw...

Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 11:12 pm
by 1naija
This is precisely why i was shaking my head at those getting bent oout of shape over this fantastic result today.

Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 11:32 pm
by Odas
I noticed and I wonder why "Chief Ayo" did such a thing. Chief, must you use a "10 pointer" to say these things?

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 12:04 am
by joao
1naija wrote:This is precisely why i was shaking my head at those getting bent out of shape over this fantastic result today.
You know these ITK fans see themselves as mini 'gods'.
They always demand from others the perfection they themselves can never achieve.

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 12:24 am
by EagleGunner
1naija wrote:This is precisely why i was shaking my head at those getting bent oout of shape over this fantastic result today.
For me it was even better than that... to defeat the reigning African champions, thrash them 4-0 at home and then draw 1-1 away in a space of 3 days...AND. knocking them spark out of the WCQs... pure ecstasy!!!

Other countries will be a bit wary now... see how the plantanians were trying to uproot and replant VicMo because of the threat they knew he posed

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 12:24 am
by green4life
Classic Ayo. Never disappoints. We love the bobo notwithstanding.

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 12:26 am
by Senator WIRES
Ayo Akinfe wrote:....

[4] Everyone here would have accepted that the home game against Zambia was the easiest on paper
[5] Everyone would have screamed yes if they were told our hopes of qualifying rested on us beating Zambia in Uyo
[9] Everyone would have settled for us being six points clear with two games to go
[10] Everyone here would have been delighted to know that a win in our penultimate game would allow us the opportunity to use the last match as a training session

Ayo, kini gbogbo nonsense yi? :lol:Image

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 2:24 am
by Enugu II
joao wrote:
1naija wrote:This is precisely why i was shaking my head at those getting bent out of shape over this fantastic result today.
You know these ITK fans see themselves as mini 'gods'.
They always demand from others the perfection they themselves can never achieve.
I KPOM this statement.

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 2:28 am
by Waffiman
1naija wrote:This is precisely why i was shaking my head at those getting bent oout of shape over this fantastic result today.
Abeg nor mind them. Ogogoro don enta their brain. The draw was a fantastic result.

The problem is people get carried away too quickly. The team has spoilt them, so they are now entitled. They are now entitled to victory in Cameroon. No ogogoro dey talk, not common sense.

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 2:37 am
by Waffiman

Hmmmm..... Ayo makes ten points and I cannot disagree with one.

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 2:48 am
by Gotti
If we had first played in Yaounde and gotten the same result, about everyone would hail as "fantastic"...
Nonetheless, you cannot really blame folks for higher expectations after you have raised the bar of performance! :D

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 4:14 am
by Enugu II

KPOM. Ayo is correct on all of the above.

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 6:52 am
by Obong
Ayo, I salute... in ten different ways! :thumbs:

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 7:12 am
by pajimoh

KPOM. Ayo is correct on all of the above.
How can one disagree with 10 "Everyone"?

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 9:54 am
by Ayo Akinfe
I agree that expectations were raised as a result of the Uyo victory. We could have won this game in Yaounde to be honest but I think the players kind of felt jaded.

We simply were not able to keep the ball in the second half. We kept losing possession at a time when we needed to keep the ball.

Cameroon too played a more disciplined game. They did not bomb forward recklessly as they did in Uyo.

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 10:09 am
by Kabalega
The group of death is Group E. :shock: :curse: :shock: :scared:

Today's game in Alexandria, is like a cup final!
A wounded Egypt at home against the meanest defense in all of the 2018 World Cup qualifiers, so far....

I pray and hope that at the end of the day Uganda's Moses Basena leads his men to the promised land, of a World Cup trophy! :biggrin:

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 11:17 am
by Ayo Akinfe
Kabalega wrote:The group of death is Group E. :shock: :curse: :shock: :scared:

Today's game in Alexandria, is like a cup final!
A wounded Egypt at home against the meanest defense in all of the 2018 World Cup qualifiers, so far....

I pray and hope that at the end of the day Uganda's Moses Basena leads his men to the promised land, of a World Cup trophy! :biggrin:

I can see Uganda getting a draw there.

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 11:47 am
by Mr Shows
Our biggest threat in this group was always Cameroon and we have dumped them out of the qualifiers in their own backyard.. :thumb:

Algeria haven't been at the party since week 1

Zambia are currently in transition and are still trying to blend the old with the new and will likely be a force by the time the next ANC comes round but they are not quite ready for Russia.

Rohr and the boys deserves a lot of credit. This is the kind of situation where we have often times snatched defeat from the jaws of success.. The real beauty of things is that Rohr is still building this team, we have more depth and look more organised.. :thumb: :thumb:

Posted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:32 am
by Ayo Akinfe
With qualification the bar has now been raised higher. Rohr needs about five new players in my opinion to match those expectations.